We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Coventry, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed for two nights, wish we had booked a third. The motel is a throw-back roadside motel where you can sit on your front porch and watch the sunset, take in the mountain view, and feel like a true road-trippin' tourist. The pool was exceptionally clean, and we thoroughly enjoyed sipping a cup of coffee or a glass of wine poolside while the kids swam. The owner Chris was fabulous, as were the nearby eateries. Highly recommend sitting on the back deck of the Riverside. Awesome memories.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anitanester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We made a last-minute reservation at the Sequoia Motel on a Sunday night in high season. The owner, Chris, was friendly and accommodating both on the phone and in person.

Our quiet $165 room (Cowboy Room!) was clean if a bit dated. It had two double beds and a futon, coffeemaker, small TV, Wi-Fi, A/C, vanity & sink in the room with a separate toilet/shower room.

It was 95°F outside when we arrived about 8:00 pm -- and even hotter in the room. It took several hours for the A/C unit to cool the room down, but once it did, the room was comfortable.

An outdoor pool -- open until 10 pm -- offered a refreshing dip under the spectacular night sky.

Room Tip: In summer, if possible, call an hour before your arrival and ask if the A/C could be turned on in yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AWeekOrAWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The motel is nice, with tables and chairs in the garden, very enjoyable at breakfast or in the evening. This makes this accomodation more of a hotel than a motel.
The motel is as close as it gets to Sequoia NP, that's still one hour drive away from the center of the park (and 20 minutes from entrance).
The room was spacious and bright, although quite hot, as any we found in the region. Air con was however efficient and rather silent. Very clean room.
The wifi was down when we visited, we found that this was the case in a lot of motel we stayed at during our trip, so maybe the problem is not with Sequoia motel but with internet service providers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KhoaiTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
297 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, as a stop over on our way to Kernville.
It could easily have been more nights to be honest, it's a nice place with lots of things to do in the area. The pool is excellent for a refreshing dive after a long hot CA day :-). We played around in there for quite a while before we went to bed.

The owner is the most friendly lady you will ever encounter, and super customer oriented.

We truly recommend this place if you are looking for a comfy place to sleep. The beds are comfortable, rooms clean and large enough, and all properly airconditioned, which makes all the difference in the summer times.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joash-Herbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I choose this hotel because it was close to the park, offered WIFI, and I just needed a place to stay overnight. I missed the driveway as I was coming in because it is very hard to see from the road. You don't see the sign until you are pretty much past the driveway. The lady at the front desk was friendly and gave me several recommendations for places to get dinner.

The room was small and didn't really offer anything more than a hard, uncomfortable bed, and shower with low water pressure. No fridge, no microwave and the WIFI they advertised didn't work in the room.

Had trouble sleeping as the bed was not comfortable and the owners dog was constantly barking. The AC worked but was extremely loud. I left at 6:30AM because I couldn't sleep.

For $107 I expect a lot more in a hotel. Next time I'll stay at a chain motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The cabin was nice, clean and very comfortable. We (2 adults and 2 teens) were there for 4 nights. Every day the cabin welcomed us cleaned and tidied, ready for a warm family night. The cabin is well furnished in a simple and calming style. Two nice bedrooms separate by a lovely living room. We loved the cabin and surely will return in the future. I would recommend the cabin for friends. Chris, the owner was very nice and friendly. Also, I would recommend the Gateway restaurant right before the entrance to the park. The menu included a nice variety of food styles, each entry was delicious and well presented on the plate. The atmosphere was very nice and the service was great. The prices are a bit high , yet it is magical.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danit k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great location for Sequoia without being in the park. Its a room to sleep in which is what we wanted as all day in the park. Good places nearby for eating in the evening. Clean and comfortable. Rustic but functional. Breakfast was included and adequate and you can take it back to your room. Water, tea and coffee provided.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
12.7 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
20.1 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers

Property: Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers
Address: 43000 Sierra Drive (Hwy 198), P.O.Box 145, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming combination of motel rooms and cabins. Just 4 miles form the gate of Sequoia Park. Come relax and enjoy the flower gardens and swimming pool after a great day of exploring Three Rivers and Sequoia Kings Canyon National Park. Tom and Chris make every effort to make your stay a memorable one. Sequoia Motel is featured in the French travel guidebook 'Le Guide du Routard'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequoia Motel In Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Motel In 3 Rivers
Sequoia Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Motel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing