We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway is Gross”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gateway is Gross”
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We rented a two bedroom suite for $230. I do not remember ever staying in a more neglected or dirtier place. The signs of poor hygiene were everywhere - spider webs in corners of doors and windows, layers of dust on unnecessary knick-knacks and plastic flowers, the kitchen garbage can was filthy, layers of muck by the refrigerator, mold in the bathroom, red splatters all over the kitchen ceiling. Patio had a gorgeous view but it was disgusting – looked like it was not cleaned from the previous guests - an old beer bucket and toothpicks were littering the floor, patio table was dirty, (as were our socks after walking on the carpets just once). The rags we used to clean the table turned black afterward. In the "master" (small room crammed with two beds with questionable looking covers) had a broken and exposed outlet which seemed quite dangerous. The entrance patio had a non-working gate, was littered with cigarette butts and seemingly discarded furniture. We went to the common laundry room and were surprised to see that this disorganized shack served not only as a laundry room, but as a mechanic storage room, as well as hotel’s clean linen storage -all clean sheets and towels were exposed and piled on random cardboard boxes and overflowing on the dirty floor. The website photos made a place look rustic and cute - it was anything but that. With such a great location, close to the Sequia park and with unparallel views of the river, I could totally see charging $230 for a two bedroom suite even if it was just simple and clean... but this place was in dirty disarray. Another concern was that at the bottom of the patio, leading into the river there was a pipe coming from the hotel, and around it there was a collection of dirty scum bubbles - I do not know if it was anything environmentally unsafe or not, but it was unsavory looking for sure. I have included few pictures but they do not even portray how yucky this place was! I am not even sure how is it allowed to remain open!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CCLAN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    19
    16
    26
See reviews for
41
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
schmidtable
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

The owners were so kind and friendly and not to mention trustworthy....I did not do my homework which is my mistake. We arrived and we received a warm welcome....But when we went to the largest room/house there #7 to be exact....I ran right out the door into a huge spiderweb....Who wants to look at trash when your in the mountains!!!!! Who wants to stay in a dirty room...The patio was great but filthy as was the barbecue.. The refunded our money and were really great about it. We did eat there and it was very good but if your going to sell rooms do it right!!!!! If you know you have a great location treat it that way. Stay at the Rio Sierra or Lake Elowin......The Rio Sierra is five star!!!!!!!!! I have really high standards.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — It was dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank schmidtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

momsoccer3
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I`ve never been to such a cute and warm little neck of the woods.After spending a beautiful day in the Sequoia National Park We drove up to this place and was WOWED the whole time from the SUPER FREINDLY staff . To the INCREDIBLE view ON THE RIVER to the wonderful steak. Our server (I forget his name he was from the east coast) provided one of the funniest and fastest service my husband and I have ever experienced . BRAVO ... bring a camera and maybe a swimsuit ;-)

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank momsoccer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We booked thru the Nat'l Park Reservations. When we (a family of 4, 2 are children!) arrived after a 5-6 hour drive - they did not have a reservation for us! They were rather indifferent about it as well. He did call a few places seeing if they had a room. Finally, there was ONE room available in all of Three Rivers - and it was a mere $140 MORE. I didn't know what to do - not going to make the kids sleep in the car!! So, we were took the room. The 2nd night in Three Rivers, we did come back to Gateway. We went to our room, the door was unlocked and the TV on. The room was a dump. Found out why the tv was on - power button pushed in on TV. Found the remote - batteries dead. Front window won't close or lock! The room smelled. Felt dirty. Wasn't sure we even wanted to sleep IN the bed! NEVER AGAIN! Checked out, and he acted discusted when I asked for a discount (since they were the ones that screwed up the reservations the night before). He offered a mere $20 off. Oh so kind considering their screw up costs us $140 over the original $99 for the room the first night. Too bad really - great location. And with a little TLC, this could be a great place. Oh - and forget the restaurant. Meals ar $30-40 a piece!!

  • Liked — the location (only)
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappuccino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We booked The Gateway at the last minute as most other accommodation was fully booked. The lodge was in need of upgrading and for the price you were really paying for the location and not the standard of accommodation. The lodge was not too clean either and I did check the sheets before climbing into bed.
There was a barbecue but no gas. Food in the restaurant was overpriced and not too good, but again you were paying for the location.

  • Liked — The views from the lodge
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHITEWINE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury,england
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

If you are really desperate then stay here!

the rooms were very basic, dark, gloomy and stuffy - exactly what you don't want after a 600 mile journey.

Less than welcoming at reception- indifferent at best.

It's true the setting and location looked great but you need to take out 2nd mortgage to eat at the restaurant - there's nothing else for about 5 miles.

In fairness when we cancelled the next 2 nights they didn't charge us -as they could have done. Real shame as this could be a fantastic place with a bit of thought and sensitivity.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougbonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

we found this motel in our guide book after driving down from yosemite with nothing booked. we arrived early evening after a really tiring drive and were welcomed by the friendly owner(or manager?), glen. we dropped off our bags in our room while he got our riverside table ready. the room, like other reviewers have mentioned, is pretty basic (breezeblock walls etc). however, for us that just didn't matter as, on a glorious early summer evening, dining over the snow-melt rapids below was really enjoyable. its a hugely pretty location. the food was decent and portions big, with very friendly staff. if you are just here to sleep for one night, the room is ok for the price (we paid about $90 I think) - its the wonderful location that we will remember.

Helpful?
Thank room103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
624 reviews
10.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
19.4 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
495 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Property: Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
Address: 45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Restaurant and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging renovation completed March 2014. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is located just 1/4 mile from the Main Entrance to Sequoia National Park on Highway 198. If offers a full service bar and restaurant along with a lodge containing 5 standard rooms, a cozy honeymoon cottage on the river with a dry sauna room and a two bedroom river house that sleeps up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gateway Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing