We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for visiting Sequoia National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for visiting Sequoia National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just outside the entrance to Sequoia National Park. A nice room with pine paneling and pine furniture, and a balcony that overlooks the rushing Kaweah river. At check in I got a basket with fruit and muffins for the following day's breakfast. It had all the amenities -- microwave, refrigerator, coffee machine, free wifi, -- and yet still managed to give an atmosphere of a rustic mountain lodge. Very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Macossay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    133
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
100
151
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
silver spring md
Level Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The rooms here are small, but have all the usual amenities--mini frige, microwave, coffee maker and grinder(coffee beans are provided and you grind your own), TV, and free WiFi. What sets this place apart is the location( right outside of Sequoia NP) and the beautiful grounds. A patio is a step outside the door and it overlooks the river. Native plants abound. Birds and waterfowl are everywhere. It was pure joy to sit on the patio listening to water rush over rocks, smelling the scent of flowers in bloom, and watching hummingbirds, ducks, and even a blue heron. There are grills and a large swimming pool for guests use. A breakfast basket was provided at check in which contained fruit and pastries. I would return to Buckeye Tree over and over again.

Room Tip: I like the patio rooms on the first floor rather than the second floor rooms (no elevator) with balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This turned out to be a pefect choice for the end of our trip. The location is excellent and its situation with views of the river is particularly pleasant. The staff were extremely helpful with recommendations and advice. There is a restaurant next to the lodge which offers a varied menu of good quality and is reasonably priced. The only disappointment with Buckeye lodge is the provision of breakfast that is left in the room. It could benefit by leaving out the bun and muffin and providing a healthier package. However, we would be more than happy to return on a future occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rupert96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for only one night, in the Blossom cabin, on the way to Sequoia National Park. It was a great location, great atmosphere. Quiet, relaxing, and a little garden next to river with a tree swing was icing on the cake. It's on my list of places to return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChewyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Not a better location exists in Three Rivers. The location is perfect especially if planning on going to the park. The view and walk out to the river is the best there is. We wished we could of stayed longer so we could spend more time at the Lodge. We would go to the park during the day and return late in the day. There is much to do and see at the park. The restaurant next door to the Lodge is not cheap but it is convenient. Be sure to get the discount coupon in the office for the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I just spent a week in Las Vegas (I had a 3 day convention to attend) and we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at one of our Hilton Grand Vacation Club timeshares (Elara) which was very nice and weren't expecting anything quite as nice but we were pleasantly surprised! We booked 2 nights in room #1 and while the property shows some wear and tear it was clean, the young lady at the front desk was most accommodating and I actually could walk the 1/4 mile to the entrance of Sequoia National Park! The little fridge and microwave were added bonuses and we were able to cook our meals right there. The river view was spectacular and my wife enjoyed the 2 days there more than the week in Las Vegas! Having Dish TV was super! The only negative thing I can thing of was the bathroom fan was noisy and came on whenever you turned on the light but there was a night light so it really wasn't that big a deal. Would I stay there again? You betcha but for a week instead of a couple days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwbw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

As mentioned before, Buckeye is not the most up to date place in terms of decor but it is situated right next to the Sequioa national park and has a river running right past your room at the back. I was so pleased we booked a night here. There is one restaurant right next to the lodge and quiet a few on the drive down the road. I would not recommend staying here without the use of a car though!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirtravellotLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,973 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9626
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing