We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Take on the wild side in Three Rivers!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaweah Whitewater Adventures

Kaweah Whitewater Adventures
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Take on the wild side in Three Rivers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Kaweah Whitewater Rafters is a must do for those looking for some excitement during your visit to Sequoia National Park. Great way to experience a wild river with great group of professional guides. Keep in mind this is not a Disneyland ride and has real element of danger ....Having said that, Go For It!! You won't regret it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank docheffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun and Wet Class 3 Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

When I told the locals at our hotel and Sequoia Tours that my daughter and I were going. Whitewater rafting, their responses were to ask who we were planning to go with...and when they heard, they all unanimously said that they ONLY recommended going with Frank (the owner of Kaweah River Adventures). Usually by late June, the river is low and the trips are ending. This year, our class 3 trip had to walk 2 rapids
that were class 4 due to the water volume. Although high because of continuing snow melt in the mountains, the water temperature was refreshing (mid 50s) on a hot (95 degree) afternoon. Only 2 kids in total rented wet suits, and the rest of us were fine with the big waves and spashes from the other rafts. Our guide Brian was in his 4th year on the river (with more experience elsewhere). A great time on the river, but next time my 12yo says class 4 is more her speed (or is that splash?).

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Missty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good fun, a little sketchy in places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

we had an overall enjoyable time, but there were definitely some issues.

the safety instructions were not totally clear or thorough.

we went in august, when the water is admittedly low. a group of 5 of us had one raft. there were three other group rafts in our flotilla. our raft got stuck on rocks and in mildly dangerous situations several times. the other rafts did not have the same problem.
our guide worked quite hard for us, but didn't have the knowledge of the river or overall experience to keep us all in the boat and off the rocks.

definitely an activity for the adventurous, and not feint of heart (or swimming skill).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank td90026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

They asked us to arrive at 3. Everyone was waiting in a parking lot for 1 hour and 30 minutes, not doing anything. That is not how my family and I wanted to spend part of our afternoon. We finally got in the boat, on the water, a little after 5 pm! No explanations were given about the delay. Kaweah Whitewater Adventures was extremely disorganized and payed little attention to customer satisfaction. After each rapid we had to wait 5-10 minutes for every boat in our trip (~6 other boats) to go through the rapid. We have been on many rafting trips around the country, and have never experienced this kind of wait time. The afternoon took 4 hours, of which 3 were spent waiting and 1 actually enjoying the river. Luckily our guide was great, extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank malexf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scott, our guide, had great knowledge of...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Scott, our guide, had great knowledge of the area and was HILARIOUS! We were the first out in the 2010 season and had a BLAST! Frank, the owner, was amazing. He answered questions anytime....day or night. Frank was well prepared even though we were three weeks early into the season. We highly recommend whitewater adventures.

Helpful?
1 Thank namakuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaweah Whitewater Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Kaweah Whitewater Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing