We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A quaint and peaceful place with very helpful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quaint and peaceful place with very helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family had a great experience here and would stay again. If you want to get away from the commercial atmosphere and feel like another "number" stay here. (Just don't forget your shampoo). We loved the "woodsy" feel and our room had its own theme. Super cute rooms. If you are looking for flat screen TVs and a breakfast at your doorstep don't stay here. A bakery is. 5 miles from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgarrett_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
27
43
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lübeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place was just wunderful. Is is small, but very cute and one has an wunderful garden in front of the cabin, where one can sit at the evening and drink wine while watching the stars.
Outstanding was the motel warden! She was very nice. Ask her for a bottle opener, and you get wine glasses without asking. Such service is missing at most places.
If you are near this place and look for a motel this here is the place to go!

Room Tip: We were at the "Room for 2" and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthias_Graeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

this place was a little on the older side but it was great. everything nice and clean, rooms are huge, reasonably priced. the owners told us to help our self to the tangerine tree out by the pool. that was great snack for the sequoia park. they were so good. the views from motel were great. loved it loved it...thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I spent one night while visiting Sequoia National Park. We arrived late but the owner was very accomodating and friendly. The room was basic but nicely decorated and comfortable. Bedspread was little worn, wall air-conditioner was loud, and fixtures/tile were dated. Breakfast was not included, but we visited a nearby bakery called "We Three" for a delicious meal. Wi-fi worked better outside near the pool, but not in our room. Still, we recommend to others if they were looking for decent, budget acomodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Master_Caution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent there just one night, but we have only positive memories from this little motel. Friendly staff, basic but nice rooms, small clean pool (great for relaxing after the long journey), and delicious breakfast in the nearby "We Three Bakery" (which was recommended to us by the owner). The motel itself is small and rather old, but it has some charm (part of it comes probably from the surrounding scenery)

I think I can recommend the Sequoia Motel as a very good choice if you can cope without all the amenities of the expensive hotel. If you are just looking for a quiet, relaxing and friendly place to stay close to the entrance to Sequoia NP - you will like this motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zielistka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

First of all, let's get one thing out of the way: Most things the one and two point reviews say is true: The motel looks like a relic from the sixties. The standard of the rooms is depressinly bad, there is no shampoo, no lotion, no alarm clock. Additionally, the rooms are not exactly dirty, but look more like they were cleaned by someone who was in a hurry.
But all that completely misses the point: Sequoia Motel is one of the most welcoming, charming places I've visited in years, run by a nice lady with a dog named Abby. The garden looks wonderful, the rooms, while very basic and a bit dusty, are charmingly decorated, and bad standards and lackluster cleaning notwithstanding you never feel like you'll get some terrible sickness from staying in a dirty room (see my other reviews for places like that).

All in all, problems aside, this place would get a five-star rating from me, wouldn't it be for the price. Around a hundred bucks per night may be what you pay for having a room right next to the entrance to Sequoia National Park, but given the room's standards it's terrble value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Grip42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Basic but good. Location is nice, swimming pool and good price/quality

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank enjoy-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
12.7 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
20.1 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers

Property: Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers
Address: 43000 Sierra Dr, P.O.Box 145, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming combination of motel rooms and cabins. Just 4 miles form the gate of Sequoia Park. Come relax and enjoy the flower gardens and swimming pool after a great day of exploring Three Rivers and Sequoia Kings Canyon National Park. Tom and Chris make every effort to make your stay a memorable one. Sequoia Motel is featured in the French travel guidebook 'Le Guide du Routard'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequoia Motel In Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Motel In 3 Rivers
Sequoia Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Motel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing