We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were planning to camp but it was so cold we decided to stay here instead. Nice room with a balcony that looks out on the river. This is a great location to access Sequoia NP - the closest you can get to the park. Unfortunately the main part of the park is a 45 min drive from this entrance, but if you don't plan to stay inside the park, this is a nice option. Cute breakfast basket and mini-fridge, coffee, etc was provided by the hotel. Management was helpful and available to help when we had questions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    139
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
102
160
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbush, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very helpful staff, free long distance phone calls, and fresh coffee beans with the grinder! Rooms are a little bit small but this place is located right on the river within 1 mile at Sequoia national Park. Not many people sit in their rooms with Sequoia so close. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a beautiful setting with the river close by. I enjoyed my stay. The only negatives, I believe customer service needs some friendly improvements and the beds need comfort improvements. A little improvements and I would rate it excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were going to stop in the sequoia national park but luckily it was booked out. Found this little motel just outside the park at more than half the price. The room we had was a double queen with heaps of room, it has a separate little alcove for eating, with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee grinder and beans, and percolator. We were lucky to get a room that overlooked the river and the morning vista from the breakfast table was great.

Although we had a second floor unit, it was easily accessed by a small ramp..no stairs.

We were given a breakfast hamper when we checked in, with fruit, juice muffins and pastry. Better than having to go to a breakfast room. It was more leisurely

We only have one complaint and that was the housekeeping knocking on the door at 8.15 even though the do not disturb sign was on the door and our car was parked outside the room.

Room Tip: We had room 8 overlooking the river, although on the main road noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
Green Features: It's the first motel in 5 weeks that has a recycle bin in the room.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed its excellent access to the National Park - the entrance of which is only 5 minutes drive away. The property has a pleasant location on a riverand some rooms actually overlook it. Our cottage was on the other side of the road. It was very clean and well appointed andhad a pleasant outdoor seating area. Staff were very helpful with things like decaffinated coffee and extra wine glasses. There is a very nice outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Being close to the river would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Price wasn't too expensive, it made sense to stop outside of the park and start early the next day rather than pay the inflated prices for accommodation in the park. Room was a bit dated but Ok for the price.

Note there's not a great deal of choice for dinner locally, either it's expensive or not very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank millhouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is ideally located for the national parks - only about 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia. This makes it perfect for early starts, beating the crowds in the parks. It does mean that Three Rivers (which is very spread out anyway) is quite a way away, but there are good restaurants nearby.

The accommodation is slightly old but not shabby, and the rooms are very spacious, offering all you need for a comfortable sleep (big bed, air con & fan, coffee-making facilities, good TV). Additionally, there is a very nice little swimming pool with loungers out front.

The best thing though is the views of the valley and hills, and the river out back, which offers great wading, dipping, and sunbathing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmaffchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9626
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing