We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This was perfect for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This was perfect for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

After driving through terential rain and 100 mile long traffic jam, we were desperate for a relaxing nice hotel. We got it. I believe it was the manager that saw to us when we arrived at 10pm. Really nice guy, chatted to him for a while, then were shown where we would be staying.
We were gutted the weather was so bad as a swim in the outdoor pool would have been heaven, the views from there were so nice.
Our room was great, we loved it. Clean, warm and having another heater in the bathroom was a saviour as it was quite chilly when we were there!
After reading other peoples reviews, a lot talk about it being outdated. But to us, it just doesn't matter, it added to our experience and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    80
    71
    45
    35
See reviews for
81
121
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed here before, they do accept pets. Unfortunately, I failed to mention that when making reservations with travel agency. Didn't realize it was going to be such an inconvenience seeing as they're going to charge you anyway. It's just the way it was handled, they charge you and make you feel unwelcome. The windows were broken. Couldn't close them after they were opened. OK. But then housekeeping fixed it, then I couldn't open them. Had a sliding glass door, but didn't have a screen door like my friend had with his room. Kinda hard to enjoy that mountain fresh air when you can't really open the windows or doors. Sleep is minimal because one side of hotel is located on the highway, so every car that drives by will wake you up. Again, my friend got the better room located away from the highway. Staff should use the phrase "I'm sorry, but I really don't know" instead of demonstrating lack of interest in a patron. My friend asked a staff member a question regarding the area's restaurants, hiking, etc. And the response was unhelpful. My friend said she felt like she was asking the staff a stupid question. Even checking out, yea sure the receptionist was smiling. But as soon as I handed over the room key, 2 seconds and the person couldn't care less about you anymore. Didn't even ask me about my stay. Again, my friend said he didn't have that experience. Yet the reservations were under my name and I paid for the rooms. To top it all off, the rooms were backwards. My friend was suppose to get 2 beds and a smoking room. And I was suppose to get 1 bed and non-smoking. It ended up being the other way around. That's what mean by verifying all info with hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYNCountryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Having read reviews I wasn't expecting it to be great! However, for one night it was fine. The pool was clean and had a great view. The centre of the pool was deep and the water was cold, but as it was 90 degrees that was quite refreshing. The room was so tiny but OK and although the bathroom was also very small, everything worked! The surprise was that breakfast was included and it was a very pleasant continental one!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I visited a few weeks ago staying there for 2 nights as part of our road trip around California.
It's a little dated but homely and in keeping with the area. The decor was kind of old country style with pictures of animals etc on the wall. it's not just another copy of the modern chain hotels so it was a bit different and that made it fine for us. The room was clean and acceptable. The internet conncetion worked for me OK and I was near the end of the block quite a way from the reception and presumably the wirelss router. We found the pool to be clean and yes it was unheated but it was 104f when we were there so no problem at all. There are a few restaurants close by, we used the Pizza factory and the Mexican for our two nights. Both provided pretty good food. No need to dress up for either place mind as they are both fairly informal places. The hotel is about 5 or 6 miles from the entrance to Sequoia park so only 15 minutes or so before you are winding up the bendy roads towards the big trees and moro rock.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veno777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

During July 2010, over 50 of us from 4 states, stayed 5 nights at the Sierra
Lodge while celebrating our family reunion. The accommodations were just
perfect for our group. Each room had a mini refrigerator and either 2
double beds or 1 king. The ground-floor conference room with adjoining
kitchen (equipped with pots/pans, etc.) provided a great place for gathering
for meals. For an additional fee, the most gracious owners, Dave and Carol
Paradis, arranged for rental of enough tables and chairs to accommodate us.
A sitting room off the conference room with a TV was a perfect place for
elderly family members to relax, catch up and have coffee. Family members
with small children had the option of renting small suites with
kitchenettes.

A large outside sitting area with several picnic tables was a great place to
gather in the cool evenings. It was a perfect spot to hold the children's
talent show. Of course, everyone enjoyed the swimming pool whether swimming
or just sitting around enjoying a beverage of their choice.

During the day, adventure was found visiting the sequoias, white water
rafting, cave exploration, swimming at the nearby lake, fishing or playing
in the river.

The Sierra Lodge was a perfect place to stay during our fun-filled
vacation/reunion.

Jan & Dan
Jacksonville, Florida

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Fairly clean, but overpriced for what you are getting. Only stayed for one night and not memorable one at that. the air conditioning was inadequate for the room size. One rusty refrigerator, should be thrown out. Most other friends stayed at the Comfort Inn down the street, nicer room and half the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiseall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

the only good thing about this hotel was the location!! the pool is small,unheated and somewhat dirty. The view from the patio is the parking lot.The free wi fi is unprotected but it does't matter because it doesn't connect to internet. If you want to use the "picnic" area, you have to clean ti yourself. The only way you know there's a river is because you can here it when there aren't any cars!! this was the low point in an otherwise perfect holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
12.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,970 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
16.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
18.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Property: Sierra Lodge
Address: 43175 Sierra Dr, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9706
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing