We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Mexican Food and Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa mendoza

Casa mendoza
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food and Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Recently, we were in Three Rivers for 2 nights. Although there were a few restaurants in Three Rivers to choose from, we decided to try Cafe Mendoza. The first night. we were not disappointed. The chips were fantastic, crunchy and slightly seasoned. The salsa, well I guess we liked it because they had to keep refilling our salsa bowls (jokingly giving us a hard time). It too, was fantastic! The waitress was as friendly as can be. She noticed that we were drinking a lot of water (spent all day hiking in Sequoia), again, joked a bit with us, then brought a pitcher of water to the table. The food was great! I had the tacos while the others had the enchiladas. None of us were disappointed! Well, needless to say, we decided to eat there again! Same thing, great food and service. They had remembered us from the night before (possibly because of all the salsa and water they had to bring over to our table....ha). Although we had a different waitress, she was just as nice as the one we had the night before. One thing we did find out was that they do not offer desert. Our waitress the second night, to humor us and knowing that we wanted desert, gave us one piece of wrapped candy....as desert........one piece for the whole table. That is the kind of service one would appreciate, and we did! They made us feel welcome, like we had been going there for years! I would highly recommend this place to any and all! We will be back.....FOR SURE!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    53
    37
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing To Write Home About”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The wife and I weren't very impressed with either the food or service. That being said, we finished our plates and left a good tip so nothing terrible here just nothing impressive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank adickson311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
637 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Fair food accompanied with horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It's the only Mexican Restaurant in these parts and we found the food to be quite disappointing. The predinner chips were horrible...dry and far too crunchy. We had nachos that were not like the usual nachos. The chips were laid out in neat order with a dribbling of cheese on them and a dabble of beans...very poor. The quesedilla was filled with tastless cheese. The taquitos were almost OK but lacked anything special.

However, the worst part was the slow service and carelessness of our waitress..she spoke little English and it was hard to communicate with her...at the end of the meal we waited forever for her to return with the check...I finally had to get up and track her down.

They do have a nice outdoor area for dining. The inside area looked far too compact and crowded for a relaxing evening meal.

They do not have margaritas here...no full bar...only beer and wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Level Contributor
203 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, nice service but a bit slow and forgetful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food was pretty good, a bit greasy, but otherwise tasty and fresh. The salsa was excellent. The servers were all very nice but seemed to lose track of who was waiting to order, who had ordered what, etc. Overall, for a small restaurant in a small town on an obviously slower time table than most areas, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poggy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food but terrible timing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were really disappointed with this restaurant. Everyone said this was a great place and in fact the food was very good for most of the people in our party. It took over an hour for the food to be delivered to our table.
Most of the people in our party had very good food. Mine was terrible- overcooked chicken in a chicken salad. Yikes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelleys88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa mendoza also viewed

 

Been to Casa mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing