We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite Italian restaurant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcello Ristorante

Marcello Ristorante
Ranked #12 of 214 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Our favorite Italian restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Elegant and relaxing. Professional staff. Quaint and beautiful. Outside seating available against a backdrop of glistening lights and rose bush hedge, under market umbrellas. Excellent wines. Their butter lettuce salad is to die for! My husband and I never share our salads! Delicious crusty bread, too. All 4 of us love going there, and that says a lot.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“great diner with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a great diner with our family and we got a free Bruscetta. The service was excellent and we were given the right attention. A friendly word and some interest around our vacation was also much appreciated. And, the food and wine were excellent. Once we visit thousand oaks again... we will certainly visit Marcello's restaurant again!

Helpful?
Thank Valentijn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A long time favorite...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This family run retaraunt is truly outstanding. I've never had anything less than an excellent meal here. It is very special. We come back again and again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 72andsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant for Special Celebrations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We've been coming here for years but I just started writing reviews last year.This is our go to place for special dinners with friends ,family, or just with my husband .We went this week for my Father-in-law's 99th birthday because this is his favorite place also.He ordered the pasta and white clam sauce that is always perfect and my Mother loved her pesto lasagna.My husband and son raved about their pork chop special with cannoli beans.I had the mixed seafood boccatini that was so good I wanted to lick the plate.Of course we had our usual appetizer -Fried Calamari -the best around.Our group of friends have been coming here for years for our birthdays-the last time was in April.It was a Friday night and very busy but our service was just as good as it usually is and the food was great.It's in a strip mall and the stores are quiet at night which leaves plenty of parking spaces free.I hope they will be here for a long time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We are Italian and we really liked this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We received a gift certificate for this place,but we did not use it for a year because we cook the best Italian food AT HOME! No seriously...we had a fantastic lunch here.The olive oil is fresh,the Italian bread is awesome,the fried calamari was perfect! My husband had wild fettuccini with leeks and potabello mushrooms....it was a little oily,but very good...I had the salmon that was cooked perfectly...We I'll go back again ....and it in our neighborhood!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcello Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Marcello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing