We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cabin accommodation near Sequoia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a well run group of cabins just off the highway on the road to Sequoia. Check in was very helpful and friendly and you get a serve yourself take away breakfast in the price. Rate was reasonable but cabin space was limited compared with other places we stayed. It did have a well equipped kitchen and place was well clean and tidy. The pool and grounds were nice too!
Would certainly recommend as a stopover.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markw192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Thank you for your review we appreciate your business and want to provide you with the finest accomodations possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 320 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

My family has stayed at Lazy J Ranch Motel for over 20+ years. Nestled at the base of the Sequoia National Park and just outside of Visalia, this retreat offers an escape from the city life with pastoral settings of ranch fields and the breathtaking grand sights of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Cottages surround the perimeter of the property and several have kitchenettes which have been a haven for my family to enjoy after days spent on the Kaweah Lake or hiking in the Sequoias. Although we have stayed at other nearby motels, none offer the cozy package of amenities such as access to BBQs, picnic tables, movies and a large pool. The staff has always been pleasant, knowledgeable and considerate. I would highly recommend this place as a first option to experience a wilderness hideaway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artist-to-be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

We appreciate your taking the time to review our property. We at the Lazy J want to provide you with the best lodging experience possible and we hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We booked the Lazy J Ranch after looking at it on the internet and it exceeded our expectations. The rooms were clean, appliances were new, all details considered to keep guests comfortable. Great outside area for families...swing set, swimming pool, grass area for games, covered area by the pool for afternoon cocktails. Great service, good DVD/Video selection to use in either the bedroom or living room. Views of the lake behind the rooms are scenic. It is very close to the Sequoia Park entrance; from there it is about an hour drive to the tourists centers deep in the park where the trailheads start, where the giant trees are, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebraManhattanBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Going to the Lazy J is a treat! It is located in a beautiful area near Sequoia National Park. There is a wonderful pool for the kids to enjoy and it is a great location to relax or go see the park.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbeddeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The second biggest reason I would not stay here will probably be what interests you most: it is way, way, way, too far away from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. It is not even in the forest area at all.
My biggest reason for never returning to the ranch is the silly signs: right above the sink is a huge sign that says that if you leave any dirty dishes, you shall be charged $100.00. In their plastic notebook is a rule which states that if you smoke in your cottage, you shall be charge $300.00. I don't even smoke but thought that that was just plain ridiculous. Maybe I could see these rules if they were right up against the park, but out in the middle of nowhere? What a joke. What a racket. Makes you wonder what other kind of charges they are cooking up over there. I couldn't relax . . . need I add more?

Stayed: August 2009
6  Thank Forgottensage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We picked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. There is not much to choose from in the area for families. On the plus side- you can walk to the river and the rooms were clean. On the negative side- the place is very dated and basic for the price. We paid $145 a night for a family of 4. When I made the reservation, I inadvertently put only "1" as the number of people in the room. When we arrived, we were charged an additional $5 per person for the room to cover breakfast. We were surprised that 1) our young children were not free but even more that 2) the room did not come with 2 people in the room rate. In addition the breakfast was baskets of packaged muffins and instant oatmeal that you could carry to the room to ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pSedita4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

At $94 per night, you can't expect too much. But our king bed room was clean, the bed very comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water to bath and shower, which, after a day hiking round Sequoia, is perfectly adequate.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, and gave us a useful run down on the need to know info on the area.

There is a nice pool area and pretty grounds, and the Lazy J is located about a ten minute drive from Sequoia Park entrance, and convenient for the limited dining opportunities that Three Rivers has to offer.

Of course, we knew the guy with the Harley, in the next room, would wake everyone the next morning starting his bike, and he didn't disappoint, when he revved up at the stroke of 6 a.m. We also might have liked a room that was not quite so close to the main road, but it wasn't that busy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hd91364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
19.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
630 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
308 reviews
17.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
22.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
520 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range: $90 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing