We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not convenient to airport!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saugus
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
473 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Not convenient to airport!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I booked this hotel because it was supposedly near the airport with a free shuttle. However, when you get off public transportation at the subway station it is another 40 minutes or so to the hotel. This hotel is not near enough to public transportation to get into the City easily. You can take the shuttle to the subway station and then get the subway, but this means you lose a lot of time getting to and from the hotel and the station. Not easy to go into Boston from this location.

The price was good - the room was fine and the service was excellent. However, how this hotel gets to call itself "airport" I don't know - it is not an accurate description. If you have your own transport, this hotel is probably fine, but if you need public transport and/or near the airport, book elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    218
    86
    59
    49
See reviews for
141
180
49
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

I found the stay very pleasant. Requested for a quiet room and got one. The staff was really helpful and had a lot of patience. The parking gets full in the weekends, however, you can park in the building just adjacent. It is quite convenient.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armado277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

The overall hotel was nice but customer service was a joke. I called and asked about the park and fly and they said well we've had a few break-ins but it's pretty safe. Should have been a clue to bail right then. Never told us we would have to reserve a spot for the shuttle in the morning. When we checked in the 6am was full and they tried to make us ride the 5am even though the sign said they ride every 30 minutes. Finally they relented and said they'd take us at 5:30am. Turns out there were plenty of other ppl who also needed to leave then since the van was full the next morning. When we got to the airport they made us get out with a 15mth old/car seat/ and all our bags at one end of the terminal instead of dropping us off in front of our airline which they had to drive by anyways. Our return flight was delayed and we called and told them our flight would not be in til midnight and asked if that was ok. They said that was fine and to only call once we had our bags. Well we didn't get our bags til after midnight and called at exactly 12:30am. That's when they said we aren't going to pick you up our last shuttle is at 12:30am. Would have been nice to have known that when we called before. They said it's on our website. Like I'm going to be looking at that in the middle of the airport. Cost us a 45 dollar cab ride to get back there. They are NOT close to the airport by any means. If you're going to park and fly go to the marriott courtyard. It's much closer and they have 24hr service. The hotel staff at HIE are a joke.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_dupree269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Firstly, I have no complaints about this hotel's service or rooms which were perfectly adequate for a 1 night stay during a 16 hour layover between flights. The breakfast was fine for the price and the shuttle left on time in the morning.

What I do have an issue with is this place being described as the HIE 'Logan Airport'. We waited 25 minutes for the shuttle to get to the terminal and a journey of just under 40 minutes after it arrived. Several of my fellow travellers had assumed it was a short trip to the hotel and were astonished how far it was and how long it took.

I would also have to disagree with other reviewers that the hotel is well placed. If you like being stuck on 1 side of a very busy highway and walk along an unmade pavement to get anywhere, then it's for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Hotel is out of the congestion of the city. Able to walk to area shops and restaurants. Great complimentary shuttle service to airport. Staff very helpful and allowed us to check in early and check out late. Used the time to take shuttle to airport T station and go to the aquarium and do some sightseeing. Using the shuttle saved us on a HUGE cab bill. Staff couldn't have been nicer or friendlier. Hotel was very clean and had an excellent complimentary breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michigankidsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

First of all I am astounded at some of the negative reviews on this hotel. This is not a restaurant, you DO have to make your own toast and yes, you have to drive safely to get into what is, I admit, a small, angled driveway off a major highway. That said, my family of five as well as many other British people were abandoned when the Icelandic volcano blew. This hotel was one of very few that had some rooms available at a reasonable cost. Eight miles from the airport was no issue, we were promptly picked up by Ivan, our Bosnian host / manager who was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel and indeed our rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is basic but cereals and toast, bacon, sausage, biscuits, coffee / tea, cinnamon rolls and doughnuts are all available. O.K. I'd give the goo filled powdered egg omelettes a swerve but hey - you can't like everything! Grocery shopping, Kmart, Target, pharmacy, Hooters and the worlds BEST steak House - Hilltop - is all within EASY walking distance. The FREE shuttle is available to the airport, subway station or by arrangement and is a God send!! With one notable exception the staff were helpful and keen to help. They are happy to accept take-away food orders and don't object to large groups eating that food and drinking in the main lounge. The departure board is a definite plus too for flight planning. Bottom line is that we were left stranded by American Airlines and this hotel was one of few to help out. If you want luxury or want waiting on hand & foot - keep looking elsewhere, but honestly - we can't praise Ivan and the team enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnakePliskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machiasport, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

I booked this hotel through stay123.com for $119.00 for the park and fly ( 14 days parking). The room had a very comfortable king size bed and had recently been refurbished . I myself never got to try the free breakfast as our flight left to early but from what i have seen it looked ok.. The hotel is also just a 5 min walk to the Hilltop Steakhouse , That in it self I found as a nice bounus...... ..All in all I would have to say that if you are looking for a inexpencive hotel that is super clean and has an airport shuttle this is your best bet ..Also if you are traveling from the northeast ( 95 south Maine ect.) it is very easy to get to without enduring very much of Bostons traffic

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Saint_6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugus
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Boston Logan International Airport
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Revere
Quality Inn Revere
#4 of 5 in Revere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Boston Logan Airport
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)
Address: 999 Broadway, Saugus, MA 01906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Saugus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saugus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're invited to our contemporary accommodations in Saugus, just 11 miles north of Boston and Logan International Airport. Our hotel's free 24-hour shuttle to Logan Airport and the airport train station makes us the perfect pick for travelers, and our convenient location allows patrons easy access to all that Saugus has to offer. Our hotel's location allows guests to head south to nearby Boston to see the Red Sox at Fenway Park as well as the local attractions of Salem's Witch City. Corporate travelers find convenience and comfort in Saugus, MA since our hotel is just an 11 mile drive from Boston and the Hynes Convention Centers and Peabody office parks. Complimentary Shuttle Info: Guests arriving in Boston via Logan Airport can use our hotel's complimentary 24-hour shuttle service by calling our front desk to be picked up or dropped off at Logan Airport or the Airport Train Station, half hour departures from 4:00am-8:30am on the hour after that. Reservations are required. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Saugus, our hotel's amenities can satisfy your needs. Free internet access keeps you connected, and our Express Start breakfast, complete with signature cinnamon rolls, makes a great start to the day. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, or work up a sweat in our fitness center, as well. Free parking available (during your stay). Look to us for genuine value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) Hotel Saugus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing