We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Home on the range?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Log House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Log House Lodge to your Saves list
The Log House Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42182 Mynatt Dr., Sequoia National Park, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Home on the range?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent three nights at end of the govt. shutdown. Maureen the innkeeper is friendly and an excellent cook. Breakfasts were delicious. They don't have TV but do have internet access. Rooms are comfortable although a bit fussy with lots of western memorabilia and decorations. The bed was good and an open window at night allowed the room to cool down at night (in October). Driveway is very steep, and both guest rooms in the main house are up a flight of stairs. Neither handicapped nor elderly friendly. Unfortunately, the upstairs shower had a hot water malfunction ( there wasn't any) during my husband's attempt to take a shower. When we mentioned it to Maureen she said it just takes awhile for the hot to come up from the basement. So the next night I tried, wrong, it was the coldest shower I ever took.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherribrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCollier, Owner at The Log House Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Yep, we had a plumbing problem while this guest was here. These things happen unfortunately.
It was fixed as quickly as humanly possible but still not quickly enough to prevent the unfortunate cold shower mentioned here. (If I'd had that experience I'd probably give an even more negative review.) We did offer to refund the guest's money but they declined. We'd like to think that the other reviews on this page give a more accurate portrayal of the experience we strive to give our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed one evening. Maureen the innkeeper is warm and a very good cook. Breakfast was very nice and original. Other guest didn't show so there was no problem with sharing bathroom. However, our room was very warm even with the AC on and a fan blowing on us at the foot of the bed. Driveway is very steep and narrow. House was clean but could use some updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teach4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCollier, Owner at The Log House Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
AC has been updated since this review was written. As to the decor, we boldly proclaim on our website our offer of "rustic, nostalgic comfort" and find it curious as to why those with apparent preference for sterile steel and glass designs would book with us and then complain about it. We suggest travelers check out some of the other reviews on this page before they draw too many conclusions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Mauriene was a lovely hostess and was very accommodating when we arrived. She showed us our lodge and explained in good detail how to operate all the amenities. We stayed in the Pioneer Suite and I cannot explain how amazing this was! It was so peaceful and every room was like stepping back in time.

The heat was above 100 each day and the AC kept the lodge very cool. Sitting on the deck in the evening eight the BBQ and a bottle of wine was the icing on the cake. A must for anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Book in advance as there is only two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This B&B absolutely made our trip. Maureen and Tim were gracious hosts, the rooms were comfortable, Maureen's breakfasts were delicious and filling, and they have cute pets to play with who love visitors. We stayed in the Rosebud room (the cheapest one) and enjoyed the quaint, Victorian-style decor. It's just minutes from all the local restaurants, and about a 15 minute drive or so from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. We loved the park, but equally as enjoyable on our trip was just hanging around the house relaxing, sitting out on the spacious porch, and talking to Maureen.

A couple things to know ahead of time: there are no TVs in the rooms. This was not a problem at all for us and actually very enjoyable, but don't expect it. Tim is a movie buff and has a pull-down projector screen and will gladly set up a classic film for you in the living room, though!
Also - if you stay in one of the two rooms in the house (NOT the Pioneer Suite), you share the bathroom in the hall with the guests in the other room. We're pretty laid back, so this wasn't at all a problem for us, but once again just come in expecting that.

If you're visiting Sequioa, do NOT look anywhere else to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the Log House Lodge and we loved every minute of it! Tim & Mauriene were great hosts and the accommodations were incredibly comfortable. We loved the old west/mountain theme carried throughout all the rooms. Plus, the breakfasts were absolutely delicious (they make good coffee- a huge plus)! We began missing the place as soon as we were driving away, and we can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenjcrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A one night stay with visits to Sequoia the first day King's Canyon the second day (on our way to Yosemite). Mauriene was a great host and her mexican egg souffle was wonderful. The room was very comfortable. Great location and very quiet. The double waterfall fountain was very attractive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I took a last minute trip to California with a mission to visit Sequoia National Park. We hadn't booked any hotels, so two hours out I started searching and came across The Log House Lodge. I called the owner, Mauriene, and asked if she had any availability. As luck would have it, both of their rooms were available! (Please know that we were traveling in March which is the off season...if you are going in the summer, she books up so be sure to call in advance.) We showed up with our 16 month old son and had a wonderful evening. After eating at a local restaurant, we went back to the lodge and put our son to bed. They left us a nice bottle of wine, so we headed to the deck to enjoy the gorgeous starry sky and the wine. It was so nice to be able to be comfortable with our kiddo asleep just upstairs in a home-like environment. The next morning, Mauriene made us a fabulous breakfast that included fresh berries and Greek yogurt, an egg souffle, coffee and this fabulous orange juice drink that tasted much like an orange julius! It was a great experience!
Also, keep in mind that there are only two rooms and a shared bathroom. There was no one else there so we were fine, and if there were, we still probably would be. Just know that going in, but it was a great place and only about 20 minutes from the entrance to Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmblaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
2.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
14.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
17.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
20.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Log House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log House Lodge

Property: The Log House Lodge
Address: 42182 Mynatt Dr., Sequoia National Park, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Log House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quaint village of Three Rivers California, this spectacular log house is your ultimate escape from the rigors of the 21st century. Just ten minutes from Sequoia National Park, five minutes from Lake Kaweah, and a mere stroll from the Kaweah River, your stay at the Log House Lodge puts you in the center of a laid-back atmosphere that’s perfect for relaxing or as a base for outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Log House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing