We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College visits.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
GreenLeadersSilver level
Highland, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“College visits.......”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

So, we were taking our son to visit Cal Lutheran and Pepperdine. We couldn't find a good hotel deal so bid on a room through Priceline and ended up at the Best Western Plus. When we arrived, we realized Priceline only guarantees a one bed room,, but the young girl at the front desk was sooooo nice. She said she had plenty of rooms and set us up with two rooms and offered a first, second, or third floor. Rooms are kind of outdated, but we were only there for one night. We went to the restaurant on site for dinner. We had two servers, Ashley and Heidi and they were so nice. Once they found out we were visiting colleges, they shared their two cents and were so kind. They were also very attentive to what we needed, which I always appreciate. Tomorrow morning there will be a full breakfast buffet,so we can't go wrong. We will stay here again"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioVazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We always do our best with accommodating guest requests, even when booked through Priceline. (In the summer, when we are very busy, unfortunately, it can be more difficult for us to accommodate a guest a check-in.)

Hopefully, your son comes to Cal Lutheran or Pepperdine (but CLU is closer), and we will see again soon. Over the next few months and years, you will get to watch the transformation of the hotel, as we continue to make upgrades and improvements.

As your son is trying to make a decision for college, if you have any questions about the area or the schools, please feel free to contact me. I have a great relationship with both schools. The President of CLU is also a member of my Rotary Club here in Thousand Oaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    167
    94
    25
    19
See reviews for
130
122
42
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

decent hotel near freeway with 3 storey buildings

room average size but clean

staff very professional and attentive

complimentary breakfast prepared by cook; wonderful french toast and good scrambled eggs!

Room Tip: ask for room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertfor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
At 4 floors, we are the tallest building in Thousand Oaks. Unfortunately, when the hotel was built in the '60s, freeway noise was not a concern. Since then, the expansion of Ventura Road into the Ventura Freeway (Highway 101), traffic noise is more of an issue, although many guests do not find it to be an issue. (For examples, guests from New York City think it's very quiet, while guests from quiet rural communities are more sensitive to the noise.) We've begun replacing our sliding glass doors with double-paned, soundproof glass and frames. We will also adding a sound barrier to the balcony rails.

Many of our staff have been here for decades, and they take great pride in the hotel. Each guest is welcomed and treated like family at our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
465 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family and I booked 2 rooms with 2 queen beds each at this motel. We were given an adjoining rooms which was nice and fun. I was pleasantly surprised at how big, clean and updated the rooms were. There was a microwave, pretty good size refrigerator, coffee maker, free wifi and plenty of towels. The bed and pillows were clean and comfortable. The beathroom was updated and clean as well. Parking was never a problem. Our room was located at the back away from the streets so we did not experience any noise problem. The front desk, housekeeping staff and security were very pleasant. Speaking of security, they had security guards that walks around the premises at night. It's actually nice and we feel secured but it just makes me wonder if there were some reasons to hire security in that area. I also noticed the extra locks and security bar on the glass sliding door in our rooms. Intriguing. Anyway, there was not a single time where we felt unsafe or threatened during our stay.
Our stay included breakfast. I like that the window to get breakfast is from 7am-10am. We were able to sleep in and not rush in the morning. The breakfast place was never crowded when we were there. The restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient. Aside from the usual continental breakfast, you can order 3 different types of plate that incude pre-cooked scrambled eggs, bacon or french toast. I had the scrambled eggs and french toast for two days and it was good. They also had other healthier food like oat meal, cereal and fresh fruits. Their coffee was good too.
Although I did not get to use their pool and hot tub, I checked it out and it looks nice and clean.
The only complain I have is the airconditioner/ heater. It was a bit loud. Not too much but loud enough to bother me. I hope the hotel does something about that. Also, the outside premises are not very nice. I hope they improve the facade of the building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniLuvsScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
According to the FBI, as well as national surveys, Thousand Oaks consistently ranks in the Top 10 Safest Large Cities in America with several years ranked as the #1 Safest Large City in America. Therefore, our concern is less with security from crimes but security for safety and housekeeping. The security officers are rarely called upon, and usually it's to assist the Front Desk in delivering towels or toiletries to guest rooms.

The sliding doors are original, from the '60s, when the door was on the outside. Therefore, the security bar is in place to prevent people (usually locked out guests) from trying to lift the sliding door off its tracks to enter the room. We are currently in the process of replacing the sliding doors with newer, double-paned, soundproof glass, which will further reduce noise, as well as eliminate the need for the security bar.

I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast. Although the cooked items are pre-cooked, they are all freshly prepared each morning. Since you did not mention the tapas restaurant, I hope you have an opportunity on your next visit to try our critically acclaimed and award-winning tapas restaurant, and at that time, I look forward to your feedback on our new fascade.

This month we begin construction on a facelift for the front of the building, as well as construction of a new driveway and plaza in front of the hotel. New lighting, landscaping, and balconies will complete the transformation of the exterior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This property is located in a great area on the west end of the San Fernando Valley. This was central to family events taking place in Callabasas, Westlake Villiage and Ventura. The hotel itself was comfortable and clean even though the property is older and showed it ion many areas. The hot breakfast was good and included in the room. We would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NLATRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent visit to Ventura and the Conejo Valley. As you noted, we are in a great location, conveniently located in the heart of Thousand Oaks and the Conejo Valley, at the intersection of Highway 101 and Highway 23, which makes us central to Moorpark/Simi Valley, San Fernando Valley, Malibu, and Ventura without paying for the ocean view in Malibu and Ventura.

The hotel opened in 1969, so it is an old hotel but built very well. We are constantly updating and upgrading the hotel, while maintaining the history of the hotel. Right now, we are awaiting the arrival of new 42" LCD televisions and the approval for renovating the front of the hotel. In addition, we will be fully renovating guest bathrooms, guest closets, and public areas from new landscaping to new pool furniture to a brand new Lobby.

Please let us know if we can be of assistance with any of your future plans to the area. We look forward to welcoming your back to the Conejo Valley and Ventura County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent a night at the Best Western Plus in Thousand Oaks following a day at the Reagan Library and doing some shopping at the nearby mall. We had a room on the freeway side of the building, but this didn’t seem to be a problem as the building is behind the office and restaurant building and is far enough away from the freeway that we were not bothered by the noise. The property appears to be about what you would expect in this price range, nothing special, but comfortable, very well maintained and a better than average hot complimentary breakfast. There is plenty of parking and good access back onto the 101 freeway. The convenient location for restaurants and shopping makes this a good choice to put down for the night if you are visiting the area or just passing through.

Room Tip: The 'freeway' rooms are cheaper and we didn't seem to experience excessive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
I'm glad you didn't experience any excessive noise on the freeway side. In November and December, we replaced all of the balcony doors, with double-paned, laminated, sound-proof windows with sound insulating frames. (We actually have more sound coming through the walls than through the windows.)

We are constantly upgrading our property with new 42" LCD TVs arriving in January & February. In addition, over the next few months, as your drive through the Conejo Valley from Santa Barbara, keep an eye out for some movement throughout the exterior of the hotel, with new landscaping, a new fascade, and a new driveway plaza with a carport.

Even if you do not have an opportunity to spend the night, stop in and take a break at TOI Tapas Bar & Lounge, which utilizes locally grown produce from the Oxnard Plains to Paso Robles. Nearly all of the wines are local, primarily from the Santa Barbara area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We would have rated this hotel 3.5 out of 5 if that was an option. We have stayed here several times throughout the years when attending family functions in the area. The property has changed hands more than once. Was not a Best Western property for a while and it has improved since switching back. The exterior, grounds and interior public areas need updating, but the rooms have been updated. It is perfectly fine for a short stay. We did not get to try the included breakfast because we had Christmas breakfast with our family. We heard that the restaurant attached to the hotel is very good, wish we could have tried it. The front desk staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AJUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty with the Thousand Oaks Inn. We opened as the Howard Johnson Thousand Oaks in 1968, became the Thousand Oaks Inn in 1994 under new ownership. In 2005, we joined Best Western and became a Best Western Plus hotel in 2010. The third and current owners since 1997 are constantly upgrading the facilities. As you noted, our rooms have been updated with a few more enhancements to come in 2013, including 42" LCD TVs in January & February, renovated bathrooms, renovated closets, and new window treatments. The exterior renovation is currently awaiting City approval, including a new fascade, landscaping, and driveway plaza with a carport, which is scheduled to be completed by this May.

We look forward to your next visit to Thousand Oaks and the Conejo Valley and hope you find these changes to be a pleasant upgrade from all of your past experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Significantly better than the average Best Western.
The good: Well-maintained rooms, nice lobby, better-than-decent pool and hot tub, good staff. The free breakfast was way better than what you'd expect from a free Best Western breakfast. (Here, they provide made-to-order main dishes with a generously stocked assortment of buffet items.) Very attractively designed courtyard. Free wi-fi.
The downsides: "Meh" surroundings, so no rooms have any real views. Even with the nice courtyard, there's no way to escape the sense of being at a motel rather than hotel. The value was solid, but hardly remarkable. (They appear to have way too many rooms for the customer base, so maybe the Best Western management believes it needs to avoid many discounts in order to maintain revenue. Understandable. Still, my sense is that at a Priceline rate with a $20 room upgrade, I'd pretty much paid for everything I received ... at rack rate, I'd have felt shortchanged.) Pool towels are small and thin, yet still require a trip to the front desk to obtain.
If I needed a place in Thousand Oaks in the future, this would do fine - and there's no reason to avoid this hotel at all. But I can't say that I'd seek it out.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the property will be noisier because of proximity to the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonInConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks and the Conejo Valley. 40+ years ago when the hotel was built over the old Janss Airport, the Ventura Freeway was much quieter (and further away) and the surrounding area had more open space. We are in the process of designing and upgrading the courtyard, so despite our surroundings, which is convenient for shopping, restaurants, movies, golf, and entertainment, guests will have a quiet space to getaway from the City around us.

Also, to improve sound insulation from the freeway, we started replacing the sliding doors to our balcony with double-paned, insulated windows. Then we will be replacing our balcony railings, which will add an additional sound barrier for all rooms.

In our guestrooms, 42" televisions have been ordered and awaiting delivery,

We look forward to your feedback on these and other improvements we are making now and through this Winter and next Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
832 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Address: 75 W Thousand Oaks Blvd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91360-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#4 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic Conejo Valley at the base of the inspiring Santa Monica Mountain range, travelers will discover a full-service hotel that is convenient, comfortable, and affordable. The Thousand Oaks Inn is surrounded by local shopping malls, movie theaters, public golf course, and a variety of restaurants and local attractions. When you enter the lobby, our friendly and caring staff will happily assist you in making your visit to the Conejo Valley more enjoyable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Best Western Plus 1000 Oaks Inn
Best Western Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing