We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

As mentioned before, Buckeye is not the most up to date place in terms of decor but it is situated right next to the Sequioa national park and has a river running right past your room at the back. I was so pleased we booked a night here. There is one restaurant right next to the lodge and quiet a few on the drive down the road. I would not recommend staying here without the use of a car though!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirtravellotLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    133
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
100
151
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have stayed at the Buckeye Tree Lodge twice. Even though the rooms are dated, they are clean enough. The supreme attraction is the hotel is right on the river. There is a charcoal grill available (restaurants in town are mediocre) and several sycamore trees shade the yard. Each morning I woke up, ground my own in room coffee (grinder and coffee supplied) and sat under the tree listening to the birds wake up as the sun rose. If you are a bird watcher this is a wonderful place! Orioles, finches, flycatchers, hawks... amazing.
We stayed 4 nights. Beds were always made, but the room was not vacuumed or coffee beans resupplied unless I left a little note. Once I figured that out, I had no problem getting the room cleaned.

Room Tip: There are kitchenettes available across the road; however, I love being next to the river and just b...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins are available in every room. Environmentally friendly tips are posted.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birdlover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The room had fresh coffee beans that we ground ourselves. It opened onto a back lawn that overlooked the river, which was accessible via a short path. We sipped our coffee and bird-watched every morning. Between the sound of the river and the songs of the birds, it was idyllic. Orioles, finches, hummingbirds, hawks, and herons, there was always lots of bird activity. There was also a community grill on the lawn, so we barbequed several times, as the local restaurant fare does not always justify the price.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes and some overlook the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle and suggest energy saving practices. We came early in the season, so the sliding doors were always open.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here, despite the rainy / snowy weather in the national park.

We had a standard queen room, which to my surprise had a small kitchenette, table and chairs. The room was clean and came with adequate utensils and crockery. There is also a couple or chairs outside, so you can enjoy the river and mountain view.

The motel is right on the river, and overlooks vacant land and mountains. It is also a 5 minute drive to the national park. You can also take a 10 minute drive into Three Rivers for groceries and restaurants.

The owners were onsite and were very helpful in giving us tips on the local area. I think they may live on the property.

One night we did have some tenants above us, and could hear them walking around in the early morning, which woke us up. So I would request a room upstairs if you can.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieBatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I just came back from 6 months in NY and were looking for some downtime near Sequoia. We searched for cabins and Buckeye came up. The lady who helped us was very thorough and helpful in finding a cabin to fit our needs. We stayed in a small cabin named Hummingbird, perfect for 2 (and a small dog). Fresh towels upon request. No cell phone service and the wi-fi is not great, but it was nice to unplug a bit. Gas heater fireplace kept our place toasty. There is a phone on grounds for use. I'm sure had we stayed closer to the main office the wi-fi would have been much better. I had to go outside to get steady wi-fi. Our room was located right next to the pool, and had a patio, lounge chair and BBQ. Fresh coffee and a grinder made for great starts to our days and one day turned into two that turned into three! The room was small, but we didnt stay inside much. Bed was cozy. The river was across the street which was the only bummer, but just a quick walk to see it. A $20 Sequoia pass is good for 7 days! To get to a spectacular sunset view you can drive 15 up the mountain or 20 minutes for an epic view (big turnaround). Perfect for photos, time lapse, video, etc. (Remember when shooting into the sun, use your flash! :) The giant Sequoias...Must. Go. See!
Overall, great little place, price and service!

Room Tip: If you want great wi-fi, be sure to let them know at the front desk...they can steer you to the best...
See more room tips
Green Features: Local plants in garden ENERGY STAR windows Energy-efficient lightbulbs Window films help keep building cool Staff training on green practices ENERGY STAR laundry machines
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corbatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were planning to camp but it was so cold we decided to stay here instead. Nice room with a balcony that looks out on the river. This is a great location to access Sequoia NP - the closest you can get to the park. Unfortunately the main part of the park is a 45 min drive from this entrance, but if you don't plan to stay inside the park, this is a nice option. Cute breakfast basket and mini-fridge, coffee, etc was provided by the hotel. Management was helpful and available to help when we had questions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbush, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very helpful staff, free long distance phone calls, and fresh coffee beans with the grinder! Rooms are a little bit small but this place is located right on the river within 1 mile at Sequoia national Park. Not many people sit in their rooms with Sequoia so close. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,973 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9626
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing