We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“quiet and perfect place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
BRA - CN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“quiet and perfect place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is one of the last hotel before reaching Sequoia National Park and it is absolutely a gem to do there as it takes 15 minutes. The place is wonderful, a wonderful swimming pool, well kept gardens and instead of having rooms there are small cottages with two apartments (bathroom, bedroom and a kitchen corner - a little bit dated but clean) outside table and 4 chairs. Barbeques are available for the guests too. the only point is that Lazy J (I think is the name of the owner) is lazy... but really nice. office open at 10 am only so if you want to have your breakfast before (as we did) you have to go in the office the day before and grab what you need for breakfast... Great availability of bread, snacks, sodas, teas, fruits... no milk... but you can buy it in the nearest market.... Lovely place!. there are farm animals too... a great sweet cat in the office will welcome you each time you go him.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    100
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
122
91
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Came here randomly on a trip. Could not have been more perfect. We only stayed one night and did not realise we were supposed to pick up breakfast in the evening. But actully it didn't really matter as this was not a priority.

Pool is lovely and lots of toys and balls and kit to keep people amused. The best view ever out the back of our cabin towards the mountains.

When the kids slept in the morning we walked down to the river and along to a recreation area. It was amazingly lovely.

Do visit here if you are passing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyTravel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Lazy J Ranch for 3 days in July 2013. It was so relaxing that we wished we could have stayed longer. Our cottage had one bedroom, a living room and kitchen. The bedroom had 2 double beds. Although the accommodations are somewhat outdated, it was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool after hiking in Sequoia National Park. Folks visiting this hotel should take the time to take the short walk to the river behind the ranch. There are stunning views and my kids enjoyed climbing on the rocks. They advertise that breakfast is included. They don't open until 9 am so they encourage folks to get their breakfast the night before. I found the pre-packaged muffins unappetizing and the selection of other breakfast items was poor. I would suggest buying cereal and milk and making your own breakfast if staying here. There is a nice grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms is clean and nice, the staff is friendly. Nice grounds with swimming pool and swings/slides. The grassy area is nice to play balls or just sit under the trees. They are part of the Americas Best Value Inn, and join the "Value Club" will save you some money on room rates. The breakfast is just ok, but you can basically go in and grab stuff (fruit, granola bars, packaged rolls and muffins, cans of juice) all throughout the day and it makes good snack food when you go hiking in Sequoia. We forgot our camera battery charger and battery plugged in on the wall. They found it, mailed it to us, and we got it the next day. Great customer service!! We'll definitely stay there again when we go to Sequoia!!

Room Tip: Join the "Value Club" before you make the reservation and you will get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful country setting and the rooms are "small cabins" spread out along the property. The room is pretty simple, in a spartan way, but it is clean and have the basics. You will have small bathroom, mini fridge, AC unit stuck on the wall (unbelievably noisy), heater, cheap toiletry, a small coffee maker (located on the... bathroom!) and not very comfy beds.

The hotel is close to the Sequoia National Park Entrance (30-min way by car) and has a small but clean pool.

The Internet connection in the room is not available and the management really does not care in getting it working. There is no buffet breakfast: it is a grab-n-go system, made of plain dated bagels, bananas, granola bars and similar cheap stuff.

I believe paying US $ 160 a night (and I made the reservation 6 months in advance!) paid IN ADVANCE is not worth it at all. There must be better options around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, older place to stay when you visit Sequoia National Park. There are 18 cabins arranged around a central grassy area with a nice pool. Just like the 50's, you park right in front of your cabin. We stayed in cabin 12, and everything seemed to work. Comfy bed, microwave with a dial, small dorm refrigerator. Very loud A/C. As others have reported, "breakfast" is packaged snacks, and you have to pick it up after 9:00 am (when the office opens) or before 9:00 pm the night before.

Verizon cell and 4g worked in the cabin, but wifi did not. Cell did not work in "downtown" Three Rivers or the park.

There are a couple of more modern motels in Three Rivers, but if you are looking for something quaint and at least a little old fashioned at the end of the road (which Three Rivers pretty much is), then I would suggest a stay at the Lazy J.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DougAndRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Friendly staff, old decor and toilet in bad shape. It ran all night, nothing i could fix quickly. Pool is nice but towels are a bit old, especially thinking about how good american towels normally are.
The breakfast in the mornig is a joke, for 150 dollars a night i think it is not particularly acceptable.

I would however recommend staying if driving by for no particular reason.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenkLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
4.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
17.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,973 reviews
19.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 39625 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing