We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite stay”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

A real get-away stay - surrounded by palm and flower plantings, paths to the pool and hot tub, and an incredibly delicious, abundant, and healthy breakfast. Add in congenial staff and managers, a gazebo for all kinds of weather, and proximity to interstate. Also walking distance to grocery, shopping, sushi, and other restaurants - and a microwave and frig/freezer in the room. The rooms are all outside access so if you forgot something in the car, it's right there.
Most of all, the personal attention to any needs or questions, by employees and management, made this a place I will always book again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - some are more of a stroll to the breakfast area or pool, but what a lovely walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
What a delightful way to begin my week with this wonderful review. I really appreciate the nice things you said about my staff whom I consider to be family. I too appreciate the lovely grounds and planters. We have some plantings that go back over 40 years and still amaze me with their beauty. We have had such a pleasant winter season that it seems like spring arrived 3 months early. We can promise you 320 days of sunshine in this climate but this is a spectacular year you picked to visit and it was brightened up by your presence. I have this great big smile on my face as I read your comments and will share it with everyone I meet especially those team members that went out of their way to make you feel welcome. I will pay this forward and the ball will keep rolling along. thanks for the wonderful comments and I hope you can come back soon to recieve back what you have started.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    128
    44
    26
    29
See reviews for
135
96
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Room was nothing special, but was clean and decent sized. Not too many other guests, and although next to freeway, was pretty quiet.
Pet fee (for designated dog-friendly rooms) was not unreasonable, but it is a per stay fee (not per night), so it becomes more reasonable as you stay more nights. Not really any special dog-friendly amenities although there is outdoor dining outside the breakfast room (-- not certain that dogs are indeed allowed to dine there as it rained and was too cold to try dining outside during our stay).
Included breakfast was definitely a nice bonus -- buffet style from steam trays, but included eggs (two kinds of scrambled), bacon, sausage, potatoes, real oatmeal, plus make-yourself waffles (batter and waffle-iron), fresh fruit, cereals, juices, toast.
Hotel was a bit hard to find at night -- it's right off the freeway (almost in the cloverleaf of the freeway ramp) and there was minimal signage -- but look for the lighted "Eric's" sign (restaurant attached to the hotel). (Also, parking lot is shared with neighboring Ralph's grocery store and its adjacent strip-mall stores.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the lobby or facing the inner courtyard are probably more quiet (but not sure if any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Mike,
I appreciate the realistic response from you as I am sure the Trip Advisor community does as well. We do have the pet rooms only available on the south side outside rooms for a couple of reasons. One is for the easy access to them withour disturbing non pet occupied rooms and also there is a nice area to walk them along that portion of the property. Our 4 legged friends need to stretch their legs too. The other important factor is to keep all of these rooms together for the sake of alleric folks that might react to the danders left by pets. I hope you get the chance to visit us again and bring along your pet. By the way you can use all of the public space to walk with your pet but we must refrain from having them inside the lobby or breakfast room unless they are a trained service dog that has been trained to assist you in a specific task. The signage is indeed difficult to find sometimes due to the local ordinances by the city we cannot put additional signs up. I am so glad you spotted and referred to the neon ERIC'S Restaurant sign we installed just for that purpose. It really shows up after dark which is when the restaurant is open for dinner. I hope yopu get the chance to try some of the great food on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here while passing through one night. Good value for the amenities. An older property so don't expect super fanciness but the friendliness of the staff, cleanliness, location off the interstate, price, and super, SUPER good breakfast really make up for this. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Heather,
You are always welcome back and we wish you a longer stay next time so you can enjoy the things you may have missed on your last visit. We have tremendous shopping all around us with a first class mall and an outlet center as well as the Reagan museum close by. We are so spoiled here with the nice weather that I forgot to mention the nearby Malibu beaches but with most of December and so far all of January in the 70-80 degree temperature range you just cant beat this for a visit just to sit by the spacious pool and read. We are also so very happy you took advantage of the breakfast we offer to every guest all 365 days ( and 366 days in 2012) a year! If you cant get here soon just remember we are looking forward to your return no matter when it happens to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Spent a night here in early December to attend a show at the Canyon Club in nearby Agoura Hills, California. The price was great using a discount found here on Trip Adviser. Property was pretty empty for a friday night, but had lots of advantage including a very quiet and restful stay. Room was nicely kept up and clean, and property itself had a warm feel to it with lots of vegetation and as it says palm trees and other trees as well. Was also in walking distant to a number of restaurants as well as a grocery store which with a small fridge in the room was perfect. Would stay again and highly recommend to others needing to stay in the area to give this property a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGardenManager, Director of Operations at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear "NorthernK"

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our property on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your candid comments involving your experience at the hotel. I was very happy to read that you were able to see live music at one of the several live music venues in the local area. At The Palm Garden Hotel we pride ourselves on providing a relaxing environment and I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our lush gardens and palm trees, which contributed to a much relaxing stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future and have a wonderful day!!


Warm Regards,


Ryan E Burns

Director of Operations
Palm Garden Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is our last night here. Booked for 3 nights. Tried this hotel based on the reviews I read and I am not disappointed at all. It may be an older property but we are very pleased with our room - very clean and comfortable. We have a king with the sofa, it's on the first floor facing the courtyard which is so well maintained and looks beautiful. I usually don't like staying at exterior corridor hotels but I do not have a problem with this one at all. It is very quiet and I feel very comfortable and safe here. They do have a great breakfast in the morning. I can't comment on the food but my husband ate and said the food was very good. They had eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, french toast, muffins, yogurt, juice, cereal, fruit etc. and of course good coffee. A great breakfast variety which is unusual in most places. The staff is very nice and helpful makes you feel very welcome. We also ate one night at Erics Restaurant which is attached to the hotel - very good food and a very pleasing atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again should our travels take us to Thousand Oaks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. It is beautiful and makes for a very pleasant stay. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
We do appreciate the nice words and thoughts you expressed. Our mission is to attract more folks like you that can see the beauty in having a slight patina on things. You have quite a variety and exposure to all different styles of properties in the las Vegas area and to give us the kudos you did shows just how much effort the staff puts into the spirit of hospitality. We wish for your speedy return and others like you to experience the differences between the cookie cutter hotels and what you found pleasing here. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at the wonderful breakfast, restaurant and beautiful courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Wash.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We booked this hotel based largely on its positive TripAdvisor reviews, & we weren't disappointed. Yes, it's older & typical of a "garden court" type motel, & some aspects are aging such as interiors. But they are also keeping up with improvements; while we were there, they tore out numerous patches of "lifted" cement & re-poured them. This was sort of a pain when trying to get in from the parking lot, but still it was work that needed to be done. We were in an inward-facing unit & although we were on the freeway side, we heard no noise inside the unit. There is a Ralph's, gas & Starbucks next door & a Walgreens across the street, which made it very convenient. The only problem we experienced with the room (non-functioning TV) was quickly fixed, although we had to wait a day as there are no maintenance staff there on Sunday. (Still, the guy at the front desk came right over & tried to ascertain the problem in the meantime.) The pool is lovely & is well maintained, although it was too cool for swimming while we were there. As others have noted, the breakfast buffet is generous; you won't go away hungry. Considering that it's included in the pretty modest room price, I certainly can't complain! We easily could've paid the amount it cost us for several nights here for a single night at another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Deborah,
There are definite advantages of having an older property that you cannot get at some of the newer BOX style hotels such as the land to create the beautiful courtyard and pool areas, as well as the convenience of parking close to your room. We believe that with all of the conveniences that are around such as the Starbucks, Ralphs Market, Wallgreens drug store, as well as what we offer to every guest sets teh tone for an enjoyable place to stay. We are indeed in the process of repairing as many items as we can and will continue to do so at the least inconveniences to our guests. It is nice to see the maintenance department responded to your service request quickly and handled the adjustments to your TV. We appreciate your kind words and will share these good remarks with those team members that made you feel welcome and special. We look forward to serving you again and filling your tummy with a great breakfast every morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is less than 10 miles to the Ronald Reagan Library which is in Simi Valley. The hotels in Simi Valley charge exorbitant rates when there is an event at the library. This hotel is at the edge of a shopping center so restaurants are within walking distance as are grocery store, dollar store, bakery, etc. Access to Hwy 101 is at the entrance to the hotel. For $85 (half of what Simi Valley hotels were charging) we had a nice room, in room coffee/tea, lawn area, pool/spa, patio seating and a terrific hot breakfast including those delicious make your own waffles. There is an attached restaurant, Eric's, with a lively bar scene. Our check in yielded us a drink chit per person as well. Friendly employees. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Its great to see that you found us with all of the other places to stay in the area especially around the Regan Library itself. We are also so very close to the Camarillo outlets, and the beaches in Malibu so on your next visit plan to stay a few more days to really soak up the local highlights. We are really glad you chose to visit the restaurant on site as well. So many hotel restaurants have a bad reputation of poor quality food and service that many people choose anywhere but the on site eating establishment. Those that do visit Eric's are rewarded with great quality food and very nice servers that have been around for many, many years and are at the heart of hospitality. I hope your visit will inspire others to come to a world class presidential library and visit out fine establishement and take in what the area has to offfer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
848 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: 495 N Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Thousand Oaks
Hotel Palm Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing