We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL - BEAUTIFUL COURTYARD”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is our last night here. Booked for 3 nights. Tried this hotel based on the reviews I read and I am not disappointed at all. It may be an older property but we are very pleased with our room - very clean and comfortable. We have a king with the sofa, it's on the first floor facing the courtyard which is so well maintained and looks beautiful. I usually don't like staying at exterior corridor hotels but I do not have a problem with this one at all. It is very quiet and I feel very comfortable and safe here. They do have a great breakfast in the morning. I can't comment on the food but my husband ate and said the food was very good. They had eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, french toast, muffins, yogurt, juice, cereal, fruit etc. and of course good coffee. A great breakfast variety which is unusual in most places. The staff is very nice and helpful makes you feel very welcome. We also ate one night at Erics Restaurant which is attached to the hotel - very good food and a very pleasing atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again should our travels take us to Thousand Oaks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. It is beautiful and makes for a very pleasant stay. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

We do appreciate the nice words and thoughts you expressed. Our mission is to attract more folks like you that can see the beauty in having a slight patina on things. You have quite a variety and exposure to all different styles of properties in the las Vegas area and to give us the kudos you did shows just how much effort the staff puts into the spirit of hospitality. We wish for your speedy return and others like you to experience the differences between the cookie cutter hotels and what you found pleasing here. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at the wonderful breakfast, restaurant and beautiful courtyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 461 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

We booked this hotel based largely on its positive TripAdvisor reviews, & we weren't disappointed. Yes, it's older & typical of a "garden court" type motel, & some aspects are aging such as interiors. But they are also keeping up with improvements; while we were there, they tore out numerous patches of "lifted" cement & re-poured them. This was sort of a pain when trying to get in from the parking lot, but still it was work that needed to be done. We were in an inward-facing unit & although we were on the freeway side, we heard no noise inside the unit. There is a Ralph's, gas & Starbucks next door & a Walgreens across the street, which made it very convenient. The only problem we experienced with the room (non-functioning TV) was quickly fixed, although we had to wait a day as there are no maintenance staff there on Sunday. (Still, the guy at the front desk came right over & tried to ascertain the problem in the meantime.) The pool is lovely & is well maintained, although it was too cool for swimming while we were there. As others have noted, the breakfast buffet is generous; you won't go away hungry. Considering that it's included in the pretty modest room price, I certainly can't complain! We easily could've paid the amount it cost us for several nights here for a single night at another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborahj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear Deborah,
There are definite advantages of having an older property that you cannot get at some of the newer BOX style hotels such as the land to create the beautiful courtyard and pool areas, as well as the convenience of parking close to your room. We believe that with all of the conveniences that are around such as the Starbucks, Ralphs Market, Wallgreens drug store, as well as what we offer to every guest sets teh tone for an enjoyable place to stay. We are indeed in the process of repairing as many items as we can and will continue to do so at the least inconveniences to our guests. It is nice to see the maintenance department responded to your service request quickly and handled the adjustments to your TV. We appreciate your kind words and will share these good remarks with those team members that made you feel welcome and special. We look forward to serving you again and filling your tummy with a great breakfast every morning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is less than 10 miles to the Ronald Reagan Library which is in Simi Valley. The hotels in Simi Valley charge exorbitant rates when there is an event at the library. This hotel is at the edge of a shopping center so restaurants are within walking distance as are grocery store, dollar store, bakery, etc. Access to Hwy 101 is at the entrance to the hotel. For $85 (half of what Simi Valley hotels were charging) we had a nice room, in room coffee/tea, lawn area, pool/spa, patio seating and a terrific hot breakfast including those delicious make your own waffles. There is an attached restaurant, Eric's, with a lively bar scene. Our check in yielded us a drink chit per person as well. Friendly employees. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4ntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Its great to see that you found us with all of the other places to stay in the area especially around the Regan Library itself. We are also so very close to the Camarillo outlets, and the beaches in Malibu so on your next visit plan to stay a few more days to really soak up the local highlights. We are really glad you chose to visit the restaurant on site as well. So many hotel restaurants have a bad reputation of poor quality food and service that many people choose anywhere but the on site eating establishment. Those that do visit Eric's are rewarded with great quality food and very nice servers that have been around for many, many years and are at the heart of hospitality. I hope your visit will inspire others to come to a world class presidential library and visit out fine establishement and take in what the area has to offfer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

A nice property. Pros: Spacious, well maintained grounds and a spacious room. Excellent full breakfast buffet served in a nice setting (with both inside and outside seating). Cons: The room was ready for refurbishing. It was clean and well maintained, but carpet was stained, it needed a paint job, etc. I'd stay again, if only for the spaciousness of the room and for the breakfast. It's still better than the chains. But I hope that the economy picks up (the place was almost empty) so that they have the resources to fix up the tired rooms.

Room Tip: "outside" rooms face parking = convenient access to car. "inside" rooms face po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear Mike,
Thanks for seeing the upside to what we have to offer. We have started to repaint in the rooms and repair as much as we can with the resources available. There are so many more things in the works that will of course take some time to accomplish, we appreciate your understanding and patience, and most of all, your continued patronage. You should consider bringing your mountain bike the next time you stay because the local Santa Monica Mountains have some of the best trails in the nation to explore and the scenary is spectacular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We have stayed at the Palm Garden several times and it continues to be one of our favrorite hotel experiences. The grounds are gargeous, the rooms comfortable and the graciousness of the hotel staff and management,unparalleled. The prices are reasonable, especially given the full breakfast buffet and other little perks the hotel throws in. Friday night we enjoyed a great meal at Eric's restaurant, accompanied by live music (terrific jazz trio). We come here a couple of times a year to visit my aging parents and this is one part of our trips we truly look forward to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vizualmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Is it so nice to have had you back again before the busy holiday season that you must be expecting. You will see some more improvements on your next vist as well. We just trimmed over 100 trees on the property and did some long overdue concrete repairs on the walkways. Next up is the roof over the restaurant and ballrooms all items to keep the outside really outside and keep you all safe from mother nature. We have big plans for going a lot further with more upgrades as soon as possible. The music you loved in Eric's was one of my favorite groups also. They are on the regular rotation of quality musicians that we book in the restaurant every friday night from 7-9pm (with a few holiday exceptions). I hope they are available for the holidays too since everyone needs a calm and pleasurable time to recharge their batteries and with good food and atmosphere, Eric's is the right chioce. We cant wait until we see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Read early reviews, circa 2008-2009, and was initially very apprehensive, but later reviews 2010-2011 were right on the nose! Major turnaround for this property in room quality, pool, grounds (all immaculate)! Room furnishings a little dated (TV, chairs, dresser, cable internet no in room wifi, 1st gen HVAC) but all functional and did not significantly detract from a extremely nice and economical stay! Excellent location for my purposes.

Close to numerous shopping and dinning options. Be sure to check the on property restaurant menu specials (provided in room).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAB611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you so much for your honest opinions and willingness to stay despite reading those earlier reviews. We really try hard to give you exceptional service and a pleasant place to do business, leisure or both. You obvoiusly travel a great deal and are up to speed on all of the services available with new technologies. We are working on some solutions to those issues you brought up and will make the changes as we can to keep up. We hope you get the chance to return over the winter when the weather in DC will be miserable and we will be in the 70's or 80's with that great pool to dip your toes in and sip on a top shelf margarita (or whatever your favorite beverage is) made with love from the bartenders at Eric's restauarnt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

No offense to the area, but it seems to be primarily residential. The hotel seems utilized mainly by business travelers, tourists using it as base to drive from, and local conferences goers. That said, it's a nice place to stay at a good price within an hour of the coast. It is aptly named as it surrounds a courtyard of grass and palm trees at one end and a large pool (8.5 ft deep at one end) and large built in hot tub. The water is crystal clear and checked frequently by staff, who use something besides chlorine for purification (may have been a saltwater pool). Rooms were ample, if not huge with 2 comfy queen beds and free wi-fi. Bathroom, with separate vanity area and hanger area was large and all enclosed behind louvered doors. AC was strong. Free breakfast was included. The hotel also has a bar and grill, that had good food and drinks and seemed patronized by locals as well as guests. Small strip mall nearby had an Indian restaurant, Mexican take-out and a supermarket as well as a few other stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

You said it clearly and distinctly, Thousand Oaks is not "the CITY" it is definitely the Burbs. You also said it clearly that there are many conveniences that bring in the people to enjoy a business trip or on the way to / from somewhere that is located close enough to the coast or some great shopping with regional malls and outlets nearby. If you want to get to Malibu, LAX or Burbank airports, Universal Studios, Santa Barbara you can usually get there within an hour.
We hope you return to the area and stay again for some good, friendly service and a nice meal in the restaurant. Oh, by the way, the pool is fresh water and our chief engineer Mike is a whiz at keeping it GIN Clear. He has many years experience in this and uses the same chemicals as everyone else with a heaping additional amount of loving care! See yopu back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Address: 495 N Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range: $107 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Thousand Oaks
Hotel Palm Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing