We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay for Sequoia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay for Sequoia”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here one night board only - the choice for a place convenient for Sequoia is limited so I effectively picked this at random based on the fact it had a swimming pool and fell into my price category. Note the hotel is at the far east of the town

Check-in was friendly and efficient - they supplied a wifi code without asking and more importantly, a map of Three Rivers, showing all the eateries - there were plenty, which was my major concern about staying in this town

Rooms were fair sized and bathroom is as I would expect. It was baking when we entered so the first thing was to switch the air-con on

Although it's just off the road, the motel had a bit of a park feel to it - everything was spaced out which was very nice. Our 2 Queen room was part of a semi detached building and this seemed to be the general style. The pool was fine as was the pool area

I'd consider staying here again

*A little word of warning - I drove down to Three Rivers from Sequoia around dusk - it's a punishing drive if you are already tired - I started in Yosemite Village in the morning and unfortunately Highway 41 was closed so I ended up taking a massive detour

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoohoobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    117
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
134
110
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in Cabin 2 mid-August 2014 and were very impressed! The place was spotless (as in, it would even have met my very picky mother's cleanliness standards!) and perfect for our visit. We were a group of 4 (senior, couple in their 40s and a child) who wanted to be near Mineral King for hiking. The sleeping arrangements accommodated our group just right (queen sleeper sofa, queen bed and single bed), the bathroom was clean, the fridge was cold, and the location was beautiful and as close as we could get. I highly recommend this location, and plan to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here two nights while visiting Sequoia National Park. Sheets were clean and fresh, rooms were worn and a bit musty. Very hot when entered the room - would have been nice if they could have kept the air on, at even a reasonable temperature (I would have been happy with 80). Noisy neighbours - I know, not their fault - but not a bad place overall. We had a room with two queen beds, but it might be worth the extra money to get a "cabin".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is an older hotel. We had four people. Our room was near the road with 2 bedrooms and a connecting bathroom. Each bedroom had a television. The main room had a table with a refrigerator and microwave, Rooms and bath were clean. Breakfast consisted of pastries, cereal and fruit that you picked up in the office. If you are an early riser, get your breakfast the night before and bring to your room, as the office is closed in the morning. The check in clerk was friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Not as generic as the other motel in town. Well maintained but certainly not chic. Kind of a rustic 70s look. Very clean! Pool is not fantastic and you should really plan on going elsewhere for breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank elvistoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My brother and I stayed here while visiting Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon. We booked through hotels.com and ended up with a 'cottage'. The place had all the essentials, 2 beds, kitchen, and bathroom. There was also a window unit air conditioner. An added perk was the TVs also had a DVD/VCR and the office had movies to borrow. There was a complimentary breakfast which included fruit, bagels, muffins, snack bars, juices, and coffee. The place also had a pool. The ranch is on a farm that has sheep and goats. The location is minutes away from Sequoia National Park. Three Rivers is a small town. There are like 3 restaurants and a convenience store. I highly recommend you plan ahead and buy things beforehand bc the convenience store is pricey. Overall, we had a great experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you are looking for the "upscale, loaded with amenities" hotel...keep looking. But if what you are seeking is a very nice, clean, comfortable place to stay near the Sequoia Park, this is it!! The cottage we stayed in was spacious, well maintained and equipped with a small kitchenette. when we first arrived and noticed the animals at the rear of the unit we had concerns about the smell. To our surprise there was no odor and the animals were a pleasure to watch. The pool was available although we did not have time to use it. We did take time to sit in front of our cottage and have morning coffee. To me this would be an ideal place to spend several nights and enjoy the beauty of the Sequoia Park. The young lady who handled our check in and out was very nice and accommodated our request. The only negative thing we noticed was the units are equipped with window AC, which was a little noisy. Otherwise good......

Room Tip: Some units are stand alone, while others are like duplex, etc. We chose a stand alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlotta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
4.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
17.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
19.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 39625 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing