We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Prime convenience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Prime convenience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is ideally located for the national parks - only about 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia. This makes it perfect for early starts, beating the crowds in the parks. It does mean that Three Rivers (which is very spread out anyway) is quite a way away, but there are good restaurants nearby.

The accommodation is slightly old but not shabby, and the rooms are very spacious, offering all you need for a comfortable sleep (big bed, air con & fan, coffee-making facilities, good TV). Additionally, there is a very nice little swimming pool with loungers out front.

The best thing though is the views of the valley and hills, and the river out back, which offers great wading, dipping, and sunbathing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmaffchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    151
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
106
173
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at the Buckeye Tree Lodge over the Labour day weekend for 4 nights. I could not recommend this place highly enough. I stayed as part of a road trip and this was by far one of the best rooms I stayed in and I was paying on average $150-250 per night everywhere I stayed. The room was large with flat screen TV, microwave, coffee grinder and fresh coffee beans, fridge, table and chairs, settee.Not to mention 0.5 miles from park entrance and fab view of the river. We had a bit of a nightmare when we stayed due to the yosemite rim fire and had to change some plans, the owners could not have been friendlier lending us maps, national park books and hiking books they even called me in the room to give me ideas of where to go hiking in sequoia! Overall a fantastic experience with fantastic owners. I would also highly recommend the Gateway restaurant next door. Excellent food, view of the river and staff not to mention the great wine list, had the best wine there during my whole 3 week stay in California.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanisherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of our road trip. We chose to stay here based on its location near to Sequoia. It is in the middle of nowhere and not much around in terms of eating out. The hotel itself is nice, the pool looked great and refreshing in the heat however we didn't have time to use it. The room itself is dated but clean. The breakfast is not much, the Danish looked sweaty and artificial and the fruit included one lemon. The drinks were a nice touch but would have been better left in the fridge. The only thing we appreciated was the one muffin which was delicious. I agree that outside was disrupted due to smokers below. The grounds are nice and it was great access to Sequoia. Service was fine.

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper floor, seemed better since cars parked in front of the lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Georges07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Buckeye Tree Lodge, which is situated just before the Sequoia National Park entrance.

Having on the one hand the ambiance of a cabin, while at the same time enjoying the luxuries of A/C , a nice TV and a bathroom was a very agreeable combination for us. The bed was comfortable as well.

The river behind the lodge was great to cool off, especially during the hot and humid weather we had at the time.

The breakfast, here criticized by many people, we thought was just right to get you started in a day of Park exploration. To grind your own coffee was actually pretty neat and you were assured that it tasted fresh.
It was also very nice to eat your breakfast outside at the garden table, while enjoying the view on the river and the landscape.

As mentioned above, the proximity to the park’s entrance is also a major plus point.

All in all, we can definitely recommend this place if you’re visiting Sequoia National Park!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janos1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great place to stay, located just outside the Sequoia national park, the rooms are a little dated in decor and breakfast wasn't the best, but the views were fab outside. You look right out onto a river and wild American landscape. Very relaxing, the pool was great, and look out for bears as they do wander through the grounds at night! The best bit, is having freshly brewed coffee outside your room first thing in the morning, with views of the river and wilderness, lovely! For that reason, it gets my vote!

Room Tip: The Air conditioning can be a little noisy, but I'd recommend staying on the ground floor lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

In he middle of nowhere, there is suddenly the little town Three Rivers. Along the highway you find this hotel. From the front is doesn't look like much, but the back is great. A nice garden along a little river. Nice rooms, no breakfast. A good place to use as base for a trip towards the sequoia park

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is in a beautiful location with the river running directly behind it. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable but a little dated. I haven't seen a shower this old for years however it worked very well, although I have had better quality towels at cheaper motels. There were some very thoughtful touches such as a night light in the bathroom and fresh coffee beans and grinder. However there was only powdered milk to accompany it which was strange seeing as they gone to the trouble of providing fresh coffee, fresh milk would of course have worked much better and there was a fridge for it too. There was also a microwave in the room. The downstairs rooms have a large patio window opening out onto a shared patio. It is an idylic setting overlooking the river and the mountains. There is free wifi but it logs out quickly. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. I would have given this 5 if it had been a no smoking establishment. Unfortunately it isn't and it really isn't pleasant to sit outside with your very close neighbour polluting the clean fresh air. If this doesn't bother you though, I would recommend staying in this most lovely of locations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing