We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Nearby Hotels
$189
$161
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Sierra Riverhouse(Three Rivers)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaweah Chakra Resort(Three Rivers)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
143
134
49
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
134
49
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarm animalssequoia national parkcontinental breakfastthe cottagesmotor courttether ballthe riverquiet settinggrassy areapackaged pastriesgranola barsvolleyball courtswimming poolsmall bathroombeautiful sceneryreception areaold school
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 348 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

No motel rooms available so proprietor offered a cottage at motel prices provided we didn't cook. The compendium was full to the brim of helpful interesting history and other information. It took a while to read all the articles provided. Rooms were well appointed, and the grounds exceptional, in an otherwise dry and burnt landscape. Breakfast was available at reception to be taken back to rooms. (lots of healthy options available). Motellier pointed out roadworks in Np could delay our travel and gave good information about best times to arrive at road work area to avoid delay.
Generally a good experience, although morning came and coffe machine wouldn't work in plug in kitchen neither would toaster, I finally found a power point in bedroom that worked to operate these.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giltim_coro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Lazy J Ranch is a "50s" type roadside motel -- duplex cottages in a peaceful setting with green grass and trees on the south side of town. The rooms are basic and clean, but as others have said, need some serious updating. Towels are very thin. There is a pool, but we didn't try it. The ice machine works -- and in the hot summer temps that's crucial. It comes with prepackaged continental breakfast that is best left in the motel office where you must pick it up the night before. For a good breakfast, made to order, all the variety you may wish to have, go to the We Three Bakery on the north side of town, about the last place as you drive towards Sequoia National Park (beyond the ice cream place which is excellent).

If I were to go back to Three Rivers I'd stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: No idea. We noted that we were in the area to the left as you enter the property. The didn't seem to be using all the units.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soars37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Lazy J. Grounds are quaint and clean. Rooms may need some updating, but I would stay at this one again rather than the more modern Comfort Inn up the street - that one seems too close to the highway. As I've read from other reviewers, the air conditioners are very loud. (Make sure you wear ear plugs before bed!) Staff is very friendly and helpful - even our 10-year old son noticed enough to comment about the niceness of the office staff after visiting the office to drop off some DVDs we borrowed. Though our kitchen had plates, bowls, cups, pots, etc, it had no oils or spices so make sure you bring oil and salt and pepper if you are planning to cook there. They also have wheeled BBQ grills you may borrow. Drive into Sequoia proper is about an hour away from the Lazy J. We stayed for three nights and each night was very pleasant!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great place and really nice vibe The staff were great and helpful ...loved our cabin (No 7) and the goats were cute and the grounds very well kept. The pool was great (103 for our stay) BUT the rooms need updating ...nice and clean but bed had been around the block and in fact was up on blocks of wood.... A/C was very efficient and chilled the room but VERY noisy.Great place for families and Kids. It was cheaper than all other places we stayed on this trip in and around Yosemite & San Fran

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimM447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and spacious. This Inn is perfect for families and welcomes dogs. It's located on a large piece of property but consists of single story rooms and a few cottages so it is far from over crowded. It is family owned and operated. The owners and staff are friendly and ready to help with anything you might need assistance with. Going to Sequoia and/or Kings Canyon? this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful but if you will be staying for a while I recommend a cottage with a kitchen.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srsmith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews