We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport Hotel...Not Really...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saugus
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Airport Hotel...Not Really...”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I have never experienced a hotel that advertises itself as an "Airport Hotel" being so far from the airport. Not only is it far away, but difficult to navigate in our rental car, even with a GPS. The (Non-Smoking) room reeked of cigarette smoke, as did most of the the hotel. The pillows were the worst I've ever found, and I've been all over the world. This place was WAY overpriced for the quality. The breakfast (included in the price) wasn't bad, with lots of choices of commercial (not homemade) products. The breakfast was the one bright spot of the stay, although by no means outstanding. Plentiful FREE parking. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rare2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    220
    89
    60
    49
See reviews for
145
182
49
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This little hotel was quite friendly and clean. I almost didn't stay here after reading some recent reviews on Trip Advisor, but since I was using my Priority Club points I thought give it a try. Well we found it to be very friendly and our room (118) was very clean plus it was keep that way by the hotel housekeeping for the 3 days we stayed. The front desk were professional but friendly and help me decide where to go nearby for dinner. We did use the airport shuttle with ease, we were required to make reservation the day before since it is a van with limited seating (about 7 seats) it runs every hour seven days a week we used it on Thurs when we arrived and Sun when we departed for home.
We did partake every morning of the free coffee and breakfast which was the standard for any Holiday Inn Express no frills hot breakfast, but it was just fine our our needs.
The hotel guest seems to be a lot of traveling international business people mixed with tourist.. It was just simple a fine place to stay, we felt safe enough to walk to dinner (Hilltop Steak) one night.... hope this is helpful to any wanting to stay at this property.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hummingbird112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Odd review here. We never got to the hotel. We were flying out next morning, and got online and searched for airports near Boston Logan that offered a shuttle service. To be certain, rather than just book blindly through a travel site, I got the number and called the hotel to confirm that they did, in fact, have a shuttle and that it was operational Sunday evening and Monday morning. I was assured that they, in fact, did have such a service. I went ahead and booked the room over the phone even though the price was a few dollars higher than the internet price. My thinking was that having that small level of reassurance was worth a few bucks. So we dropped off our rental car (and in case anyone was wondering, the streets of Boston were built to contain the Minotaur), and called the Holiday Inn Express Saugus to schedule a pickup. "The shuttle doesn't run on weekends" is what this other person told me. So here's my situation - it's 1000pm Sunday night. Wife and I are flying out Monday at 8:00am. We have $2.00 cash to tip a shuttle driver - that's it. So, if we want to stay at this hotel, we have to find a cab that accepts credit cards, or walk the airport until we find an ATM. So, basically the best case scenario would've been us arriving at the hotel to check in at 11:00pm, and having to get up at 430am to make certain that we can arrange a cab back to the airport.
We gave up and crashed at the airport that night. Best part? the hotel charged us twice on the credit card.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandyK00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saugus hotels

Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel to go to a wedding that was nearby. (The bride and groom had reserved a block of rooms.) We got there a little after 3p.m. and our room was not ready. Despite this, and despite the fact that the wedding was only 5 minutes away, they told us the shuttle to the wedding would be at 4:00 because they needed the shuttle for the airport. We decided to drive. We went up to our room and our key didn't work, so we were delayed a bit more. We went downstairs at 4:30 to meet another couple in the same boat and did find that they had kept one of the shuttles to transport guests so at least that problem was resolved. Of course, when it came time to leave the wedding, we waited over an hour for a shuttle. Room wasn't so great (smelled bad) and was EXTREMELY dirty. I knocked over a pill bottle during the night. When I got on the floor and reached for the pills in the morning, I came up with not only my pills but a handful of dirt (not just dust, DIRT) and grime (not to mention multiple hairs which were not mine or my husband's). I was so disgusted, I almost puked. I made my husband get back down on the floor to look for an earring I dropped. He pulled out an empty bag of gummy bears which we hadn't eaten and multiple pieces of garbage. There was even a used bandaid down there. It was so disgusting that I had him stop looking for fear of what else he would find. The earring wasn't worth enough to risk it. It was obvious that this area had not seen a vacuum in at least a year. (It was the space between the bed and the nightstand.) The "breakfast" they served in the morning was sub par as well. The egg appeared to be some kind of frozen product shaped like an omollette with some kind of fake orange cheese in it. That was accompanied by a sausage patty which looked like one of those hotdogs which you see in a movie theater that has been around for awhile. I have had a stomachache since I ate that food and I ate it yesterday morning. (As an aside, breakfast was only served until 9:30 which is fine for business travelers but probably not the best time on a weekend.) There wasn't much of a lobby area and the hotel really wasn't constructed in a way to make it look welcoming. I would never stay at this place again. (I had been reluctant to stay in a Holiday Inn anyway, however, we had stayed in one in San Francisco down by the wharf which was excellent. When I expressed my concern, my husband had reminded me of what a great stay we had at that one. This experience turned me right back off the Holiday Inn. I guess the one in San Francisco is the exception and not the rule.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night in August 2010. We chose it because of the long term parking option for the airport. We were going to pay $110 for one week of long term parking at Logan Airport but found that it was much more cost efficient to stay at this resort and utilize their parking and shuttle service. We found that for a descent hotel in the Boston area was going to cost $150 for a Friday night. We paid $199 for the night and one week long term parking for this hotel. This hotel was clean, very comfortable to stay in, and on a strip of road with lots of places to eat. Great water pressure and probably one of the most comforable hotel beds I've every slept in. My only complaint was that there was only a sheer curtain for the window and not a thicker shade. There was a street light right outside our window which shone brightly into our room and right onto to our bed, making it difficult to sleep (at least for me because I am a light sleeper but my husband didn't seem bothered by it). Other than that it was perfect for what we were looking for. The staff was helpful and friendly and the shuttle service to the airport was great; fast and convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisam0198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
205 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I booked this hotel at the end of my Boston trip, due to the convenience of the shuttle. Before placing my reservation through a travel website, I called the hotel and spoke with the clerk regarding the ability for the shuttle to pick me up at the closest "T" station. She stated that it was not a problem and she gave me the name of the station. I reserved the hotel because of what she told me. I had to surrender my rental car the day after my arrival.
Upon arriving at the front desk, I was informed that they would only pick up from the airport. I was also informed that I would have to reserve my space for the airport shuttle the day prior to my departure, and I could not do it then. I then presented my reservation, at which time I was informed that they needed a credit card on file for incidentals. At no time did anyone say that they were going to put some off the wall charge on it. $148.29 to be exact. Really?????!!! What was a going to buy? A porno movie marathon? Trash the place like a rock star?!!!!!
So, the morning before my day of departure, I was headed into Boston for a day of sight seeing and to drop my rental car. I stopped at the front desk to reserve the shuttle for the next morning. I was then presented with another hassle. The clerk wouldnt take my reservation. Finally, a freindly clerk from the back, took out the form and took my reservation.
So after a great day of sightseeing in Boston, I caught the hotel shuttle from Logan back to the hotel. It was prompt and convenient. Upon arriving back at the hotel I asked the clerk as to why there was such a large charge placed on my card. He say's its only $20 bucks. I said, You might want to check that. He then states that the computer put that on there, but upon my departure, it would be refunded to my card in 5 days. I informed him he should inform customers of the amount they are placing on customers cards. Oh, my room keys didnt work upon returning. Back down stairs to have them reprogrammed.
Check out day, I asked for a 3:20am wake up call, but I was up a 3:15am. Called front desk but no one answered. 3:25am my wake up call rings. Attention to detail is non- existent, I wont be back and I wont recommend this place to anyone. BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FishinTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I have to affirm the shuttle problems. They now leave only on the hour, and the popular morning times are booked quickly, so you'll end up leaving for the airport at an ungodly hour. They simply don't have enough shuttle capacity--a ten passenger van--to handle the number of guests. I was picked up quickly at Logan but others complained about waiting over an hour. The rooms, staff, and hotel are fine, but it's not an "airport" hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugus
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Revere
Quality Inn Revere
#4 of 5 in Revere
364 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Boston Logan International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Logan Airport
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)
Address: 999 Broadway, Saugus, MA 01906-4521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Saugus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saugus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're invited to our contemporary accommodations in Saugus, just 11 miles north of Boston and Logan International Airport. Our hotel's free 24-hour shuttle to Logan Airport and the airport train station makes us the perfect pick for travelers, and our convenient location allows patrons easy access to all that Saugus has to offer. Our hotel's location allows guests to head south to nearby Boston to see the Red Sox at Fenway Park as well as the local attractions of Salem's Witch City. Corporate travelers find convenience and comfort in Saugus, MA since our hotel is just an 11 mile drive from Boston and the Hynes Convention Centers and Peabody office parks. Complimentary Shuttle Info: Guests arriving in Boston via Logan Airport can use our hotel's complimentary 24-hour shuttle service by calling our front desk to be picked up or dropped off at Logan Airport or the Airport Train Station, half hour departures from 4:00am-8:30am on the hour after that. Reservations are required. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Saugus, our hotel's amenities can satisfy your needs. Free internet access keeps you connected, and our Express Start breakfast, complete with signature cinnamon rolls, makes a great start to the day. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, or work up a sweat in our fitness center, as well. Free parking available (during your stay). Look to us for genuine value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) Hotel Saugus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing