We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic site and peaceful tour”

Saratoga National Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Site of the historic 1777 Battles of Saratoga, which represented the first significant victory for the rebels in the American Revolution. Today, the 3,200-acre park is a popular tourism and recreation site and a wildlife conservation area.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
421 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Historic site and peaceful tour”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was my first visit to this battlefield. I found the displays in the visitor center to be interesting and particularly enjoyed the battlefield audio display showing the different phases of the battles. This was very helpful in understanding the battlefield when taking the driving tour. Other than a few cannon and written displays at each of the driving stop, there is not much to see but the scenery is pretty and understanding how the battle progressed from the display in the visitor center allowed me to better understand the stops. Fortunately it was not very crowded the day I visited and I really enjoyed the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    53
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Needs to update tour”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been on a number of walking tours with audio through our cell phones but this one posed the most problems. It became such a problem that we often skipped a site because of the difficulty. The 10 sites on tour were mostly green vistas with outdated exhibits. Other than the natural landscape there was not much to see. Some of the actual artifacts from the battle---canons and wagons---were lovely but the tour needs more. I wish there were more people lecturing along the way, in or out of costume.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EIKOOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quintessential revolutionary war experience.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Saratoga is the best American Revolutionary War sight we have visited in the northern area of operations.

The diorama of the battle with integrated led lighting really helped explain the events of the fighting.

Take the car tour and make all of the stops. Being able to walk the topography and seeing the battle lines is extremely educational.

My wife liked the memorial to the traitor from when he was still a leading patriot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank phlege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“July 4 car tour”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We witnessed a very touching naturalization ceremony on Independence day. Because of the ceremony, the parking lot was full to overflowing, but the rangers did a good job parking us wherever there was an empty space. After the ceremony, we took the car tour, which took us around the battlefield in ten stops. We learned that Saratoga was one of the most influential battles in world history--and why. I was especially interested because I have an ancestor who was there under General Gates. Federal budget cuts have made some impact on the level of services, but the employees seemed to handle it with good humor. It is a dog friendly site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry087_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I find that the National Park Service does an amazing job of both preserving and educating the public about historical sites. In this regard, they did an exceptional job of the Saratoga Battlefield. The staff were amazingly helpful and knowledgeable at the Visitor Center. There was lots to learn about the battle with a movie and models at the Center. Most impressive was the layout of the battle with the lights showing the movement of the troops. This really helped one understand the reason for the defeat of the British. We then took the auto tour and viewed the different areas of the battlefield. A real must to better understand the details of the battle. Afterwards, we purchased several good books on the history of the revolutionary war in the well stocked bookstore. Overall, it was great educational experience and well worth the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Explorer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing