We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Full of character and charm, a real treat of a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Log House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Log House Lodge
Ranked #4 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Full of character and charm, a real treat of a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night before heading off to Sequoia, about 30 min away. Very warm welcome from Maureen and Tim who had covered all bases in a flexible but efficient manner. The decoration of the house and the rooms has been done beautifully and with much love. You'll hesitate a moment before making yourself at home in your room just to take it all in. An in-house FM radio station plays appropriate old fashioned music. Lots of little touches. Yes the bathroom is shared but it was very clean, a good shower and extractor fan and there was a basin in our room. Best breakfast I've had in a long time - Maureen is a fantastic chef. Proper European style coffee. This place is a rare gem, will definitely be staying here longer next time I'm near Three Rivers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had been on a roadtrip for almost a month, going from a motel to another, used to neutral hotel rooms and bland breakfasts. This had been booked by my company, never did I expect such a place... An amazing log house with fascinating details everywhere, vintage books and toys, a little Victorian inspiration. It took me 20mn just looking at everything in the room before sitting down on the bed. So beautiful et so, so comfortable too. Maureen and her husband are the perfect hosts, making you feel, litterally at home, telling you about the region, fantastic anecdotes. And the breakfast oh, what a joy, homecooked, original, delicious and satisfying on a superbly laid table. An amazing couple both super talented. I tip my hat to them. Thank you - just the break from the routine we needed...

Room Tip: I had the Rosebud, superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocoralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed with Maureen and Tim for 2 nights in the middle of October as a part of our 3 week trip around California and Nevada.

We were specifically looking for somewhere in the Sequoia area that had an authentic feel with a homely touch. We couldn't of asked for more from The Log House Lodge. It ticked every box for us. The house has been painstakingly dressed to look the part and Maureen and Tim's attention to detail is impeccable. The rooms are vey comfortable and spacious and you have free access to a sitting room and deck area which was lovely. There is no TV (not that you would every need it here) but excellent wifi. Please do not expect The Log House Lodge to be a polished 5* hotel with all of the mod cons because it isn't. It's better than that. Its a home that Maureen and Tim have lovingly made into a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the Sequoia National Park.

Although it is their home you never feel as though you are imposing. Maureen is also a dab hand at cooking and served us up some of the most delicious breakfasts we had on our trip. Maureen also left us out some small treats which our daughter quickly helped us with.

We have and will carry on recommending The Log House Lodge to our friends and family should they be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darkerwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent three nights at end of the govt. shutdown. Maureen the innkeeper is friendly and an excellent cook. Breakfasts were delicious. They don't have TV but do have internet access. Rooms are comfortable although a bit fussy with lots of western memorabilia and decorations. The bed was good and an open window at night allowed the room to cool down at night (in October). Driveway is very steep, and both guest rooms in the main house are up a flight of stairs. Neither handicapped nor elderly friendly. Unfortunately, the upstairs shower had a hot water malfunction ( there wasn't any) during my husband's attempt to take a shower. When we mentioned it to Maureen she said it just takes awhile for the hot to come up from the basement. So the next night I tried, wrong, it was the coldest shower I ever took.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherribrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCollier, Owner at The Log House Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Yep, we had a plumbing problem while this guest was here. These things happen unfortunately.
It was fixed as quickly as humanly possible but still not quickly enough to prevent the unfortunate cold shower mentioned here. (If I'd had that experience I'd probably give an even more negative review.) We did offer to refund the guest's money but they declined. We'd like to think that the other reviews on this page give a more accurate portrayal of the experience we strive to give our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed one evening. Maureen the innkeeper is warm and a very good cook. Breakfast was very nice and original. Other guest didn't show so there was no problem with sharing bathroom. However, our room was very warm even with the AC on and a fan blowing on us at the foot of the bed. Driveway is very steep and narrow. House was clean but could use some updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teach4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCollier, Owner at The Log House Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
AC has been updated since this review was written. As to the decor, we boldly proclaim on our website our offer of "rustic, nostalgic comfort" and find it curious as to why those with apparent preference for sterile steel and glass designs would book with us and then complain about it. We suggest travelers check out some of the other reviews on this page before they draw too many conclusions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Mauriene was a lovely hostess and was very accommodating when we arrived. She showed us our lodge and explained in good detail how to operate all the amenities. We stayed in the Pioneer Suite and I cannot explain how amazing this was! It was so peaceful and every room was like stepping back in time.

The heat was above 100 each day and the AC kept the lodge very cool. Sitting on the deck in the evening eight the BBQ and a bottle of wine was the icing on the cake. A must for anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Book in advance as there is only two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This B&B absolutely made our trip. Maureen and Tim were gracious hosts, the rooms were comfortable, Maureen's breakfasts were delicious and filling, and they have cute pets to play with who love visitors. We stayed in the Rosebud room (the cheapest one) and enjoyed the quaint, Victorian-style decor. It's just minutes from all the local restaurants, and about a 15 minute drive or so from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. We loved the park, but equally as enjoyable on our trip was just hanging around the house relaxing, sitting out on the spacious porch, and talking to Maureen.

A couple things to know ahead of time: there are no TVs in the rooms. This was not a problem at all for us and actually very enjoyable, but don't expect it. Tim is a movie buff and has a pull-down projector screen and will gladly set up a classic film for you in the living room, though!
Also - if you stay in one of the two rooms in the house (NOT the Pioneer Suite), you share the bathroom in the hall with the guests in the other room. We're pretty laid back, so this wasn't at all a problem for us, but once again just come in expecting that.

If you're visiting Sequioa, do NOT look anywhere else to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
2.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
14.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
17.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
20.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Log House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log House Lodge

Property: The Log House Lodge
Address: 42182 Mynatt Dr, Sequoia National Park, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9775
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Log House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quaint village of Three Rivers California, this spectacular log house is your ultimate escape from the rigors of the 21st century. Just ten minutes from Sequoia National Park, five minutes from Lake Kaweah, and a mere stroll from the Kaweah River, your stay at the Log House Lodge puts you in the center of a laid-back atmosphere that’s perfect for relaxing or as a base for outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Log House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing