We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serranos Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Serranos Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

It was ok, tortillas were not homemade. Tamales were good had a nice spice to them. They don't have any margaritas.

Visited April 2013
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really good Mexican - HUGE portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Originally went to Pizza Factory in Three Rivers but too busy to get in the door

Went next door to Serranos. We sat outside, was really pleasant

Ordered 2 burritos - x1 Don something (this was ABSOLUTELY GIGANTIC. Easily the biggest burrito I'd ever seen). Could only manage 1/2. And a chipotle steak burrito - pretty hot but steak was good

Had the nachos and salsa while waiting for drinks - salsa really fresh but really hot. Definitely recommended

Service was good - the girl serving us was only on day 3, certainly didn't get the service suggested in other reviews. One of the beers was a little slow in coming out so she gave to us on the house - really didn't have to, nice gesture

Yes the decor isn't 5* and one or two flies will buzz around you after dark - but it's a brilliant no frills Mexican will excellent, really tasty food of epic proportions. And such good value for money. We had 2 beers, and 2 huge mains for $26 all in

Would definitely recommend - just make sure you're hungry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
Thank j1mbojones94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had an after 9pm meal. Salsa was very good and tasted fresh made (a little too much garlic in it though)
Building interior seemed to need an update. Service was ok. Over all if i could have found another place to eat easily after a long day. I would have.
They were not horrable. I just didnt like it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
Thank Remington5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We heard good about this place from other guests in our hotel and we had good experience. They were the very few restaurants open at 9pm because it was still off season. The food was tasty, quantity was okay and the service was very good.

Visited March 2013
Thank AshimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average CA Mex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Service was less than stellar, not all items on the menu were available. The refritos were very good.

Visited December 2012
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serranos Mexican Restaurant also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing