We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice accomodations with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City Center, Fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay when we visited Sequoia. It is not far from the entrance of the park. The grounds are very pretty, the beds were comfy and the room nice and clean. Breakfast is served in the office with means to bring it back to your room. There is a small laundry on the premises which we used for a nominal fee. Office personnel were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
125
97
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
az
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely find! Cool oasis. Had a 2 room suite that fronted the road. No road noise. REFRESHING pool at the end of a long hot drive. Pizza in town is overated. Had a picnic on the property. Friendly staff. Clean room. Micro\Refrig.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHOENIX1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Lazy J Ranch is old but clean. Nothing to write home about but nothing to complain about either. Check-in was easy and staff was friendly. It's an easy drive to the Sequoia National Park entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna85718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place was a real gem of a find! It's a working sheep ranch, under the beautiful backdrop of the Sierra Nevada range at the base of Sequoia National Park, that just happens to do a motel business. Each unit is it's own little cottage, and the place is family-run. It has a very down home feel, like an intimate resort from the 50's with it's kidney-shaped pool, and gazebo that overlooks it. The family who runs it is very nice, and this is overall the best kept secret in the realm of lodging in this area! It is part of the "America's Best Value Inns" club, but does not feel commercial in any way. It's just sweet and very, very relaxing. I wish we could've stayed another night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Lazy J for our Fourth of July vacation. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Ours had a kitchen, with all of the necessary tools provided. The Weber Bar-B-Que they provided was put to good use on our back patio. Our dog "Scruffy" was very much at home in our room and roaming their expansive lawn. The hotel is situated within walking distance to the river. This is our 15th year staying at the Lazy J. We feel right at home.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a kitchenette. (#'s 1-5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The location is great. The place is beautiful and the pool is very enjoyable. About the staff, well let's say it depends on who you meet.. When we arrived, the lady was really nice and she gave us a list of restaurants we could go to! But then breakfast is included in the price and when we showed up at 8.15am, it was closed. First we thought we went to the wrong place, but there were no signs so we finally rang the bell of the reception as it was closed like i said.
A very grumpy lady opened us and told us that breakfast is not before 9am! Which is A JOKE as most people there want to visit Sequoia park and probably leave EARLY (and even a lot earlier than we did!!). Anyways, their breakfast is ridiculous, nothing fresh, I even got a outdated cereal bar, no place where to sit and no coffee or tea, you have to do it in your room.

So mostly a nice place, don't count on breakfast. (There is a nice place on the way to the park we stopped by, 'We Three Bakery')

We also want to know that there's no reception AT ALL in Three Rivers for T-mobile (but there free wifi at the hotel)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marjorie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is our second stay at the Lazy J. Beautiful settings and great rates. The rooms are clean and quiet at night. This older well maintained Motel is my favorite stay in the Three Rivers area. We'll be back. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was the low water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daleglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
17.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,017 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
19.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
22.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 39625 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing