We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place! Will definitely go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place! Will definitely go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms is clean and nice, the staff is friendly. Nice grounds with swimming pool and swings/slides. The grassy area is nice to play balls or just sit under the trees. They are part of the Americas Best Value Inn, and join the "Value Club" will save you some money on room rates. The breakfast is just ok, but you can basically go in and grab stuff (fruit, granola bars, packaged rolls and muffins, cans of juice) all throughout the day and it makes good snack food when you go hiking in Sequoia. We forgot our camera battery charger and battery plugged in on the wall. They found it, mailed it to us, and we got it the next day. Great customer service!! We'll definitely stay there again when we go to Sequoia!!

Room Tip: Join the "Value Club" before you make the reservation and you will get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    109
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
126
103
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful country setting and the rooms are "small cabins" spread out along the property. The room is pretty simple, in a spartan way, but it is clean and have the basics. You will have small bathroom, mini fridge, AC unit stuck on the wall (unbelievably noisy), heater, cheap toiletry, a small coffee maker (located on the... bathroom!) and not very comfy beds.

The hotel is close to the Sequoia National Park Entrance (30-min way by car) and has a small but clean pool.

The Internet connection in the room is not available and the management really does not care in getting it working. There is no buffet breakfast: it is a grab-n-go system, made of plain dated bagels, bananas, granola bars and similar cheap stuff.

I believe paying US $ 160 a night (and I made the reservation 6 months in advance!) paid IN ADVANCE is not worth it at all. There must be better options around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, older place to stay when you visit Sequoia National Park. There are 18 cabins arranged around a central grassy area with a nice pool. Just like the 50's, you park right in front of your cabin. We stayed in cabin 12, and everything seemed to work. Comfy bed, microwave with a dial, small dorm refrigerator. Very loud A/C. As others have reported, "breakfast" is packaged snacks, and you have to pick it up after 9:00 am (when the office opens) or before 9:00 pm the night before.

Verizon cell and 4g worked in the cabin, but wifi did not. Cell did not work in "downtown" Three Rivers or the park.

There are a couple of more modern motels in Three Rivers, but if you are looking for something quaint and at least a little old fashioned at the end of the road (which Three Rivers pretty much is), then I would suggest a stay at the Lazy J.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DougAndRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Friendly staff, old decor and toilet in bad shape. It ran all night, nothing i could fix quickly. Pool is nice but towels are a bit old, especially thinking about how good american towels normally are.
The breakfast in the mornig is a joke, for 150 dollars a night i think it is not particularly acceptable.

I would however recommend staying if driving by for no particular reason.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenkLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights to see sequoia Natl Park. Property is just a few scenic miles from the park entrance. It is a number of small attractive buildings around a central pool. Facility offer BBQ grills and nice grass courtyard and is run by inside family. Breakfast is only packaged goods and fruit but room has microwave and frig to prepare your own. One of the best features of the property is the river behind it with a well-worn trail to reach the swim-able and warm river in an easy 5 minutes scenic walk. The other great feature is the coin operated laundry.

Our room (#10 in the large, meaning 6-unit, building) was tidy and reasonably spacious and clean. It had a through-wall air conditioning unit which cooled the room adequately. I would recommend staying here if you are going to visit sequoia national park... A good combination of location and features. New sequoia national park... Only go there if you love big trees - not much else to see.

Room Tip: You choose from small freestanding brick units (1 and 2 rooms) or the multi-unit building. Either s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here the day we left Sequoia Natl Park to break up the drive to the Southern Califonian coast and were very pleasantly surprized. The reception was very friendly and all relevant information was provided, including a great dinner recommendation (River View Cafe with great burgers). The motel has nice, old fashioned rooms all facing the drive/garden with a nice and very clean pool as well as playground/volleyball pitch. Our two kids really had a great time and enjoyed a good run around/swim.

Only point of criticism would be the airconditioning - the daytime temperature was around 100 F and the night quite warm, however the airco was so noisy that we had to switch it off - that resulted in not the greatest sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay when we visited Sequoia. It is not far from the entrance of the park. The grounds are very pretty, the beds were comfy and the room nice and clean. Breakfast is served in the office with means to bring it back to your room. There is a small laundry on the premises which we used for a nominal fee. Office personnel were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
17.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
19.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 39625 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing