We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“not clean and over-priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of RiverFront Cabins Kaweah General Store

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RiverFront Cabins Kaweah General Store
Millbrae, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not clean and over-priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

There are a few decent aspects to this place. The location is good, right in Three Rivers, just outside of Sequoia NP. It is easy to find and it is on a lovely little river. There are also some decent amenities - grill, laundry facilities, ets. For the money however, this place is pretty poor because it is really dirty. The walls are really gross with dirt and dead bugs all over and the furniture is so old and dirty looking that no one really wanted to sit on it. There was a slight oder when we walked in that they had tried to mask with massive amounts of glade air freshener that gave everyone a headache. There weren't even fitted sheets on the beds. The upstairs loft is up a very rickety ladder making trips to the bathroom downstair at night very difficult and there is very little ventilation so it is pretty unpleasant up there. This was way more money than staying at some of the lodging options in and around the park that are better kept and cost less money. I wish we had done those instead. This place has some potential though, just wish they would clean it up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    2
    3
    9
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hug rooms, very clean, nice riverfront property, few miles from Sequioa National Park main entrance, fully equipped with microwave, forks, knifes, spoons, ane anything you may need for a cooking. Overall I would highly recommend and when back in Sequoia will come to this hotel..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliatapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

LOCATION – Very easy to find, right on the main road through the town. Right beside the river. Petrol station, grocery and liquor store in the vicinity. There is someone on site to help with any queries, and he was friendly and helpful, but you must first pick up keys at the resort reception at the Kaweah General Store about 1 mile from the accommodation.

ACCOMODATION – Large bright property with a double bed downstairs in the living area and double and twin beds in the dorma upstairs. Dorma was very hot, but a large fan was provided. Large fully equipped kitchen, with full size oven and the usual appliances you would expect. Sliding doors that were hard to open lead out to a large wooden platform with BBQ and furniture, overlooking the river. Nice to sit on in the evening with wildlife around and the back of the property overlooking the river is very peaceful.

Nice bathroom with toiletries but no hairdryer. Tap water is not drinkable, but bottled water was provided. Accommodation is comfortable enough for a longer stay than the two nights I stayed.

The cabin was fairly new when we stayed, so I assumed the landscaping outside was not finished as it was a tad scruffy, with exposed pipes and uneven paving.

TIP - There is a bit of road noise from the front of the accomodation and the curtains are a bit thin, so if you are a light sleeper take an eye mask and some ear plugs

VALUE FOR MONEY – Could have been a bit cheaper, but on the whole yes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over_Land_And_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent three nights here in Cabin 9 as a base camp for exploring Sequoia National Park. I found it to be clean and comfortable and they let us have our two small dogs. It's a large cabin with a loft upstairs that had two twins and a queen bed. Downstairs had a full kitchen, bathroom with shower, Satellite TV, pub table, two recliners and a queen bed. There was a huge deck outside with plenty of chairs and a BBQ that over looked the river. It was a bit chilly so we didn't much time outside.

The path leading to the cabin was not easily accessible for someone who might have trouble getting around. When we arrived it was rainy, muddy and dark. Made for a challenge to unload as we had to park a little ways away and carry our stuff in. The cabin looked to be recently updated. Everything seemed new. The water from sink is not for drinking or cooking without some filtration as it comes from the river. There was a sign that said drinking water was provided, but I didn't see any, and I had my own so I didn't pursue it with the manager. If you intend to cook you might want to bring your own kitchenware. There were only a few small pots in the house, nothing for in the oven. Plenty of silverware and knives, plates, three mugs, glasses and plastic cups. I'm sure if I had asked the manager I could have borrowed more cookware from another cabin, but I didn't really want to cook! We got a pizza from in town that was good, and BBQ one night. There was hot water at all the sinks, but the shower was barely warm. As you can see, I wasn't in complaint mode so I also let this one go.

Everyone I dealt with was very friendly. The grounds are full of interesting artifacts. I don't think I'd let a small child run around out there. There is a lot of random stuff scattered around the property. There was wifi but it didn't extend as far as Cabin 9 so we had to walk up by the office to get a signal. No cell phone signal at all in this town. We were cut off and it was kind of nice!

There was nothing really unpleasant about our stay. I'd give more stars if the water was hotter, and there was a bit more cookware. They get points for everything being new, no bad smells and it was very clean. I can't speak as to the condition of the other cabins, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank world_in_my_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We like it very much. We are easygoing people. I think every one should be grateful what we got. The owner is a nice lady.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our reservation was for 5 nights so we could explore Sequoia and Kings NP's. We hadn't even been there one night and we were looking for something else. We booked the "charming cabin suite" and it was anything but charming. It was described as having a full kitchen but only had an under counter, dorm size fridge. We had to cover the 2 sofas with extra sheets because the sofas were so dirty and worn. The bed was very hard and my back in still complaining. The grounds are covered in that powdery dust that clouds up around you when you walk on it or drive on it. The floors were clean when we arrived, but were filthy by the time we'd unloaded. Luckily, the Comfort Inn had room and we were able to switch and luckily we got 4 nights refunded (we did have to stay one night). The funny thing was they charged us $10 per night per pet (we have two cats) so we thought it must be pretty nice to charge that; what a joke!

Room Tip: There isn't a best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank freelandjaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

Sebastopol, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My son, two grandsons and I stayed at Kaweah General Store cabins in August. We had the largest, two story cabin. The upstairs was very hot, and had no windows to open for ventillation. They provided a box fan which circulated the warm air, but never cooled the room. Downstairs I found I could not open the sliding door or the blinds. The kitchen was poorly equipted, lacking basics like a large bowl to mix a sald etc.. There were no pans for the oven. Not even a broiler pan. It did have stove top pots and a fry pan. You could not drink the water and it smelled like rotten eggs. We were provided with a gallon of botteled water. Maintenence was greatly lacking here. The boys did enjoy swimming in the river and we found a roap swing hanging from a tree they could swing from. The people were pleasant and friendly. I would only rate it 2 stars. We found Three Rivers to be a good location to access Sequoia National Park, but much too long a drive to make a day trip into Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy33069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
3.2 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
16.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
0.4 mi away
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverFront Cabins Kaweah General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverFront Cabins Kaweah General Store

Property: RiverFront Cabins Kaweah General Store
Address: 40462 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9790
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — RiverFront Cabins Kaweah General Store 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins are located in Three Rivers, about 5 miles from southern entrance of Sequoia NP. All cabins are located by the river, private access to the river and backyard. Outdoor seating ares and BBQ grills are available. Great for fishing and relaxing.Featuring: private bath, TV, A/C, heater, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, WiFi. Some cabins feature full kitchen. Some do have a balcony, facing the river. Accommodating up to 10 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your RiverFront Cabins Kaweah General Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverfront Cabins Kaweah General Store Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing