We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well, at least it's really close to the park” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well, at least it's really close to the park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The best thing about his lodge is that it is extremely close to Sequoia National Park. It does have lovely landscaping and is next to a river. Their website says, "With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are simply spectacular." Well, we couldn't see it from our room. When we went outside, however, and walked toward some rocks near the river, we could see it. The river is very pretty, and there were numerous flowering plants near our room. We also saw a couple lizards, which was exciting for us!

The room itself, however, was very squashed and outdated. Ours had 2 beds and a kitchenette ("2 Queen Kitchenette" room on website). There wasn't enough room to put our suitcases (there were 5 of us), which was pretty inconvenient. The bathroom left a lot to be desired, and the kitchen part was very old and outdated. The window screens were bent and in bad shape, and some of the walls and doors were scrungy looking.

They do leave you a small breakfast - 1 muffin/sweet roll per person and fruit. The second night they only left enough for 4 people, but we managed to survive.

Sequoia National Park itself is GREAT!

You could probably stay a little farther out and get nicer accommodations. But if your sole purpose is to stay close to the park, this might work for you. In other locations, it surely would not be worth the price they charge because of the poor condition of the rooms. I would rate it as a 1-1/2 star motel. If they remodeled, I'm sure it would be much nicer. I really recommend to them that they remodel!

Room Tip: There were steps even to get to the lower level, so if you have accessibility needs, check with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetheUSA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    151
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
106
173
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed one night in the eagle cabin and it was $160 +tax. Thankfully they were booked the previous night so we didn't locked in to more money at this place. Maybe Eagle is in worse shape than the others, but the price didn't indicate that. It was very old and shabby, with dirty cushions, very old and worn furniture, aluminum foil on the burners of the tiny stove. The whole thing looked like the inside of a camper from the early 1980's. "Patio" was a small cement slab facing water tanks with plastic chairs. Not too scenic. It also reeked of pinesol or some other cleaner, which got everyone's nose itchy and runny, including my 8-month old baby. Not a restful night. For the price, I'd think they could afford to update a little, or at least replace broken chairs, fix lamps, etc.

We were very disappointed with our experience. Staff and attitude of the place was not too friendly. Not planning to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sactotravelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Thanks to reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to stay at this hotel. Am I glad I did! To say it is charming is an understatement! Our room was on 2nd floor overlooking the running river. Such a delight to sit on balcony and listen to it with a hot cup of coffee (fresh beans provided) or a glass of wine. We had the added treat of a wren's nest above the light fixture and got to watch mama bringing in bugs to the baby. Then later, sleeping to mountain air and the sound of the river. Very relaxing! Staff friendly and helpful. There's a nice restaurant next door with good food, but a bit pricey...paying for that river view. It's not open for breakfast. For breakfast, go to Three Rivers...about 5 miles back...which is where the gas is too. The hotel is almost at Sequoia's south entrance. The only thing I'd have liked is better lighting...rooms are a little dark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bydamanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting sequoia national park. The lodge is located near the entrance of the park.
We had a king bed in our room. Yes the place looks old but we had a relaxing time here. Sitting in the garden by the river was cool.
They bake fresh muffins for your breakfast basket with include fruits and juice as well. There is also a microwave and fridge in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place was built lone ago, but it is well maintained. Room was cleaned well and the linens were fresh. Internet was usless as was phone reception, so it made for a great time where folks had no idea where we were.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitewing94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Though a little on the older side, was in good condition and we had a great view of the river area right from our window. Perfect to sleep to the sound of the river! One downside was the internet. They gave us the code to their wifi but we couldn't connect I'm assuming since we were the furthest room from the main lobby. But we were after all on an outdoor trip so not being connected wasn't the worst thing. The lobby computer was always available for use if needed and all calls from our room to anywhere in the US were free. They also had coffee with a grinder, microwave, and stocked our room everyday with fresh fruits, juice, and homemade MUFFINS. so cute! The lobby staff was also very friendly and it's stocked with movies, games and guide books.
The location as I said was awesome with the nearby river for some fun climbing rocks. When you're ready to head into Sequoia, the park entrance is literally a 2 minute drive up, so you can save up all your driving energy for inside the park! Family owned place with great service!

Room Tip: Possibly closer to the lobby as possible if you're eager to have Wifi in your room. But the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pri91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Found this little gem upon deciding we'd rather stay up away from the San Juaquin valley on our trip to Sequoia National Park. They were accommodating with our late check-in and check-out, and friendly. Price was reasonable; room was a bit dated but overall comfy and with a great proximity to and windows for the river! Was quiet and without major issue. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9626
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing