We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better not be in a hurry” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serranos Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Serranos Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better not be in a hurry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

It was seat yourself and we didn't get a menu for at least 15 minutes. Our drink orders came out pretty fast but she left before we could order our food. So we had to wait at least 20 minutes before we ASKED her to take our order. Once we placed our orders it took just about an hour for everything to come out. I mean two families picked up their kids and left before their food even came because it took so long. I ordered the Chicken Burrito. I was happy with the size of the burrito but the authenticity of it was not there. And flies were EVERYWHERE! The food was decent but not worth the wait. I say give it a shot if you have time to kill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    35
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

great service but you are sitting looking at a parking lot.was close to motel. we did see bats flying around which was fun

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank brit104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"I blame the management"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

On the night that we arrived, they were out of chips and salsa...what?!? With deep disappointment engulfing me, I asked my wife, "How can a Mexican restaurant run out of chips and salsa?" She quickly ordered half a carafe of wine thinking that would appease me until the food arrived. It would have, had the food (two tacos and an enchilada with rice and beans) not appeared until 1 hour and 15 minutes later. My two tacos arrived with rice and beans, which I assumed was comped since we waited until 10 p.m. to eat. When the bill came, I noticed that I was charged for a combination plate. That was not going to fly. I requested to speak with the manager, who refused to attend to us.She simply kept running our poor waitress back and forth over the course of 10 minutes to tell me that I shouldn't have eaten the rice and beans. Finally, the manager came to the table with a poor attitude and proceeded to challenge me about not sending the plate back, because it had rice and beans on it. She displayed zero grace and humility. Any manager with half a skill set, would have visited each table and prepared the diners for the obscene wait time. In addition,she would not have tried to belittle the waitress (who wrote the order down wrong- understandable for as hard as she was being worked) and the customer over a scoop of rice and beans. After much back and forth deliberation and a moment of silence where you literally could hear crickets chirping, she told the sweet mortified waitress to discount the ticket, turned, and walked away without saying another word. I would like to add that our waitress was great. In fact, she should be the manager!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK but not worth the long wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We got a great parking place and a great table right away. Drinks and Chips with really good salsa arrived alomst right away. So far great. What killed is that we waited an hour for a very simple dinner ( a burrito for me, two enchiladas for him) By the time we finally got our dinner the bloom was off the rose.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WigTeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“opened late!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Luckily that place stays opened late, because in the early season it's hard to find a place serving food after 8pm.. It was nice to be outdoors and the food is good. There was a musician playing acoustic guitar which was definitely a plus. Nice and patient staff as well

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marjorie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serranos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing