We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serranos Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Serranos Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Food and service were great, we really enjoyed our dinner, highly recommended!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    35
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Watch the prices and be selective!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The prices are too high, but order the $4.00 burrito. It's good and the salsa is fantastic.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank teacherjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yummmmy food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

The shrimp tacos were excellent! It was a little odd that we had to buy chips and salsa for $2, but they were good...especially the salsa. We would definitely go back!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank wphraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food - Casual Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn a block down the road and weren't looking for a big meal. After checking all the other places we decided to go for Serranos (I was told the name is now changed along with management to something like "Casa ...." and there is no sign.

After traveling around the States for nearly two months and trying Mexican food in Albuquerque, Denver, LA, etc. etc., we were very pleased with the quality and price of this place. Guacamole and Green Chili Enchiladas were fantastic.

The atmosphere is casual and the waitress was very friendly.

Happy Traveling

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ERIC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“No longer called Serranos!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is the restaurant formerly known as Serranos. The signage outside has been painted over just to say 'Mexican Restaurant'.

The place was busy, but as there are only 2 sit down places near the hotels/bank there isn't much other choice. The food was ok, my rice wasn't heated thoroughly and the refried beans cold. However the Chicken in Mole was tasty, the service quick and the price was good. They had a tiny kitchen, and all I could hear was the sound of the microwave pinging.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kitty_karate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serranos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing