We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Satisfying” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

As another writer said, the rooms are dated. They do have flat screens in at least one room that has Satellite tv. I wish that they had more to offer in terms of amenities-they provided a fruit basket and a gas station pastry per day. Rooms also had a dated coffee maker plus grinder for their provided coffee beans. I am happy that I brought my own food and coffee! The wifi is verrry spotty-if you stay in a room close to the office or Gateway restaurant, you have a better chance of getting service! Oh the Gateway restaurant next door (within walking distance) has an outstanding Alaskan salmon burger with great vegetables or soup and salad!!! What an amazing view the Buckeye Tree lodge has to offer; very beautiful, natural, peaceful-the gigantic boulders and rocks that filter the river provide a harmonious sound amongst the tree and animal sounds. A great place to balance your mind! The river is nice and cool so be prepared to "get used to" the temperature after a bit! I fully enjoyed waking up and having coffee out back while it's still chilly outside. Saw a couple of big black bears in the river (far enough away) at night while eating at Gateway-soo cool! So much to see in terms of wildlife (deer, bears, tarantulas, chipmunks...). The service at the lodge was good-didn't have to ask for anything except some decaf coffee and creamer-all of the staff is kind. I wish the bathroom shower was cleaner...but maybe I'm just a germophobe when it comes to hygiene. The beds are actually not too uncomfortable for being a lodge! Each room I stayed in had a wall a/c unit with a remote to control the temp. It worked very well, being that it was 90+ degrees outside during the daytime! The pool was dirtier than it should have been, but swam in it once anyways. I enjoyed the location most of all. That is what it's all about anyways right?!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilyyb1rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    151
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
106
173
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after doing a whizz through the sequoia national park. Rooms are (as noted elsewhere) a bit dated but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The back lawn runs down to the river and the terrace is well cared for. Reception rent DVDs at a very reasonable $3 a night - but don't expect the latest releases. We got a fantastic supper from Sierra subs and salads in town ( locals recommendation - fab) then went to the bar next door for a couple of cold ones whilst the kids watched a film. Perfect unwind!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottrop, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Right off the entrance gate to Sequoia, an hour drive to the main sights. Nicely overlooking the river with some pretty mountains around. Nice pool which the kids enjoyed. We had a mother bear with two cubs in the parking lot which was amazing. Rooms however were quite dated - 70ies style - but clean. No real breakfast just some prepacked muffins which we did not touch. You can grind your own coffee which we enjoyed, a fridge is also available. We did not mind the dated room too much but felt it was somewhat overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattfromStJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 5 just returning from our trip to se sequoia national park and we stayed one night at buckeye. We loved it! Our room was more spacious than any best western or related motel. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was as well. They provided fresh coffee beans and grinder to make yourself a fresh pot of coffee along with a welcoming basket with pasteries, fresh local fruit(the peach was the best I've had this season). Exiting from the back door if the room we where pleasantly surprised at the picnic area with bbq and tree swing that my daughter loved....rite by that is a running river that was so peaceful and lovely. It was hot so it was nice to come into an air conditioned room and have the peaceful stream and refreshing pool right next to our room! The staff was also very helpful and nice. This hotel is about 1 min away from the park entrance(just another added perk). So we could go and explore at anytime if the day or night! :-) I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be staying again.....one night just was not long enough....thank you for adding to or experience :-)!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsher9877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Buckeye Lodge was recommended in Fodors and well rated on Trip Advisor and other sites. I was a bit surprised when we checked in and both the exterior and interior were cement block. (I don't think I have stayed in a cement block room since college!) The pool looked very nice, although we arrived too late to use it, staff were helpful, and the setting was lovely. Grounds were nicely landscaped and overlooked a small river, rocks, cow fields and mountains.

If you plan to cook the only grocery store within miles has a good meat section but overall is very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, away from the main parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just outside the entrance to Sequoia National Park. A nice room with pine paneling and pine furniture, and a balcony that overlooks the rushing Kaweah river. At check in I got a basket with fruit and muffins for the following day's breakfast. It had all the amenities -- microwave, refrigerator, coffee machine, free wifi, -- and yet still managed to give an atmosphere of a rustic mountain lodge. Very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Macossay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring md
Level Contributor
202 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The rooms here are small, but have all the usual amenities--mini frige, microwave, coffee maker and grinder(coffee beans are provided and you grind your own), TV, and free WiFi. What sets this place apart is the location( right outside of Sequoia NP) and the beautiful grounds. A patio is a step outside the door and it overlooks the river. Native plants abound. Birds and waterfowl are everywhere. It was pure joy to sit on the patio listening to water rush over rocks, smelling the scent of flowers in bloom, and watching hummingbirds, ducks, and even a blue heron. There are grills and a large swimming pool for guests use. A breakfast basket was provided at check in which contained fruit and pastries. I would return to Buckeye Tree over and over again.

Room Tip: I like the patio rooms on the first floor rather than the second floor rooms (no elevator) with balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing