We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it...”
Review of Hilltop Steak House - CLOSED

Hilltop Steak House
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We liked it...”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Not being from the area, we found this place by accident driving along the highway. Its dominating size, signage, and the moo-cows out front grabbed our attention. So on the way back to our hotel we stopped for dinner.

The massive parking lot was near empty and the establishment looked closed! We actually sent one of our party of four to check to see if the place was open... it was!

The menu, as expected, was 90% beef. We had a couple of butterflied fillets, a heavy cut of Prime Rib, a massive 18 ounce Bone In Sirloin Steak along with some of their Chicken Rice Soup (very hardy) and an Onion Cactus Flower (not at all greasy/oily as some we have had).

Wow! Did we ever over-order! Portions were ample, good tasting and done to our order.

Of special notes... the steaks, we thought/observed, were done in the old fashion way... without some cook's idea of seasoning(s), that is, the fillets and sirloin were were grilled naturally in their own juices... very yummy! And... the dinner rolls and baked potatoes came with copious amounts of butter, we did not have to ask for more!

We enjoyed our dining experience... no complaints.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    33
    30
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad reviews are spot on”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been using trip advisor now for a throughout the country this past year with pretty good success weeding out false flags. I registered tonight for the first time to report this disappointing dinner. We are in the group that was familiar with the success 20 - 25 years ago here and would travel 40 miles for the steak. Went back tonight after many years and can only say it is an icon that should remain a memory. The waitress was great and that's was it. If you are going to expect the glory years, don t. Keep the memory. If considering for the first time. Don t. Honestly the classic arched McDonalds across the street would be a better choice. The comment on a questionably grilled steak is accurate. I am embarrassed to report I did not ask for my money back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have eaten dinner at the Hilltop Steak House in Saugus several times, and each time, it's a little worse. The service is good, but the quality of the food has gone downhill. My wife and I ate lunch here recently. I had the baked haddock and she had the steak tips - which she only ate some - they were that bad. Another person at our table sent her steak tips back - they were very salty. My wife commented on her steak tips being chewy and not well cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent prices!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The prices are excellent for what this restaurant offers. Drinks are good, food average but appropriate for the price. Personally, I would rather go to a more upscale place for the better meats.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjwbigcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hilltops 'em all”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Been a loyal fan of Hilltop for over 40 years, and continue to be. Nothing stays the same, as single digit meal prices have esacalated over the years, but value and taste remain constant. Although the "Lobstah Pie" seems to be a distant memory, as are the quartered quarter sticks of butter for your rolls and baked potato, the steaks accompanied by a less plenteous salad bowl are superb.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHanson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltop Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing