We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birth of a nation”

Saratoga National Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Site of the historic 1777 Battles of Saratoga, which represented the first significant victory for the rebels in the American Revolution. Today, the 3,200-acre park is a popular tourism and recreation site and a wildlife conservation area.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birth of a nation”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Love the saratoga national park and battlefield. First stop the battlefield visitor center. Great gift shop and film on the battle that took place on the grounds. Ranger tom was a great guy and very helpful. Larry a former ranger, and now a retired vol gives a great talk before the short film they show on the battle. We took the self guided tour. When you walk the battlefield it comes alive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    53
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Visit the Turning Point of the Revolution”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Battle of Saratoga is often considered the turning point of the Revolutionary War. You might never guess that as today the location is only a few miles from Saratoga Springs, 45 minutes from Albany, and a bit more than a couple of hours from New York City.

The site is reminiscent of other similar locations, such as Valley Forge. Valley Forge, of course, was not the site of a battle, so a visit to the Saratoga Battlefield brings other elements of the War into perspective.

There is a drive about 10 miles long with 10 stops, each with interpretive displays. It is important to remember that the events here occurred over 200 years ago, so much of what is described has changed. Numerous monuments and view points help with understanding what happened where and when.

The Visitor Center has a very good interactive display and there are artifacts, such as cannons and clothing, that are interesting. On the day that we visited the rangers were having great fun explaining things to the children.

The site has trails for hiking. It is also a very popular place for bicycle riders. Several years ago we had a pleasant evening ride here. This time we drove the loop, stopped at almost all of the displays, and walked the dogs on the trails. Horseback riding is, apparently, possible here, too, if you bring your own horse!

There are a couple of things you need to know when you plan your visit. There are some, but not a lot, of picnic tables around the site. Being upstate New York you can expect heat during parts of the summer, and humidity, too. Bring water and your own trash bags as they prefer carry-in/carry-out. Some locations may have mosquitoes, so bring a repellent if you are concerned. There is a small fee for the drive, but not charge for anything else.

This is a very good place for learning about history, taking a great hike, biking, and having a generally great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Turning Point of the Revolution”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I teach fourth grade in New York State. Part of our curriculum is to teach about NY history. The Battle of Saratoga is always one of my favorite topics to discuss due to its importance in helping us convince other countries in the world that the young upstarts in America could possibly defeat the most powerful military in the world. Therefore, I decided to pay the actual site of the battle a visit this summer in order to get more material. I was not disappointed. Check out their website first in order to plan your trip accordingly. The site was very helpful. The grounds are beautiful, with incredible sights and parklike vistas. I was shocked at how empty of visitors the place was (it was a Tuesday though). This made for a very peaceful trip. Important areas of the battlefield are signed. A CD is available for a small price to help explain these areas in greater detail as you drive from place to place. Basically, if you have been to the Gettysburg battlegrounds, consider this seld guided tour a smaller version of that trip. Be sure to check out the fiber optics interactive map that explains the battles first. This is a very original idea and can be found in the visitors center. I also recommend traveling to the Victory Woods after your tour. This site is just north of the battlefield and is where the British finally surrendered. Basically, if you like U.S. history, military campaigns, and enjoy taking your time walking around the actually places these events took place while reading signage about those places, then this is a trip worth taking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raistlin73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
424 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Historic site and peaceful tour”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was my first visit to this battlefield. I found the displays in the visitor center to be interesting and particularly enjoyed the battlefield audio display showing the different phases of the battles. This was very helpful in understanding the battlefield when taking the driving tour. Other than a few cannon and written displays at each of the driving stop, there is not much to see but the scenery is pretty and understanding how the battle progressed from the display in the visitor center allowed me to better understand the stops. Fortunately it was not very crowded the day I visited and I really enjoyed the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Needs to update tour”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been on a number of walking tours with audio through our cell phones but this one posed the most problems. It became such a problem that we often skipped a site because of the difficulty. The 10 sites on tour were mostly green vistas with outdated exhibits. Other than the natural landscape there was not much to see. Some of the actual artifacts from the battle---canons and wagons---were lovely but the tour needs more. I wish there were more people lecturing along the way, in or out of costume.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EIKOOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing