We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable Stay, Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We arrived around 9pm on a Friday night and we easily found parking in the row nearest the hotel entrance. Staff was friendly upon check-in. As requested in our online reservation from the hotel's website, we got a quiet room away from the elevator on the third floor. The room was clean and of a comfortable size. We had no trouble with the complimentary wifi even though we were kind of at the end of the building.

We wished there were some more TV channels. The blankets on the beds were thin, but that was all right since we could adjust the room temperature.

Overall, our one-night stay at the hotel was very comfortable and we were satisfied with the affordable price for this level of quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vviviann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell the community about your AWESOME stay at our hotel recently. We constantly strive to WOW our guests and it seems that our staff did a great job of exceeding your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again when you have the opportunity to return to Thousand Oaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    78
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
84
59
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Large clean room. Attractive decor. Comfortable bed and linens. Predictable Marriott quality. Staff was very friendly. I agree with another review...night lighting could be better and brighter. We enjoyed this location for proximity to the Pickles Deli, a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are delighted to have received such a positive review from you on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing the best service and accommodations in Thousand Oaks. Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service and reading these awesome reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Last August 2013, we stayed at this hotel and loved it. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and wonderful. We went to the pool our first night and saw something at the bottom of the pool that looked foul. Adrianna immediately came out to take out the "offending" item. It ended up just being a decomposing leaf, but she responded so nicely and quickly. At that moment our issue was the most important thing on her plate. She and the rest of the staff were great the rest of the time. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are delighted to have received such a positive review from you on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing the best service and accommodations in Thousand Oaks. Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service and reading these awesome reviews. I am so happy we were able to assist you with dining recommendations and during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel for a family function. We had 6 separate reservations and the staff put us all together on the same floor and rooms next to each other, this was something that we all appreciated. The staff was wonderful, hotel and rooms are very clean.
We will be staying here in the future when we are in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service and reading these awesome reviews.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Thousand Oaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Attractive hotel, courteous and helpful staff, but cannot recommend the rooms. The receptionist was very helpful in accommodating us after I had made a mistake in our reservation. Other staff were helpful in responding to our room complaints. However, the rooms are designed poorly and we were immediately disappointed.
1) The lighting is terrible. No entry light - so when you walk in, you can only turn on a tiny task light over the bar. The room remains dark until you turn on, by hand, every lamp in the room. Even then, dark.
2) Our first room was so awkward we declined it. The king bed faced out the window with the TV off to the right, hard to see at all and it felt strange. We were moved a couple of times, into a double queen (just my wife and I). Again, the lighting is bad, the bathroom is poorly designed.
(again, little things - you had to remove the toilet tissue to retrieve the extra roll, and.. no fan in the bathroom). Finally, that room had cleanliness issues and we had to have staff take care of them.
3) The desk?TV are together so you can't use both very well. Also, no suitcase bench - so the suitcase sits on the floor.

The only reason it's worth noting all these details is that the Hampton Inn, where we usually stay in Thousand Oaks, offers a better room, better designed, and a free breakfast. I recommend staying that Hampton Inn. (We moved and I'm writing from here now)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchellNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and as much as I appreciate the honesty, I certainly wish your experience was better. What you experienced is not typical of the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Our hotel Guest Satisfaction Scores are consistently in the 10% of Courtyards in the US. Needless to say, you caught us on a day we were not at our best, and that is never ok. We clearly have some training opportunities before us. If you would like to call me directly at 805-499-3900 I would be happy to discuss this further. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and give you the experience you expect from a Marriott hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

For the past 20+ years, my family has stayed at a nearby hotel every year for a family event that is held in-town. Over the years, this mentioned hotel has slowly declined. For the past 3 years, we've been looking for a replacement hotel to meet our needs.

I can honestly say we've found a new hotel we all loved. From the moment we checked-in, the staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful. We were even recommended a great sushi restaurant around the corner that was fantastic.

The rooms are well-appointed, and clean. As long as the hotel keeps up their fantastic service, and the rooms stay modern to the times....our family will be reserving rooms here for years to come.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stay in the Thousand Oaks area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We are delighted to have received such a positive review from you on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing the best service and accommodations in Thousand Oaks. Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service and reading these awesome reviews. I am so happy we were able to assist you with dining recommendations and during your stay.

Please contact our Sales Team next time your family is in the area and we may help you with a group block or anything else you may need while in Thousand Oaks. Thank you again, we really do appreciate the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We've stayed at many hotels over the years for soccer tournaments and this was definitely the best of the bunch in many ways! The staff was always willing to help and the rooms were roomy and extremely comfortable. Adriana helped us find a good restaurant that would accommodate our large party and even called ahead to let them know we were coming. We forgot a couple of things at the hotel and Michelle graciously mailed them back to us. The common area was very spacious for our team when we brought meals in to eat and gathered before leaving for games. The staff never seemed bothered by our group but instead was always asking what they could do to help us. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your AWESOME stay at our hotel recently. We constantly strive to WOW our guests and it seems that Adriana and Michelle did a great job of exceeding your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again when you have the opportunity to return to Thousand Oaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
0.4 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
4.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Thousand Oaks
Quality Inn Thousand Oaks
#5 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County

Property: Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Address: 1710 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-3403 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks)
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Thousand Oaks California, the new Courtyard Marriott Thousand Oaks is l mile from Stagecoach Inn Museum and within a few miles of Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, Ronald Reagan Library, Camarillo Premium Outlets and the Strawberry Festival. Malibu Beach, Ventura Beach, Santa Monica Mountains and Channel Islands are all within 20 miles of the hotel. The Courtyard Cafe serves breakfast and dinner. Enjoy the outdoor pool or a beverage in the Courtyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott 1000 Oaks
Courtyard By Marriott Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Courtyard Thousand Oaks
Marriott Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Courtyard
Thousand Oaks Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing