We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

As many other reviewers have said, the Lazy J is not a modern hotel chain. The bedding as a little old and faded, but the bed was not uncomfortable. The price is excellent for a room so close to the park. The owners are very nice and welcoming and the wi-fi was free with strong reception. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, but I was expecting that and brought my own. The shower in our cabin was horrible, barely a trickle, but we got clean!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCCSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 319 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

The best experience you can have while supporting a local business. My husband and I drove to several Inns past the Lazy J and decided to come back for the price, friendly service, & cute looking cottages. We arrived in the evening with no reservations and were glad they gave us a map for eateries and other lodging. You can stay at Comfort Inn & Suites anywhere. Why not experience a ranch unique to Three Rivers. Loved the animals, full moon view, DVD selection, and breakfast snacks. Highly recommended for the simple & adventurous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Lazy J Ranch is very conveniently located near Sequoia National Park. It is about 8 miles from the park's entrance.

We stayed here only one night but it was a great stay. We arrived early and were able to get a key to our room since it was ready. At check-in, we were advised to pick up our breakfast at night, in case we wanted it early the next morning since the office doesn't open until 9:00. The breakfast selection is oatmeal, granola bars, muffins, fruit and juice. We were also given a map of town and advice on good local food.

The hotel is older, but in great shape. The rooms are clean and quiet - what more do you need? If you're looking for a fancy hotel with with extra services, this is not it and you should keep looking. This IS a clean, quiet, cozy place to stay after a long day of hiking. I would book here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnwilson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent two nights in the Lazy J Hotel while we explored Sequoia National Forest, Giant Sequoia National Park, and King's Canyon National Park. Lazy J had easy access to all of these areas. It is just outside of Three Rivers where you will find food, supplies, and anything else you may have forgotten to bring on your trip. So the Lazy J's convenience is HUGE plus.

It is dog-friendly in a genuine way that no one, guests or hotel employees appear to be less than sincere about your family pets being okay to have there, not just tolerated. The employees, in fact, were to a person friendly and courteous. The cleaning staff was efficient and the office staff helpful in a cheerful manner. We had a great experience there and could easily envision just making a trip there with the Lazy J as a destination. It seems a wonderful place to just relax and get away from the speedy quotidian lives we all seem to have.

Please note, the Lazy J is vintage, the rooms a little old, but very clean and with all the modern amenities. However, if you want shiny, brand new rooms you will be disappointed. These are obviously older, but very well maintained.

My wife and I had a wonderful time there. The fact that they were dog-friendly really helped. Many hotels will accept dogs, tolerate them, and limit their size (typical is 40 lbs or under, some 20 lbs or under). Our little Brittany is about 42 lbs, but our Mastiff is 120 lbs. She was not unwelcome at the Lazy J. It's nice not to be discriminated against for having a large dog.

All in all: we enjoyed the Lazy J immensely, would not hesitate to go back, and would recommend the place highly to folks who do and do not travel with their pets. It was, for us, a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: There is no fitness center. Fitness is all around you via hiking and recreational areas. There is...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I did my research before booking but was still apprehensive before we got here. I needn't have worried. This was a perfect haven after a 5 hour trip from LA. Quiet, peaceful and the pool was a treat enjoyed by the family. The kids loved the small animal farm at the back.

This was a perfect start for our trip across California and Arizona.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DyNAM1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is one of the last hotel before reaching Sequoia National Park and it is absolutely a gem to do there as it takes 15 minutes. The place is wonderful, a wonderful swimming pool, well kept gardens and instead of having rooms there are small cottages with two apartments (bathroom, bedroom and a kitchen corner - a little bit dated but clean) outside table and 4 chairs. Barbeques are available for the guests too. the only point is that Lazy J (I think is the name of the owner) is lazy... but really nice. office open at 10 am only so if you want to have your breakfast before (as we did) you have to go in the office the day before and grab what you need for breakfast... Great availability of bread, snacks, sodas, teas, fruits... no milk... but you can buy it in the nearest market.... Lovely place!. there are farm animals too... a great sweet cat in the office will welcome you each time you go him.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Came here randomly on a trip. Could not have been more perfect. We only stayed one night and did not realise we were supposed to pick up breakfast in the evening. But actully it didn't really matter as this was not a priority.

Pool is lovely and lots of toys and balls and kit to keep people amused. The best view ever out the back of our cabin towards the mountains.

When the kids slept in the morning we walked down to the river and along to a recreation area. It was amazingly lovely.

Do visit here if you are passing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyTravel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
19.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
629 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
307 reviews
17.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
22.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
517 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9760
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range: $88 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing