We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We commend desk clerk Janet for outstanding customer service. We checked in late in the evening on August 2, 2013. We went to our assigned room, and found it smelling of cigarette smoke. Even though she was extremely busy, Janet found a room for us and accommodated our needs cheerfully and quickly. Two very tired travelers were very happy with Janet's prompt attention to our concerns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 255 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed for a one night trip, I debated over here or the La Quinta Inn nearby. Since many of the reviews at LQ showed pet smells and smoke in rooms along with noisy AC.


I had a room with double king beds. Comfortable, plenty of counter, closet space and towels.

Glad I stayed here. Quality clean comfortable room. Very modern and up to date. I was surprised to learn it was going to be renovated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler714025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelWebster, VP Operations at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are delighted to have received such a positive review from you on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing the best service and accommodations in Thousand Oaks. I agree with you on the surprising fact that our hotel will be renovated later this year. Our team in Thousand Oaks keeps the place spotless, however Marriott requires their hotels to update every six years, and since we opened in late 2006 it is almost time to update. During the renovation our lobby, fitness room and guestrooms will be updated to reflect the latest modern style and furnishings and we hope you will come check us out and see our fresh new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I had booked a King, one bedroom suite at his hotel. We were warmly greeted by the front desk person, and she explained everything to us, very well.

The suite was large with nice furniture, flat screen TV's in each room, nice kitchen area in the living room and a huge bedroom.

There was a desk on rollers and plenty of closet space so one could unpack for a longer stay. Everything was spacious, extremely clean and nicely decorated.

The lobby of the hotel is well spaced out - an area for breakfast time, but not too exposed where people could sit and feel stared upon during their meal. In the back there was another sitting area with a large screen TV and comfortable seating. There was a nice pool area that we took advantage of, and a good shop that had a little of everything. When we did take out dinner it was good knowing we could get plastic utensils at the front desk. In fact, they had everything under the sun there, and not charging the guests for it. This included laundry detergent and dryer sheets; excellent items to have available complimentary.

There was a 24 hour fitness room; meeting rooms and a laundry room. It was surprising to only see one washer and dryer for that size of a hotel. They should have more laundry rooms so people don't have to run back and forth hoping that it is available.

There is one team member that we had enough of by the time we left. Her sarcastic comments when we came back from being on the road were not necessary. I have a teenager with a serious chronic illness and when making the reservation I made this clear as we might need some acommodations. One day she was able to walk down on her own and get some treats - when charging them to the room, the lady looked at the account and saw the notes of "a sick family member." She inquired with my daughter who said it was she who was sick and the lady said: "You can't be too sick if you can eat that candy bar you bought." I found it to be offensive and uncalled for. I did not find this out until we left because my daughter knew I would have gone downstairs and addresses it, and it would have stressed her out.

Beyond this, it was a great hotel, great location, great price and I liked that they were always cleaning the hotel, including the hallways. I would stay here again, as long as I didn't have to deal with that one lady again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goeverywhere83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelWebster, VP Operations at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent visit to our hotel in Thousand Oaks. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the majority of the team members you encountered during your visit. We take all guest comments very seriously and will use your comments for training purposes to provide better service in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Close to LA, and we stayes here as option closer to LAX. They gave us late checkout, so we could stay at the pool before flight back home. Decent rooms and helpful staff. Restaurants are close and plentyful. Still not easy to get around Thousand Oaks by foot and have to take car everywhere. Not to far from Malibu if you want to go to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HankNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in several hotels during our move from Texas to California over a period of 2 months, and Courtyard by Marriott in Thousand Oaks BY FAR had the best service, and was the nicest hotel we stayed in. We stayed in several Marriott's during this time, as well as other hotels and nothing compares to the treatment we got here. At check in, the evening receptionist was SUPER friendly(we were there July 6-8). I only wish I had her name to put here. She was so helpful and kind, even gave my toddler a little gift. Janet was amazing as well. We had an issue at checkout and she was incredibly friendly and helped us resolve it right away. She also offered to help me out in the future with recommendations of anything we needed since we were just moving to the area. This service was unparalleled, and we'll be having all of our family and friends come stay here. Great service, Big modern rooms, very comfortable!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel! I stay in hotels every week and everything from the check-in (Janet and Michelle were the friendliest and most efficient front desk staff EVER!), the rooms were extra large and updated. Loved the decor!
Would highly recommend this location!

Room Tip: Just stayed one night but the single King bed room was very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelWebster, VP Operations at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your AWESOME stay at our hotel recently. We constantly strive to WOW our guests and it seems that Janet and Michelle did a great job of exceeding your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again when you have the opportunity to return to Thousand Oaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first stay at this property, and it was well designed, clean and very friendly. The public areas were very appealing, they had the handy marketplace, and of course free internet! Great room, comfortable bed and pillows - lots of room with 2 king beds. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel so you do not face the 101 Freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelWebster, VP Operations at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to inform the TripAdvisor community about our ideally located hotel in Thousand Oaks. We are perfectly located just off the 101 freeway, far enough away from the freeway that the road noise is non-existent from our spacious rooms. We are also the only hotel in this area that offers two king size beds in one room. As you noted, our Double King rooms are very spacious and most of them also include a sofa bed which makes them ideal for families traveling with small children or a couple of teenagers.

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Thousand Oaks area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
0.4 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
895 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County

Address: 1710 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-3403 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range: $140 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Thousand Oaks California, the new Courtyard Marriott Thousand Oaks is l mile from Stagecoach Inn Museum and within a few miles of Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, Ronald Reagan Library, Camarillo Premium Outlets and the Strawberry Festival. Malibu Beach, Ventura Beach, Santa Monica Mountains and Channel Islands are all within 20 miles of the hotel. The Courtyard Cafe serves breakfast and dinner. Enjoy the outdoor pool or a beverage in the Courtyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Courtyard By Marriott 1000 Oaks
Courtyard Thousand Oaks
Marriott Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Marriott
Thousand Oaks Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing