We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolute Must Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Jewel Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Jewel Suites
Save
You added The River Jewel Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute Must Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the River Jewel in early October and were stunned with the beauty and amenities. The room was spotless and when we needed more coffee, Larry was quick to make sure we had our goodies. Diana is a gem as well, both she and Larry recommended some hikes nearby since the park was closed. We loved it here so much we are already planning our next get away. A nice bottle of red wine awaited us and we had complete privacy. If you have been starved for a piece of nature like I was, this is the ONLY place to stay. I've stayed in many national parks and at some fantastic inns. The River Jewel easily rivals them in accommodation and location. Even my boyfriend, who is not a nature buff loved this place and is ready to return!
Treat yourself, it is well worth it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
57
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the river jewel recently. It was simply amazing from the quality of the room, everything was top notch, bed linen, quality fixtures and fittings, amenities and above all the location. It's set on the river and the owners go out of their way to simply provide everything you need, plenty of chairs by the river including loungers and tables. It has a fantastic bathroom and a small kitchen area well stocked with a microwave and fridge. We honestly struggled to get ourselves out to do our planned hike in Sequoia national park. It's so tranquil, quiet and peaceful and it definitely ranks up there with one of the best places I have ever stayed. We actually went out for a quick dinner so we could rush back and sit by the river. We did not want to leave ever!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessygirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I honeymooned at the Jewel and they went out of their way to make us feel pampered. The resort has a fun atmosphere, it seemed like most of the people there were either honeymooning or celebrating an anniversary or birthday. Make sure to check out the blue hole!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toropower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the upstairs suite, "Sequoia Gem" and truly enjoyed our 3 night mini vacation. The location of the suites is just breath taking!! The river is literally right in front of you and the sounds of the river at night was such a wonderful way to enjoy a nights sleep. The suite was spot less with a very comfortable king sized bed! The suite was very roomy with charming decor. The kitchenette area was perfect to prepare simple meals and snacks. It is very obvious that the owners Diana and Larry take great pride in their property and have thought of everything to make their suites an enjoyable vacation spot.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RxVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife couldn't wait to get back to The River Jewel Suite at the end of the day. National Parks?! Forget them ... take me back to River Jewel Suites! We both wish we had more time there. It all starts with the owners and Diana and Larry are just wonderful.

The house with the two suites is literally on the edge of the River. A few steps down a wonderfully landscaped walkway and you're at the water. There are chairs and lounge chairs and a hammock and a firepit and a ping pong table and beautiful birds and ... the sound of the water working it's way past is such a balm. Is this heaven? No, it's Three Rivers. Keeps your eyes open for Blue Heron on the water ... fishing.

Bikes are provided free of charge.

There's a small kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, Mr. Coffee maker, and ... Starbucks coffee to brew! Very nice HDTV.

We had a very short blackout due to storms and the Jules (River Jules - get it?) quickly provided us with battery operated candles!

Oh ... and the phone in the room is analog which means ... it works during an outage. I'm an IT manager so I LOVE old tech that works in a power outage. They also had a powerful flashlight in the room.

If you insist on the owners making your breakfast then know ... they don't. Which is fine by us. You've got a kitchen and the fantastic We Three Bakery & Restaurant across the street that does breakfast impeccably well.

Air conditioning and ceiling fans and ... thick, lush bath towels unlike the bath napkins you get at hotels.

The owners provide an excellent product and we wish them continued success and happiness.

Room Tip: The Sequoia Charm suite upstairs has a very nice patio with chairs and umbrella and BBQ. The only d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a truly great find, 2 apartments beside the river at the back of Diana & Larry's property, we stayed 2 nights in the Kaweah Suite downstairs ( Fabulous twin shower with a view ) and our girls ( 12 + 16 ) stayed in the Sequioa Suite upstairs.After seeing Sequioa National Park, the girls begged to come back to our lodgings early as it was such a magical place.They frolicked in the river ( yes, bring old tennis shoes! ), played ping pong by the river and dozed in the hammock and used the provided bikes to go & have dinner in the nearby we tree bakery. Hubby & me just sat in lounge chairs in the river sharing a good bottle of white. There was nobody else as we had both apartments so it was soo relaxing.Loved the humming birds!
At the time of our stay, there was works going on to build some more apartments, I hope that this will not make it too busy as it is just right at the moment.
Thanks Diane for all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floydette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolute fabulous time.Setting was magical laying by the side of the river watching the hummingbirds flitting around was awesome-never seen one in the wild before. After a days hiking in the National park it was a joy to come back to somewhere so tranquil to have a swim in the river and down a few cold ones and watch the sun go down and the moon,stars and bats come out of a night. Great modern bathroom with a twin shower, every little detail was seen too, Owners went above and beyond to ensure it was a wonderful stay. Bicycles were available to use and bed was so comfy it was hard to get out of in the morning.Hubby loved waking up early and going out the door straight to sit by the river and read while I slumbered on. I loved all the different seating areas, hubby was partial to the hammock for an afternoon nap.Although there was another apartment upstairs we were never disturbed and it felt like we had the place all to ourselves. a truly remarkable place.

Room Tip: We choose to stay in the downstairs apartment because of the accessibility to the river and the styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gorilla60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
4.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
12.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,017 reviews
16.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
1.6 mi away
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
#3 of 11 in Three Rivers
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Jewel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Jewel Suites

Property: The River Jewel Suites
Address: 43325C Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of the Sequoia National Park, in the quaint town of Three Rivers, experience the serenity only nature can provide at The River Jewel Suites. A romantic getaway awaits you in our newly appointed riverfront Suites. Each suite has a kitchenette, California King Sized Bed, and private patio or balcony with amazing river & mountain views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing