We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and beautiful little gem...”
Review of Cort Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cort Cottage
Ranked #8 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This cute little is perfect for a couple getaway or for a small family (one child). Beautiful view of the surrounding mountains and lots of vegetation around. The environment is private and the owner respect that. If you have the intention to visit the National Sequoia Park (AWESOME by the way), this the place to stay since it is only 15 minutes away.

The cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable and pleasant. Ohh yes one more thing... for those like me who are not a big fan of typical B&B where you have breakfast with other and the owner, this is NOT a place like this. At the day of your arrival, Elsah, the owner, will bring you everything you need to prepare yourself your own very good breakfast... perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 37 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2010

My husband and I spent ten days touring Central California. We were scheduled to stay two days at Cort Cottage but we would have liked to stay there much longer. The cottage was very welcoming and comfortable. Our hostess anticipated our every need and exceeded them with many extra special touches. The bed was very comfortable and our sleep was peaceful. The wireless connection worked fine. The cottage is situated on such a lovely property with an unbelievable view of mountains and the serene sound of a nearby creek. We arrived after an abundance of spring rains so everything was a lush green and a cascade was visible on the mountain facing the cottage. The entrance to a large area overseen by the Bureau of Land Management is just a few hundred yards away and we enjoyed walking the area in the mornings and evenings. The property was amazing and wildflowers were everywhere. We had a great time visiting Sequoia National Park during the day but the cottage was so lovely we bypassed eating out and opted for dining out on the deck so we could enjoy the view and the peaceful surroundings. A little wren serenaded us tirelessly and the local turkeys and ravens were very amusing neighbors.

Our stay at Cort Cottage was a feast for the senses and a truly enchanting place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluesbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a quiet place in the hills for a two day retreat at the end of February. We found exactly what we were looking for at the Cort Cottage. The east facing window frames a beautiful mountain-scape. In February, after rains, there's a wonderful waterfall. During rains, the cottage is a wonderful refuge. The rain on the roof, the clouds out the window, the rain marching across the mountains.....Ahhh. - I recommend the Cort Cottage for a wonderful mid-winter retreat. - Bryan Jessup

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valleypilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Cort cottage was lovely, the perfect setting for the getaway I planned. I booked the cottage above any other 3 rivers destinations because of the front window I saw in the photos. The view up into a distant canyon of the Sierras was breathtaking. The cottage has the warmth of home and the novelty of a destination. I spent one night eating pizza from The Pizza Factory and watching movies from Chumps, the perfect way to end the day after exploring the park. I hope to incorporate this cottage into my future visits to the park.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank littlestbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Cort Cottage is an undiscovered treasure, superior in my view to many of the area's alternatives. Cozy and well equipped, my adult son and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend visit. Each morning we were greeted by the sun rising quickly over the mountain setting, which we soaked in drinking coffee at our leisure at the patio table. It was the perfect launch pad for exploring the natural beauty of Sequoia National Park – indeed a national treasure! After a day in the park, our evenings were relaxing and fulfilled, as we could prepare our own dinner and unwind in the comfort and privacy of this character filled abode. My only regret is that my wife was not able to join us that weekend, and having to later explain the grandeur of the setting and the wonderful attributes of the cottage that she would have enjoyed so much. Needless to say – she’ll definitely be coming next time!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkeough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My husband and I booked the Cort Cottage for 3 nights to visit Sequoia National Park. We were frustrated with the low reviews of the National Park Lodging, so we started looking for alternatives. The Cort Cottage was perfect for us! It was located 4 miles from the front gate of Sequoia National Park. The cottage itself is a one bedroom cottage located next to the house of Elsah Cort. We were delighted to find that the cottage was spacious for our needs. It contained a living room with large TV and DVD player, a kitchen with a kitchen table/chairs, microwave, fridge, oven, sink and coffee pot, a bedroom with a queen sized bed, and a bathroom with a toilet, shower and sink. Since we are newlyweds, we were happy to have a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists.

Our view from the living room of the mountains was amazing! We could even see as far away as Moro Rock in Sequoia Park. There was a small deck outside with 2 chairs and a covered umbrella and a table so we could enjoy the view. As we sat outside, a family of wild turkeys strolled by 10 feet from us! How cool!

When we arrived at the cottage, we were happy to find the kitchen stocked with breakfast foods: english muffins, bagels, cinnamon bread, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, grapefruit, strawberries, juice, milk, jam, coffee and tea. This was more than enough to feed us for three mornings. This was so convenient because we didn't have to drive into town for breakfast and could head directly to the park. We took Elsah's suggestion and stopped in one of the big cities along the way to get some dinner and lunch foods. We cooked at the cottage all three nights and saved a lot of money. It was nice to have some home cooked meals after 8 days on the road. We packed our lunches for the park as well.

We had fast internet service for the laptop that we brought with us, and quiet evenings to rest up from our days of hiking.

Elsah greeted us when we arrived and when we checked out. Other than that, we could reach her by telephone or by knocking on her front door. Since she had everything clearly outlined for us, we didn't need to call upon her during our stay.

In the cottage we found many journals of positive reviews from the people who have stayed there over the last 24 years. We were surprised that none of them posted these glowing reviews on Tripadvisor.com until now! If my husband and I came back to Sequoia, we will definitely stay at Cort Cottage!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teacherchickx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: solicitar reserva con anticipación porque es solo una cabaña
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninaservin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
12.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,450 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
16.6 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
312 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
#2 of 11 in Three Rivers
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cort Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cort Cottage

Address: 44141 Skyline Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9720
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range: $170 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest cottage located 4 miles from main entrance to Sequoia National Park. The cottage is fully equipped with kitchen, satellite internet, flat screen television , DVD./CD player, queen bed and fold down futon couch, reading library, air conditioning, outdoor hot tub, and private bath. Kitchen offers coffee, tea, cream and sugar, cold cereal. Families welcome. The cottage sleeps 4 persons. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing