We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Save your money - go somewhere else” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Save your money - go somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor before leaving home, but didn't know our exact schedule so I booked it by phone when we were nearby. I believe they give special treatment to folks they think will write an online review in order to keep their numbers higher. Because this in NO WAY was above a one-star hotel. The lobby and the room were shabby. The "breakfast" was something I'd put together for my family in my tent on a bad day. The pictures above the bed in our room had boogers all over them, the carpets were worn out indoor/outdoor carpet from the 70s, the bathroom had many long hairs on the floor (not ours), the air conditioner was extremely loud, the sliding glass patio door that served as our room entrance let light through all night and provided no kind of sleep experience whatsoever, the lock was something my 5-year-old could have jimmied with a screwdriver in 3 minutes. The room had a dreadful lack of plug-ins for the clock, the tv and the coffee pot. An octopus of wires were plugged into a single outlet. The beds were horrible. One bed was swayed into the middle, lumpy and uncomfortable; the other bed was missing a chunk of foam at the end of the bed. We ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night and had nowhere to go to get more since the office was closed. Overall a gross experience. Just one of these problems makes you wonder what else could be wrong. Group them together? Ick. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    86
    74
    48
    37
See reviews for
87
124
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I booked this hotel just because it is nicely located near Sequoia NP. However, I was surprised by the beautiful rooms, tastefully furbished, comfortable, and very clean. Wish I had planned to stay longer there! Only minus point was the breakfast, strictly continental - next time I'd make it myself in the suite's very well equipped kitchen. Overall, however, very good value for money.

Room Tip: If I remember well, the name of the nice suite was 'Bridal suite' - great for a family with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 351D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family (4 of us) stayed at the Sierra Lodge in Three Rivers, CA for one night in June 2012. We booked the VIP room (2 bedrooms and it's own parking space!) at a rate of $200 per night. The hotel is only about 6 miles outside the Sequoia National Park so the location was great. The room was outdated ('70's maybe) and I don't believe much had changed since then. The mattresses in the two bedrooms were old and worn out and very squeaky. They had put boards between the mattress and the box springs for support. I noticed this when I was checking for bed bugs (which we didn't find). We did find dead silver fish bugs in the "clean" sheets given to us for the futon in the living room. There were also globe lights in the bath that had a few dozen dead bugs in the bottom of the globes. You are probably getting the picture. The woman working when we checked in was very nice and very helpful. As we were checking out the next morning, my husband suggested quite nicely (I'm not sure I would have been as gentle) that the room needed some attention. The woman at the desk was quite unreceptive to the idea that the room might not have been perfect. She said the room had stayed booked and no one else had "complained". I doubted that the room was continually booked due to the sheer number of bugs and spider webs. I guess it's possible that it is so booked that they simply haven't had time to do a proper cleaning. Anyway, if you've gotten this far, thanks reading. Overall, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gales84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The lodge is ok for the odd night stay. It was reasonably clean and the room was a good size with a small balcony area.
We picked the lodge as we wanted somewhere close to the park entrance but with the major roadworks into the park causing delays of up to 1 hour each way we wished we had picked a different location.
The continental breakfast was just about adequate and you wont be getting an early start to your day as its not severed until 8:00.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lol48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just spent five days at the Sierra Lodge while attending my nephew's wedding. We chose this hotel for its proximity to the wedding venue and to the campground where the rehearsal dinner and a bridal wine shower were held the two nights prior to the wedding. We had read reviews and were well aware of the spiral staircase to our upper floor room (which had a wonderful view of the mountains) and did not have unrealistic expectations. What we found was exceptional hospitality on all levels, from the front desk ladies (especially Michelle, Stacy, Lisa, and Nia), all of the housekeeping staff, and Manager/Owner Dave. We stayed in room C, with a king-sized bed, and were very comfortable. We also had our own assigned covered parking space. An unexpected bonus was a family of acorn woodpeckers who spent a lot of time in the palm tree just outside our window -- my husband is an avid photographer, and really enjoyed capturing their antics. We like staying in "retro" motels, and aside from having to haul our belongings up the spiral staircase, our only real complaint (which could be ameliorated with some velvet curtains) was the light coming in at night from the security lights in the parking lot (the door to the room is a frosted sliding glass door, and does not fully block the light, but it gives plenty of visual privacy). We would definitely stay here again if we travel that way.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easier for luggage, but the upper view is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our room was clean but the main entrance was a patio sliding door made of milk-glass allowing the morning light to fill the room. The breakfast was orange slices, instant coffee and pre-packaged pastry. Road construction amde the trip to the giant trees over an hour each direction. I recommend staying anywhere between Fresno and the park. Three Rivers, CA has little to offer.

Room Tip: rooms C, D, E and F share a wall with the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StLeoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here our second night in Three Rivers because the Buckeye Tree Lodge (our favorite in Three Rivers) was sold out that night. Our room was ok. It was a pet friendly room but wasn't bad. We had a little fridge and coffee maker. The decor was mountain like with moose/ bear boarders and bedspread. I like the exposed beam ceiling. Made it feel more cabin in the woods like. I guess my only real complaint was there were ants in the bathroom in the morning and we hadn't left any food out or anything. But I guess you can't always control nature. Overall an alright stay with close proximity to Sequoia NP.

Room Tip: FYI "No pets on the furniture".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimber1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
12.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
16.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
18.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Property: Sierra Lodge
Address: 43175 Sierra Dr, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9706
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing