We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly OK, and perhaps a little better than that”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Significantly better than the average Best Western.
The good: Well-maintained rooms, nice lobby, better-than-decent pool and hot tub, good staff. The free breakfast was way better than what you'd expect from a free Best Western breakfast. (Here, they provide made-to-order main dishes with a generously stocked assortment of buffet items.) Very attractively designed courtyard. Free wi-fi.
The downsides: "Meh" surroundings, so no rooms have any real views. Even with the nice courtyard, there's no way to escape the sense of being at a motel rather than hotel. The value was solid, but hardly remarkable. (They appear to have way too many rooms for the customer base, so maybe the Best Western management believes it needs to avoid many discounts in order to maintain revenue. Understandable. Still, my sense is that at a Priceline rate with a $20 room upgrade, I'd pretty much paid for everything I received ... at rack rate, I'd have felt shortchanged.) Pool towels are small and thin, yet still require a trip to the front desk to obtain.
If I needed a place in Thousand Oaks in the future, this would do fine - and there's no reason to avoid this hotel at all. But I can't say that I'd seek it out.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the property will be noisier because of proximity to the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonInConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks and the Conejo Valley. 40+ years ago when the hotel was built over the old Janss Airport, the Ventura Freeway was much quieter (and further away) and the surrounding area had more open space. We are in the process of designing and upgrading the courtyard, so despite our surroundings, which is convenient for shopping, restaurants, movies, golf, and entertainment, guests will have a quiet space to getaway from the City around us.

Also, to improve sound insulation from the freeway, we started replacing the sliding doors to our balcony with double-paned, insulated windows. Then we will be replacing our balcony railings, which will add an additional sound barrier for all rooms.

In our guestrooms, 42" televisions have been ordered and awaiting delivery,

We look forward to your feedback on these and other improvements we are making now and through this Winter and next Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 513 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visiting family, and taking a little time for ourselves, we didn't need a lot in terms of a hotel. This turned out to be a great choice: We had plenty of room for the four of us, a chance to play a bit in the hotel pool/spa, complimentary breakfast every morning, and a location that was quite easy to navigate to/from, with options all around for food and shopping when necessary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

I'm glad you were able to experience one of the greatest assets of Thousand Oaks and the Conejo Valley is its value and location. We have the most consistent weather in LA area, and we are driving distance to many Los Angeles and Central California attractions. The beach is only minutes away, but we're protected by the Santa Monica Mountains against cold and fog from the ocean, as well as the high prices of Malibu, Ventura, and Santa Barbara. Hollywood and Downtown LA is just 30 minutes away, but we don't get the heat of the San Fernando Valley and LA Basin. Surrounded by open space, mountain ranges, and Los Angeles, the Conejo Valley is the perfect starting point for those visitors looking to experience the Southern California weather, while seeing the landmark sites for LA. The Thousand Oaks Inn is ideally located in the heart of Thousand Oaks and the Conejo Valley, surrounded by our malls, restaurants, theaters, and golf course, and don't forget Camarillo Premium Outlet Mall, the largest the Premium Outlet in California, is just 15 minutes away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I first want to say that I was a bit nervous about the hotel being a Best Western..boy was I surprised..this hotel far exceeded my expectations of a Best Western Hotel. The Thousand Oaks area is very beautiful. I was traveling with two young daughters for an engagement party. The hotel was located just off the 101 freeway and very easy to get too.
I did not realize I had only booked a room with one bed and they were very happy to give us a room with two beds for no additional charge. The room was very spacious and had all the amenities that made our stay comfortable. We had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. We had an additional vanity located outside of the bathroom which made getting ready for three women much eaisier...The girls were given the option to check out movies when we registered and they were excited to find three they really wanted to see...
Breakfast is included in the stay. It was good, hot and just what we needed, however not many options available.
I highly recommend this hotel for it's location, comfort, friendly and efficient staff and an overall comfortable stay!

Room Tip: We had the third floor away from the elevator. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We are very pleased to have exceeded your expectations, while you and your daughters were visiting us from Mesa. Did you know that Best Western International is headquartered just a few miles away in Phoenix? Over the past few years, Best Western has made an effort to improve it's brand by raising its standards and establishing 3 descriptors: Best Western for 2-star properties, Best Western Plus for 3-star properties, and Best Western Premier for 4-star properties. We have the privilege of being Best Western Plus, and we are continually improving and upgrading our property to improve our guest experience. When you "Name Your Own Price" through Priceline, we always try to accommodate you, if a room is available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'd earned a free night say voucher to this motel by staying at BW on our vacation. The second night we got the Cal Lutheran rate because that's where our son is now going to college. The room was clean and big enough for the three of us the first night then just us two the second nt. The breakfast included in the cost was prepared hot on top of the usual continental fare. Also, there was ample seating including booths; m ore of a restaurant climate. Pool and jacuzzi at just the right temperature. Great customer service too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanDiegobound2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Congratulations on your son going to California Lutheran University. It is a great university with a great faculty, new facilities, and community-oriented administration. We support several programs from community service to athletics at CLU and welcome you to our family here in Thousand Oaks. The Thousand Oaks Inn is committed to the youth and education of future generations. We are here to provide you and your family with any assistance you may need over the next few years. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thousand Oaks on your next visit to CLU and the Conejo Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked two rooms for three nights with Priceline for a family of three and a family of four to stay at this hotel in August. I know that the Priceline terms and conditions state that Bed type requests (King, Queen, 2 Doubles, etc.) or other special requests such as a non-smoking or smoking room should be requested through your confirmed hotel, can not be guaranteed and are based on availability.

In all my years travelling and booking with Priceline, this is the first hotel to charge me an extra $20 per room per night for 2 Queen beds rather than the 1 King. The prices for the two Queen bed room is the same as the King on the Best Western website so I feel ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fxwang, General Manager at Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your candid feedback on your stay. Unfortunately, the weekend of your stay was also the week of the Wings Over Camarillo Air Show, for which we were the host hotel for the 67th Annual Reunion of the 325th Air Group (famously known as the Checkertail Clan in World War II). Because of this group, the hotel was sold out of rooms with 2 beds through the weekend. We did had some last minute room changes and cancellations, that allowed us to offer you an upgrade to a Deluxe room with 2 queen beds, which is 20% LARGER than the standard king that came through Priceline.

In the future, we recommend that you contact the hotel immediately upon making your Priceline reservation to make any special requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nothing wrong with this place, nothing great either. Value wise is decent especially if you're looking for a solid bed and on business within the area. Feel ok recommending it to people in similar situations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpc5180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here to attend a family wedding. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast was very good. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. We had a very relaxing stay, good location. I would highly recommend this hotel. We plan on going back to visit family and will stay at this hotel for certain.

Room Tip: I don't think any room was any better than the other. This was a great stay and would highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
893 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Agoura Hills
7.8 mi away
Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn

Address: 75 W Thousand Oaks Blvd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91360-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#4 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range: $112 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic Conejo Valley at the base of the inspiring Santa Monica Mountain range, travelers will discover a full-service hotel that is convenient, comfortable, and affordable. The Thousand Oaks Inn is surrounded by local shopping malls, movie theaters, public golf course, and a variety of restaurants and local attractions. When you enter the lobby, our friendly and caring staff will happily assist you in making your visit to the Conejo Valley more enjoyable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Best Western, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 1000 Oaks Inn
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Best Western Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing