We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Lodge(Three Rivers)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckeye Tree Lodge(Three Rivers)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaweah Motel(Exeter)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wuksachi Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lindsay Inn(Lindsay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
143
134
49
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
134
49
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarm animalssequoia national parkcontinental breakfastthe cottagesmotor courttether ballthe riverquiet settinggrassy areapackaged pastriesgranola barsvolleyball courtswimming poolsmall bathroombeautiful sceneryreception areaold school
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 348 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is one of the last hotel before reaching Sequoia National Park and it is absolutely a gem to do there as it takes 15 minutes. The place is wonderful, a wonderful swimming pool, well kept gardens and instead of having rooms there are small cottages with two apartments (bathroom, bedroom and a kitchen corner - a little bit dated but clean) outside table and 4 chairs. Barbeques are available for the guests too. the only point is that Lazy J (I think is the name of the owner) is lazy... but really nice. office open at 10 am only so if you want to have your breakfast before (as we did) you have to go in the office the day before and grab what you need for breakfast... Great availability of bread, snacks, sodas, teas, fruits... no milk... but you can buy it in the nearest market.... Lovely place!. there are farm animals too... a great sweet cat in the office will welcome you each time you go him.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Came here randomly on a trip. Could not have been more perfect. We only stayed one night and did not realise we were supposed to pick up breakfast in the evening. But actully it didn't really matter as this was not a priority.

Pool is lovely and lots of toys and balls and kit to keep people amused. The best view ever out the back of our cabin towards the mountains.

When the kids slept in the morning we walked down to the river and along to a recreation area. It was amazingly lovely.

Do visit here if you are passing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyTravel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Lazy J Ranch for 3 days in July 2013. It was so relaxing that we wished we could have stayed longer. Our cottage had one bedroom, a living room and kitchen. The bedroom had 2 double beds. Although the accommodations are somewhat outdated, it was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool after hiking in Sequoia National Park. Folks visiting this hotel should take the time to take the short walk to the river behind the ranch. There are stunning views and my kids enjoyed climbing on the rocks. They advertise that breakfast is included. They don't open until 9 am so they encourage folks to get their breakfast the night before. I found the pre-packaged muffins unappetizing and the selection of other breakfast items was poor. I would suggest buying cereal and milk and making your own breakfast if staying here. There is a nice grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms is clean and nice, the staff is friendly. Nice grounds with swimming pool and swings/slides. The grassy area is nice to play balls or just sit under the trees. They are part of the Americas Best Value Inn, and join the "Value Club" will save you some money on room rates. The breakfast is just ok, but you can basically go in and grab stuff (fruit, granola bars, packaged rolls and muffins, cans of juice) all throughout the day and it makes good snack food when you go hiking in Sequoia. We forgot our camera battery charger and battery plugged in on the wall. They found it, mailed it to us, and we got it the next day. Great customer service!! We'll definitely stay there again when we go to Sequoia!!

Room Tip: Join the "Value Club" before you make the reservation and you will get a discount.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful country setting and the rooms are "small cabins" spread out along the property. The room is pretty simple, in a spartan way, but it is clean and have the basics. You will have small bathroom, mini fridge, AC unit stuck on the wall (unbelievably noisy), heater, cheap toiletry, a small coffee maker (located on the... bathroom!) and not very comfy beds.

The hotel is close to the Sequoia National Park Entrance (30-min way by car) and has a small but clean pool.

The Internet connection in the room is not available and the management really does not care in getting it working. There is no buffet breakfast: it is a grab-n-go system, made of plain dated bagels, bananas, granola bars and similar cheap stuff.

I believe paying US $ 160 a night (and I made the reservation 6 months in advance!) paid IN ADVANCE is not worth it at all. There must be better options around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews