We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Shady Deal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maple Shade Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Tom and Jo Ann are among the finest hosts we have had the pleasure to meet. Their Maple Shade B&B is exquisite, simply put. We just returned from four of the most pleasant days we have ever spent on vacation. Each room in this beautifully restored 19h century farmhouse has its' attractions. We had the only downstairs room which suited our needs perfectly. A few miles outside Stillwater The Maple Shade is quiet, very comfortable and within close proximity of the delights of Saratoga Springs. The immortal words "we shall return", come readily to mind.

Jo Ann is a wonderful, creative breakfast cook. Each morning we were surprised and pleased with the choices. She also cooks to order, which is a rare treat in our experience.

Upon our arrival, we were met by Tom who proved to be a most generous and gracious host. We were provided very good suggestions for dining and sightseeing. All in all, a perfect experience for us and one we would like to repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgates5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at The Maple Shade B&B. Tom and Joanne have great attention to all the little details that make their B&B stand out above the rest. Theirs is definitely one of our favorites. We loved the delicious breakfasts, fireplaces in the rooms, incredible view from the porch swing and beautifully decorated common areas. Unfortunately, we had to leave very early and Joanne very graciously got up early to accommodate our departure preparing a three course breakfast and then sending us off with extra homemade muffins for our four hour trip back home. The Maple Shade has the perfect combination of wonderful hosts, comfortable rooms and spectacular scenery. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Charming, Clean, Great Hosts and Tasty Breakfast.

About 5 - 10 minutes drive to Lake Saratoga.

About 20 minutes drive to Saratoga Springs. Nice drive along winding road. Scenic. Corn fields. Farms. Country homes. Mansions along Union Ave.

Saratoga Springs and Lake Saratoga have a lot to offer. Worth another visit and when we return, we will be sure to stay at Maple Shade B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here in August to go to the race track for one day. i was really impressed how the place was redone. One has to admire the wood work done here. They have done a nice job of interior decorating here to give one a modern, but still a country feeling to this place. The breakfast was great and kept us going till dinner. Tom and Joanne are terrific, and very professional in how they go about this place they have here. Thank You Very Much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is the most immaculate place I've ever stayed at... My husband and I travel a lot and this place tips out list. Our hosts Joanne and Tom are lovely people, try made us feel at home right away. The rooms are pristine, the bed was comfy, and the views are breathtaking. Joanne made a delicious breakfast which included fresh muffins and fruit followed by sausage and French toast. Unfortunately we were only there for one night, but we plan to return once a year! Would reccomend staying here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurenbann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just returned from an excellent stay at Maple Shade B&B. Our room on the first floor was beautiful and extremely clean. The bed was so comfortable and the private bathroom was outstanding with a large shower, robes, lots of plush towels, and high quality toiletries. Jo Ann and Tom, the owners put a lot of love and hard work into the house and it shows in every corner. We went during racing season and Maple Shade is only about 10 to 15 minutes from the action of Saratoga Race Track, but is located in a very quiet area of farmland. Breakfast was very good both days we were there. It included fresh baked muffins, fruit, an assortment of teas, hot chocolate, juice, coffee, blueberry pancakes one day and a made to order omelet the next. We are definitely planning to return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mich115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Joanne and Tom absolutely went above and beyond making our weekend trip one of the best. Not only is Maple Shade a gorgeous home in a beautiful country setting just minutes from the hustle & bustle of downtown Saratoga, it's a true restful retreat! Wonderfully appointed rooms & guest kitchen, stellar front porch to relax and enjoy a glass of wine, and the best part?? I am gluten free and they made not 1, 2 or even 3 but FOUR types of homemade gluten-free items for me at breakfast!! INCREDIBLE!! We'll DEFINITELY be back!!

Room Tip: The blue room is beautiful and spacious, but all the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maple Shade Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Shade Bed & Breakfast

Address: 112 Wilbur Rd, Stillwater, NY 12170-1613
Location: United States > New York > Stillwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing