We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK Cabin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK Cabin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Buckeye in June 2011. We had Columbine Cottage. The room was clean but old furniture. The kitchen didn't have any baking pans and the grill was not propane. When I asked at the office, they said they can sell me charcoal, or give me foil to cook in the oven. The cottage was supposed to have a view of the river and if you stood on the porch there was one spot that you can see the river. There was a sign in the kitchen offering to do any dishes we left dirty for a $20 fee. The location was close to the park, but I am not sure we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    151
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
106
173
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at Buckeye Tree Lodge for couple of night. We were pleasantly surprised with the location of the lodge and room accommodation. All rooms are facing the river which is big plus. We stayed in room 9 and had a great view of the nature at its finest. The breakfast basket was great. It was loaded with fruit juices, muffins, danish and fresh fruits. The kitchenette was a huge plus as you can prepare your own meals just the way you want them. The room has decent size fridge. There are BBQ grills available on the property. You can buy coal from the reception desk. There is a restaurant "The Gateway" at walking distance from the lodge. We enjoyed our breakfast on the porch - watching birds and listening to the soothing sound of the running river. Sequoia National Park is just 1/4 mile from the lodge. Overall a great place. A perfect weekend getaway. We would surely visit again. The only down side was that the carpet had stain marks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RajeevLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and enjoyed it completely. Our room (queen bed) was extremely clean and had a screen door that opened to a patio overlooking the roaring river. We just sat on the patio and relaxed Saturday afternoon which was really nice after a day of touring Sequoia National Park. The park is literally less than a mile up the road. The lodge also gave us a breakfast basket which had a piece of fruit and homemade muffin or packaged danish and can of juice for each of us. They also are pet friendly allowing up to 3 dogs in the room ($10/dog/night) and left dog biscuits for our pups with the breakfast basket. We also ended up arriving late on Friday evening after the office closed but the owner was kind enough to come out to make sure we got our key to the room for the night. Then we officially checked in, in the morning. No complaints what so ever. It was a perfect weekend getaway. I would avoid the restaurant next door however. They were pricey, sub par food, low grade service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimber1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

I had a business visit in Bakersfield so my wife and I decided to visit Sequoia for one night and to see snow since it was right after Christmas. We decided on this lodge because it was one of the cheaper ones but had a much better location than the comfort inn or some of the others. The other reviewers are right when they say this is the closest you're going to get to the park. After this lodge there's only trees and grass between you and the admission booth.

While we were there we wanted to switch rooms for a personal reason. The staff there was more than willing and the owner, Dennis, even came over to make sure we were alright. They were both incredibly friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area.

We noticed that every room has a balcony view of the river. It was great waking up in the morning and having breakfast while sitting outside and watching the water go by. The rooms are clean and cozy and since we were so far up the mountain we never heard a car go by the whole night. It's definitely not Aspen, but it's not a cheap motel either. There's no plasma TVs, but I don't know why you'd drive all the way to Sequoia to watch TV. It was a perfect place for my wife and I to relax, talk, and unwind.

One advice is if you're going in the winter and need to rent/buy tire chains, then get them on your way up. The closest place, Totem, is a RIP-OFF near a $100/day for a rental. Just stop by the Chevron on your way up. $40 for two-days and $20 each day after that.

It was a great trip and I would definitely go here again next time I'm in Sequoia.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchao111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

The locale and view were lovely, and the basket of rolls was nice, but our room was so tiny we could hardly move in it. There was no clothes closet or dresser - only a 24" rod stretched along one wall. It was deadly winter when we arrived so our coats alone took up the one rod.. There was nowhere to put shoes/boots. Water pressure was lacking. The TV was broken. The owners are nice; "hotel" is next to an expensive food establishment and far from the economical restaurants. If you are the LIGHTEST packer and not a clothes-horse like my son, daughter and I am, it would be an okay place. Rate was $99/night and the room we had was worth about $25/night (shelter only).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherinethemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Level Contributor
563 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

This is a dog-friendly group of cabins just outside Sequoia National Park. Our cabin had two rom, a complete kitchen, comfortable bed, and a quite beautiful atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
318 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We had reserved an upstairs room with a king size bed over the phone. The room looked OK, but it had two connecting doors, one of which turned out immediately to be a problem when a loud couple moved in next to us. We asked to change rooms and were moved into another building with two queen beds which did not leave a lot of room. We had a hard time pulling the curtains shut, a different mounting is needed. The carpet looked dirty. There were not enough lights, the TV was old, the fridge was fine. The shower was great, the towels rather thin. The phone with free long distance calls came in handy as cell phones don't seem to get a signal. The food basket was not great, but we had our own food.
The Property itself is nice. All rooms have balconies or patios facing the river and the views are great. We watched a bear come down to the river. And once our neighbors stopped bragging loudly outside to each other, we could enjoy listening to the river.
Everyone from the staff we dealt with was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9626
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing