We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a great time at the Buckeye Tree Lodge.

Three River's is a lovely town on the border of the Sequoia National Park and a perfect base for exploring. The Buckeye is situated right on the boundary, and was surrounded by beautiful grounds, the river is merely a few feet away from the back of the rooms.
The rooms themselves are a good size, well equipped (fresh coffee beans to grind!), although the bathroom was a little small (but very clean). We had a king size room which had a table and chairs and a lovely outside area to sit with your breakfast in the morning. The breakfast basket was a god save (we arrived late in the evening and had nothing!) and I would guess the muffins are homemade.
The staff were very helpful when we needed to arrange an extension of our stay in Three Rivers and made us feel very welcome.

Thank you Buckeye!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmso2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    170
    41
    15
    6
See reviews for
133
201
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Buckeye Lodge in Three River, CA is all about getting away from Suburbia. It is located mere yards from the Kawaeh River which breathtaking in its beauty. The Lodge itself is a cozy, older facility with the comfortable personal touches of a caring staff, including homemade muffins in the breakfast basket and real coffee beans for fresh coffee included in the room. If you're looking for "home away from home," this is not the place. But...if you're looking to escape from it all and relax and just drink in the beauty around you...this is the place. The sounds of the river sang us to sleep and the beauty of the morning practically called us from sleep to climb around the rocks and just bask in the beauty around us. We will totally be going back. Totally!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JACKLYN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is as close to Sequoia National Park as you can get without actually being inside the park, that alone is a great reason to stay here. The rooms are modest yet clean and while the bed wasn't very comfortable it made up for it with the lovely view and setting. If you don't expect too much at this location you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We just returned from 2 nights along the Kawaeh River, at the south entrance of Sequoia National Park, CA. We stayed at the Buckeye Tree Lodgei in Three Rivers, known for its friendly people, jazz festival and good food. The proprietors and office staff made us feel at home & gave us excellent care. It is reasonably priced and includes free WiFi, long distance calls in the U.S., and a breakfast basket...with coffee beans you grind yourself! We forgot an item in our room. There was a message on our voice mail before we got home offering arrangements to get it back to us. Don't miss staying at the Buckeye Tree Lodge!

Room Tip: We went with another couple and stayed in rooms 8 & 10. Both rooms are upstairs, but on street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fotobag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you're looking for a luxurious spa hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a cute, comfortable place to stay while visiting the beautiful Sequoia & Kings National Parks, it's spot on!

We did a last minute trip to the parks, and were happy that this place was able to accommodate both us and our pup - the breakfast basket even had a dog biscuit in it! The woman we booked with was super nice and the location couldn't be beat. We got a ground floor room with a king bed that opened up to a patio overlooking the river. It was quiet and peaceful, and I could spend a lot more time exploring along the river rocks.

The room itself could use some updating - the bed was comfy but the linens were your basic motel quality. The bathroom we got was TINY, with a shower but no tub, and it would have gotten an extra star if there had been amenities like conditioner and lotion - instead there was a dispenser of shampoo and body wash mounted in the shower. This was totally fine for the price we paid, but I had forgotten to bring my own conditioner and lotion - that'll teach me to assume!

There was a cute kitchenette with a mini fridge, coffee beans, a coffee grinder, and a tea setup, but there was no creamer of any kind, which was kind of a bummer.

Anyway - this place was perfect for a quick getaway with our dog, but don't expect a luxury experience. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building - these are the ones that have the great river views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amksba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We liked staying here. The room was great and the location superb. The restaurant next door is very expensive so we went down town and got a take away pizza and ate it in room. Woke up to great views and a lovely breakfast bought the night before from a local store. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on a trip to Sequoia NP and couldn't have been more satisfied. The location cannot be beat (unless you are camping inside the park) and the staff is very friendly. This isn't a Sheraton, so don't expect room service, but the bed was very comfortable and the room had everything we needed: a microwave, coffee, fridge. Every room has a patio type space with chairs & a table that faces the river; plus there's a BBQ and a pool in the common area. I highly recommend this hotel for a visit to Sequoia, and I know I will be back on our next trip out there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boginia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,361 reviews
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
625 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
506 reviews
21.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing