We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The cottages and the staff were just what we needed after a long drive from SF. The location couldn't be better; close to both the Sequoia Nation Monument and Kings Canyon. The kitchen had all the cooking supplies we needed; including great cast iron pans! Full size fridge so we were able to shop in Visalia for the long weekend and not worry about shopping after a long day hiking. Staff is wonderfully friendly. Rooms are clean and well presented. I will be coming back!

Room Tip: Rent a cottage if you like to have the flexibility of cooking during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidi415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
125
97
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am so glad I found this cute little charming inn! It's the first inn you will see in Three Rivers. We came here with my mom and dog for the Thanksgiving wkend to visit and hike in Sequoia.
We love their big landscape ranch style as you drive up. They have swings and tetherball for the kids/adults and a goat ranch in the back.
If we ever come back to visit Sequoia, this is a def stay.
The only bad thing is their thin paper towels! Bring your own towels!!!
Breakfast, you pick up at the check in counter. My mom enjoyed the oatmeal packet and fruits. My husband enjoyed their pastries and our dog enjoyed the bananas! =) These were a great touch for our hikes in Sequoia.
There is not much to do at night and not much restaurants either. We drove 45 min to the casino (Tachi Palace) each night for food and gambling.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for high luxury the Lazy J probably will disappoint you. However, if you are a seeking clean economical, family operated motel, the Lazy J is excellent. We stayed here for 3 nights in July 13 and loved it. We normally prefer upscale but Lazy J was a great place. It's location allows for easy drives into the parks and 3 rivers but keeps you out of the crowds of the park facilities. We'll stay again if we revisit Sequoia, the pool was well kept and enjoyable. The rooms were clean, spacious and overall more than adequate.. The Lazy J is Throwback to the days of Family owned American roadside motels where families can enjoy themselves without overcharges and crowds.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

During our 25-day across the country we stayed 2 nights at the Lazy J. I would say that it was the most restful, relaxing place we stayed. The setting is gorgeous, and the hosts very welcoming. We, also, visited in the off season and didn't get to enjoy all they had to offer, but would definitely return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for two days and loved it. The owners are very nice and friendly. There is a river/stream to walk to and fish. They have a pool, bbq's that you can use, horse shoes and tether ball. The room was nice and comfortable. Several restuarants in Three Rivers. Also there are several other places close by to fish at too. If you want a nice, quiet place to relax this would be it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgenung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

It isn't a five star hotel but it is clean and the people are friendly. I loved the fireplace in the room and the sheep and goats. I would definitely return. We visited in the off season so we didn't get to enjoy all they had to offer but it looks like you could have fun.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As many other reviewers have said, the Lazy J is not a modern hotel chain. The bedding as a little old and faded, but the bed was not uncomfortable. The price is excellent for a room so close to the park. The owners are very nice and welcoming and the wi-fi was free with strong reception. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, but I was expecting that and brought my own. The shower in our cabin was horrible, barely a trickle, but we got clean!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCCSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
17.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,017 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
19.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
22.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 39625 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing