We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's difficult to understand how anyone could be critical of this place. We have traveled extensively and stayed everywhere from 5 star locations to cabins in the woods. I agree with other reviewers---what Mars and Thomas have worked to create here is an outdoor paradise. Visitors coming to this area recognize they are going to one of the most beautiful natural areas of the country--not New York city! Our room wasn't "fancy" but was very clean and comfortable. The only visitors who would complain would be those who haven't done much traveling to unique places. We had everything we needed and more. Upon arrival Thomas greeted us with enthusiasm and showed us all the beautiful areas of the property-- his attention to detail and his hard working attitude was appreciated and should be mentioned. Thomas had fires in all the fire pits in the evening, which was very enjoyable--enough space to sit at one alone or join others for conversation, if desired. Mars has established a unique and tranquil place to spend some time. Although we were in the area to attend a wedding, having such a beautiful location for our stay was a wonderful addition to our trip. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. Thanks Mars and Thomas.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if available. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bobbye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

I just spent two nights in the River Studio with my wife and 3-year-old son and was very, very happy about it. Mars and Thomas were wonderful hosts, friendly and perfectly attentive to our needs. The river and grounds are beautiful, with fires and candles lit in the evenings. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rickl482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Riverview studio is just amazing. Dont judge by their web site just come here and enjoy. In the evening you just sit by the river next to bonfire, look at the stars and enjoy glass of wine. Overall I really loved thiz cozy place. Defintely will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: With the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Veronika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful 2 night stay with our 2 children in the Panorana Room. The website photos do not do this place justice. Such a peaceful good feeling about the riverhouse. Mars was a fantastic host. Definitely get the picnic lunch from her to take with you in the Sequoias. My only regret, we couldn't stay longer. Thanks Mars.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rivonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I wish we had planned to stay longer! Mars is a great host; she took care of everything. The River Studio has a wall of windows overlooking the river (as well as a truly great hot shower and upgraded bathroom; real coffee cups and wine glasses, great books to read, etc.) and the grounds are really beautiful. The staff were both attentive and out-of-sight at the same time! They lit candles outside, laid out blankets in case we got cold, and started a bonfire for us down by the river. We were so relaxed and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a beautiful Guest House in an unbelievable setting. We stayed for two nights and it was just a haven of calm. To sit out by the river, or on the balcony and soak up the scenery was idyllic.
Thank you Mars for your hospitality - we will tell all our friends about your little bit of paradise.
If you are looking to get away from the modern hotels with music and amusements this is the place for you. Ideal for Sequoia and Kings Canyon.
Dining is limited in the area but what is there is very good

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sayandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was at the Rio Sierra Riverhouse. We had the Hideaway for a couple of nights and it was great. The staff was fantastic for many of reasons people have already listed. Our place and grounds were clean, the firepit was freshened up every day, etc. We loved the atmosphere with just the amount of privacy to attention. My girl friend and I cooked and grilled all of our meals and whenever we needed something, the staff was a short walk away to help us out.

Only drawback was that the little space heater made the place really toasty so make sure you play around with the settings well before you sleep or you're going to wake up in a hot sweat.


Tips: Make sure you turn the fan on if you're cooking some delicious bacon or you'll set the fire detector off.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, choose the hideaway. It's a bit tight in there, but you have the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigsoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
14.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,450 reviews
17.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
654 reviews
20.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
1.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range: $222 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing