We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Crabmeat sub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santoro's Sub-Villa

Santoro's Sub-Villa
Ranked #61 of 110 Restaurants in Saugus
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Crabmeat sub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family has been getting crabmeat subs from here since i was a little kid. All these years later, my mom stills comes back for it. I picked up two on the way home the other night - they were full of crab, real crabmeat, not just the fake stuff with a little crab - this was a ton of crabmeat with a little bit of the fake stuff - so good,not too much mayo and it is made to order. I don't believe i have ever had anything else from their menu other than the curly fries.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lsg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than the rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Simple but tasty and the service is always friendly. Conveniently located at an access to Route 1 in Saugus. Great variety and a real Italian flavor.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Santoro's special Italian is sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

I only have ever had one thing at santoros. The santoros special. Its so good I don't even bother with anything else. I live in Maine and whenever we drive home from Boston we stop there.
The "special"italian.. about an inch of assorted real italian cold cuts, provolne and the special chopped up hot peppers/pickles/onions, great bread. A huge awesome sandwich..Perfect! Enough for two .
Yes, it smells a bit greasy inside, and the employees are not super fuzzy...but who cares, get it to go. The sandwich is legendary.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lobco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great subs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

been going to santoro's since the 70's and never had a bad one. great selection.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quaint sub shop with a lot of choices for a small price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The buildings cute on the outside but kind of drab on the inside. Menu is half hand written on the walls and looks unprofessional but the food doesnt dissapoint. I love the diced onions and pickles (hardly ever see them done that way). Servers seem to be in a hurry but overall they take pride in their service. Good variety of bottled beverage and sides. This place wont hurt your wallet or take too much time out of your day.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DunkinD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santoro's Sub-Villa also viewed

 

Been to Santoro's Sub-Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing