We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

+ BBQ, privacy, Beach chairs, big room, surrounding, service

- The owner is really friendly and helpfull but a little too overprotective off her guests, cleanliness could have been better, the price (though it was worth it)

Do stay at this great little place! It feels like a holiday at the beach

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripNicaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ryderonthestorm
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Very relaxed. Enjoyed the soothings sounds and sights of the rivers. Our host, Mars, was very friendly. This place was a great respite and a very welcoming place to come back to after a day exploring and hiking in Sequoia.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryderonthestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our stay in the Rio Sierra was absolutely amazing. The location of the house is right by the river with private access to the water - amazing to go for a splash after a day in the hot weather!
The room we had, with a view over the river, was very good, with a comfortable bed, good bathroom and seating area. We didn't feel we needed the room with the private balcony as there is plenty of seating available by the river front and there are only a small number of rooms - so there are never too many guests.

Mars, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful and gave us great advise on the local amenities as well as good hikes in Sequioa NP. Beach towels were ready for us to use by the river and she made us camp fires both nights even though we were the only guest staying - that made our stay very special.

We stayed for two nights and had take away breakfast and dinner by the river every day - the location and was too good not to enjoy as much as possible. The local restaurants are not particularly exciting, but the pizza place was great for take away and sitting by the fire at the rio sierra with a bottle of wine was just spectacular.
Access to the park was very easy and quick and having also stayed in one of the park accommodations I would definitely recommended staying in Three Rivers and driving in. It is much better value for money.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, great for couples in particular - very romantic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My family stayed at Rio Sierra only one night but would have loved to stay longer. We had an amazing suite that had it's own patio overlooking the river. The accomodations were great and the owner is such a nice lady. There are several tables and chairs down by the river and a couple of fire pits to enjoy at night. We enjoyed every meal outside and falling asleep to the roar of the river was so relaxing. I recommend this place for couples, families, and even lone travelers. There is something for everyone here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carissa125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I've stayed at Four Seasons and other top class resorts around the world and Mars at Rio Sierra provides the same level of 5 star service in Three Rivers all on her own. The setting is spectacular, a quite spot with a calm river running through it. There are always fresh towels out, fires at night and a cozy room to retire to after hiking among the sequoias. Mars is always there but never seen unless you want her. I could fill this review with superlatives, but I think you get the picture. The icing on the cake: you can get up early and be in the park for bear spotting at dawn. An experience I won't soon forget.

Room Tip: The Garden room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhBabyItsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Rio Sierra and we loved it

After hiking in the Sequoia NP, stay on a sun warmed rock by the river just a few steps down your room ...you feel just great! Then, jump in the water ... you feel like in paradise. Then end your evening chatting by the fire … Does it sound like a cool place? It is indeed!

The owner, Mars, is really nice and helpful, providing good advice about the park, guides and maps were at our disposal during our stay. Please note no breakfast but Antoinette's, 2 minutes away, offers perfect start for an outdoor day.

Even if you have to drive 45 minutes to be in the middle of the huge sequoias, this place is really worth the money we paid for it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SM_Lsne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Rio Sierra Riverhouse is one of a Kind! The Service is Excellent and the rooms are nice and clean. Hidden from the main road, the property fonts the Kaweah River. There is a significant amount of beach access from the property, providing excellent wading and swimming areas. There is also ample areas for picnics/brunch and barbeques, not to mention fire pits perfect for relaxing while listing to the river or even cooking s'mores. The owner was extremely friendly and accomadating - we will be back!

Jim

San Clemente, CA

Room Tip: All Rooms face the River - Can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrncivil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
2.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
17.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
14.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
20.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Property: Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing