We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place ROCKS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monument Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Awesome stay. The rooms, staff, cleanliness, breakfast bar all are top notch! Great value! Can't be beat!
We were in town for only one night and had the best stay of ANY motel in recent memory. Kudos to both owners and staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fbrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This place by far, has the best quality, price, and location in Nebraska or possibly the US. My family and I checked in and the staff is very helpful, willing to get you the room that suits you. For around 70 bucks, you can get a high quality room that has a great view of Scott's Bluff. This hotel includes a free pass to the local pool, (has 3 water slides, I big one and 2 small ones for smaller children.) a hot breakfast that varies daily, and an excercise room for guests. Room and bathroom are very clean, sheets are white and fresh as well as the bedspread (for any of you who don't like to have an old, dirty bedspread!), free wifi, and a window which looks out onto the mountains. I highly recommend this place to anyone! The room is awesome, and the accommodations are wonderful as well! 5 stars!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank haz4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed at the Monument Inn last night on the recommendation from TA. It was as advertised - price is great, location is perfect (if you are heading to Scottsbluff and/or the Agate Fossil Beds), very clean and friendly. No issues and much better than the big chains. The biscuits and gravy for breakfast hit the spot.

A couple tips: 1. The recommendation for the Union Burger and the Union Bar was spot on!
2. Scottsbluff does not open until 9am (even in the summer) so sleep in :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Monument Inn 3 times in the past 4 years and loved every stay! (Our first year we moved from a large chain hotel in Scottsbluff and were thrilled!) Our “suite” was large, well equipped, clean and very affordable. The staff is amazing and goes out of their way to make your stay feel like you are home. We look forward to seeing our friends at the Monument Inn again next year when we will be attending an event in Scottsbluff! Give it a try - you WILL come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridalVeil_OregonPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

When I checked in and they charged my credit card right away, I was worried. Normally that is a sign that the place is not going to be up to par. However,the rooms were of a decent size and clean. My room was at the top of the stairs and I was worried about potential noise, but there were no disturbances at all. It looked as if the rooms were recently remodeled. When I walked into the room the a/c was off and the room was warm, it took a few hours to cool down. Clean bathroom and nice new towels. There was a sign posted on the shower enclosure that advise caution as their soft water made the tub slippery. They weren't kidding, I did an acrobatic move to keep from falling. Didn't realize how bad I wretched my knee until it swelled up mid-afternoon. They definitely need non-strip skids in the tub or perhaps one of those Rubbermaid mats. Otherwise, eventually someone is going to take a hard fall. Shampoo came in one of those tear off packets that are impossible to open when your hands are wet and soapy.

The front desk staff seemed a little cold to me, but they did seem very friendly with their regular guests.

A few minor tweaks and this would be a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzouMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We came to town for a graduation which was held at the civic center next door to the motel. The staff was courteous and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The motel was an affordable place to stay and would recommend to others and stay again when in gering

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Gailinonawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I just love this little hotel! We travel all the time, and usually stay at the larger more pricey chain hotels with rewards, but this hotel is a little gem! This trip we were visiting for the dog show, and the hotel was so accommodating and friendly. They loved our dogs, and took lots of pictures. This hotel is very comfortable, friendly, and clean and an excellent value. Love the cookies, coffee, and refreshments at the front desk, wonderful staff, and nice extra amenities. A very pleasant little "Boutique" type hotel at a great price! Good job!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skye4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gering
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Scottsbluff
Comfort Inn Scottsbluff
#5 of 9 in Scottsbluff
114 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Scottsbluff
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsbluff Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gering
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Circle S Lodge
Circle S Lodge
#3 of 4 in Gering
66 reviews
16.4 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Morrill
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monument Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monument Inn & Suites

Address: 1130 M St, Gering, NE 69341-2836 (Formerly Microtel Inn)
Location: United States > Nebraska > Gering
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gering
Price Range: $79 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monument Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small town hospitality and residential location are just two of the many reasons we know you will enjoy your stay with us. Our area is very rich in history and the sights are breathtaking from river to plains and rich farming country. We are minutes away from the nationally recognized Legacy of the Plains Museum, Scotts Bluff National Monument, Chimney Rock and the Wildcat Hills Nature Center. If you have never been to the Scottsbluff-Gering, Nebraska area we cordially invite you to visit this historic area! Our Inn is conveniently located next to the Gering Convention and Visitors Bureau and within very short walking distance to casual dining and local taverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monument Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monument Inn And Suites
Monument Hotel Gering
Microtel Gering
Gering Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing