We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and a lot of fun!!!”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value and a lot of fun!!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Came into town to visit some friends. They been telling be about Brendan's Irish Pub that just opened so I had to check it out. I thought might as well book a room instead of crashing on my friends sofa. So I went to the desk about the rates and I found a room for a little over $100 that included free parking Wi-Fi and a hot all American Breakfast. The girl at the desk Kristen gave me a upgrade to one of the courtyard rooms. (great view of the pool wish it was summer) She also gave me a free drink coupon part of a deal that I booked. Got to my room it was dated but it looked like all the important things were new. Refrigerator, microwave, huge TV (need more channels and something with HD) and the beds were comfy. Went to Brendan's that night and it was great one of the employees explained to me how authentic the pub was and how a lot of items were imported from Ireland. The game room was awesome!!! Great good food. Next morning got up ate breakfast (Great hangover food) as most of the reviews say eggs were ehh but to have waffles was a huge +. Excellent time will come back again. Make sure to ask for a courtyard room when booking its worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Front desk told me courtyard rooms are between $10-15 more. It is worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thecaliboy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGardenManager, Director of Operations at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear “TheCaliboy619 ”,

Firstly I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I was happy to read that you were able to experience our brand new restaurant; Brendan’ Irish Pub. Brendan’s is a great restaurant and a wonderful place to meet for drinks and fun. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub we truly treat every guest that walks through the door as our VIP and we sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for staying with us on during this trip to Thousand Oaks, and we sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Warmest Regards,

Ryan E Burns
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    128
    41
    26
    29
See reviews for
131
91
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, friendly staff and an amazing restaurant next door (Brendan's Irish Pub) what more could you ask for! The property is newly renovated and the suites are beautifully decorated. They also have a shuttle to drive you around the local area which is great if everyone is drinking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGardenManager, Director of Operations at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear “Katie R ”,

Firstly I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I was happy to read that you were happy our brand new restaurant; Brendan’ Irish Pub as well as our renovations to the rooms and suites as well!! We truly treat every guest that walks through the door as our special guest and we sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for staying with us on during this trip to Thousand Oaks, and we sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Warmest Regards,

Ryan E Burns
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am relocating from further south in California to the Thousand Oaks area to work for a Large employer. I haven't yet found a permanent home so I drive up and stay here during the work week as it is close to my office. I chose it because it was under a $100 per night, got good reviews, and close proximity to restaurants,grocery store, the Oaks Mall, etc. I've checked around and for the money, you can't beat this place. The rooms are a bit dated, but they have flat screen TV's, nice upgraded bedding, small refrigerator, and microwave. The courtyard rooms (those looking into the nicely landscaped pool area) seem nicer. It seems like a safe location and most of the other travellers are either business folks like myself or extended family members wanting to stay near their relatives. They serve a daily hot breakfast which is much better than a plain continental breakfast (though the powder eggs get boring after awhile). Occassionally, I see what appears to be work crews eating the free breakfast, and it's funny to watch them stuff their pockets with some of the breakfast items as if they are saving them to eat later. Overall, its much better than a standard motel, but not quite what I would expect from a property that calls itself a 'hotel' (not sure what that criteria is exactly). I stayed accross the street at the Hampton for 25 dollars more (my company's rate), and the Palm Garden is a better value but again, much older. They do need to get better towels, and update the carpet. Overall, the best feature is the staff. Everyone there has always been exceptionally friendly and helpful, even the night crew (I usually arrive late). The most exceptional personnel member is Christine at the Front Desk. That young lady is outstanding and is always professional, friendly, and helpful. Because some of my expenses are company reimbursed but others not so, I've had to make special arrangements when I check in/out,the first time I stayed there, and she was extremely knowledgeable, patient, and efficient. I've had packages delivered for me there and they always give me a courtesy call. Also when my TV wasn't working, the maintenance man came up within 15 minutes to help me tune it correctly. Again, I can't say enough about the service which is important for me as this hotel is my home during my work week. Brendan's, the restaurant next door is nice place but always crowded (and the restaurant guests always take up all the best parking so that can be annoying). Nevertheles, when Brendan's does get setup for room service delivery to hotel guests, it will more than make up for the difficult parking situation. Lastly, there is a Starbuck in the same retail space, and as a SB junkie, it makes my work mornings much more pleasant as I can walk over and get my cafeine fix before I head to my office.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the Courtyard rooms. Also if you stay on the higher floors, ask to be near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMarie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGardenManager, Director of Operations at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear “EMarie500 ”,

Firstly I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel. I truly appreciate you taking the time to go into detail about your stay and this details will surely only help to improve the guest experience for all others at The Palm Garden.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I was happy to read that you were happy with our Flat Screen TV’s, our delicious breakfast and the warm service of our staff members. We truly treat every guest that walks through the door as a VIP and we sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for staying with us on during this trip to Thousand Oaks, and we sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Warmest Regards,

Ryan E Burns
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here on New Years Eve so there were some noise issues. We got a great deal on the hotel from hotwire. The hotel were reasonably clean, but the rooms were quite dated. There is a great pool area and they seem to have some nice amenities. The complementary breakfast was really great. There were lots of hot dishes and a waffle maker!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGardenManager, Director of Operations at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear “MeganB ”,

Firstly I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel. I was happy to read that you were able to celebrate New Years Eve at our property; I surely hope you were able to experience the wonderful music of The Harry Selvin Big Band while on property!!

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I do apologize about the noise issues during your stay and on behalf of the hotel we thank you for your patience as we continue to renovate the entire property. Please come back and try us again as all of our rooms have been completely renovated and updated!!

Thank you again for staying with us on during this trip to Thousand Oaks, and we sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Warmest Regards,

Ryan E Burns

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The only redeeming feature of this hotel was that the staff was very nice and they were polite.
We were told that the hotel had just undergone remodeling and that it was 99% complete. We must have been unlucky enough to get one of the 1% non-remodeled rooms because our room appeared like something from 1978. There was not even a bathroom fan and that was bad news because I was suffering from some type of food poisoning and was spending a lot of time in the bathroom and on the toilet. We desperately needed an exhaust bathroom fan. While in the bathroom I also noticed several hairs (pubic and other varieties) plastered on the wall and ceiling. Seeing this made me even more ill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyandlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I wanted an affordable, clean hotel with free wifi and a small fridge / freezer. I got it! Bed was comfy; room was clean; heater worked well. Breakfast was good and the patio was just lovely with artfully arranged plants and a pool for a backdrop. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. It wasn't 100% renovated, but obvious care had gone into the upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaSpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGardenManager, Director of Operations at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear “LolaSpan ”,

Firstly I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel. I was happy to read that you were very pleased with the cleanliness of our rooms, our comfortable bedding, and all of the extras that goes into a true Palm Garden experience.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. We regularly receive high praise for our wonderful property and grounds and the delicious breakfast in the morning. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast on the patio, I agree, the pool is a lovely backdrop to enjoy your breakfast in the morning and start your day!!

Thank you again for staying with us on during this trip to Thousand Oaks, and we sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Warmest Regards,

Ryan E Burns

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were very pleased with the hotel as to cleanliness, sleeping accomodations, breakfasts and overall service.

Ourdaughter, living in the area had checked out several hotels in the area and recommended we stay here for overall value.

Good choice.

Room Tip: The first floor room facing the garden area was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XyzJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGardenManager, Director of Operations at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear “XyzJohnB ”,

Firstly I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel. I was happy to read that you were very pleased with our sleeping accommodations, breakfast and the service provided by our staff.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. We regularly host guests from across the country for a variety of different travel plans. I am happy that your daughter recommended our hotel for your stay and even happier that you truly enjoyed yourself during your stay.

Thank you again for staying with us on during this trip to Thousand Oaks, and we sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Warmest Regards,

Ryan E Burns

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
6.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: 495 N Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Thousand Oaks
Hotel Palm Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing